WS: Flowers

flowers bring so much color and interest to life…they are among my favorite things

there is even a “language of flowers” which has been used to communicate feelings since Victorian times

this week’s challenge theme for Wednesday Stamper/Mittwochstempler is “flowers”

my postcard began with a beautiful painted background from Linda in Norway


a B Line Design arch stamp and a Rubber Stampede daisy stamp … flowers from Dover clip art and a seed catalog

clickable for closeups

the bluebird of happiness was not a frequent visitor at Frida’s Casa Azul
Here’s Hoping you all had a Happy Cinco de Mayo!

44 responses to “WS: Flowers

  1. Marilyn Rock

    Patty; this is so beautiful. I keep going back to take another look. It’s so peaceful to me. Love the arch stamp and daisy! Gorgeous piece! Have a happy day! xxoo

  2. Gorgeous Patty! Love your sample..

  3. I agree with Marilyn, it’s so peacefull..
    A beautifull card!

  4. Wonderful creation, love the colours and the overall effect.

  5. The other day I saw a bit of a movie based on Frida Kahlo’s life. So so sad. The movie was cool, to mark the “chapters” in her life they used actual paintings by the artist, digitally animated.

    Beautiful collage, I love the bluebird on her head (:

  6. What a clever use of that daisy stamp, Patty! I love ‘colorful’ Frida with that pretty green backdrop. Very cinco de Mayo! Hugs, Terri xoxo

  7. You are amazing with stamps! I wouldn’t have thought of using the petal of the flower for the edges like that.

  8. Wow Patty love the Frida with flowers.
    Fantastic design. Gorgeous work.

  9. This is really fantastic Pattie! I love the enviroment you have created for her…it’s gorgeous!

  10. Stunning creation, Patty!

  11. Gorgeous!! love the stamps you have used.

  12. Patty, your card is amazing, just wonderful.

  13. oh I am with you on flowers Patty, they have stolen our hearts for sure! love Frida’s head all covered like that! she looks quite bodacious! xox

  14. nice work Patty. I too Love your use of the petals on the border. Very inspiring, all those different components coming together so well.

  15. wonderful postcard!! love all the vibrant colors. how clever you used the daisy along the edges! this piece is super!

  16. What as nice card! Love the arch stamp :)

  17. Hello Patty
    a gorgeous creation indeed! Hope all is well your way. been home this week…very ill…viral bronchitis…nice to have some time to catch up on blogs…even if sick while doing it! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  18. I love the language of flowers…they fill me up with good vibes dancing in the breezes. My irises and my coriopsis (spelling???)flowers are so close to opening up to me in the warmth of this afternoon’s sunshine. I love your Wednesday Works! Happy Cinco de Mayo!!! Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  19. dutchstamptramp

    Gorgeous and very inspiring sample!

  20. Loved how you used the flowers on the border! Very pretty — as always!

  21. a gorgoeus flower piece and I adore the border flowers..cute to see the stamps you used for this.

  22. You´ve inspired me – stunning.

  23. a wonderful and great tribute to frida!!!

    hughs
    katrin

  24. What a great Frida!

  25. like Fridas colourful hat..thanks for visiting my blog

  26. Lovin it. Really like the background! Happy Cinco de Mayo! Cheers!

  27. darling Patty, I won’t write much today.
    just have a look and you’ll know. :)

    http://drugaszesnascie.blogspot.com/2010/05/jedyne-co-wiem-to-ze-maluje-bo-musze-i.html

  28. A great postcard, love the design.

  29. Such a wonderful design Patty… I love the image of Frida and her totally awesome hat with the bird… really clever idea :D
    Those stamps are so cool too and look fabulous on your stunning background.
    hugs
    Chris xx

    p.s. I couldn’t possibly remove my birds nest… OMG that would hurt me…lol I love it just where it is and I shall cherish it xx

  30. Great designed card !!
    Love the little details, like the birdy.

  31. i love it!! everything about it!
    xo

  32. Love the flowers! Such a beautiful art piece!

  33. What a gorgeous arch stamp, Patty! And this is a fine tribute to Frida. I have a few pots of purple petunias and bright yellow marigolds near my newly planted tiny veggie garden. Spring is indeed here, at last!!!

  34. Playing catch up, here. Happy Cinco de Mayo to you, too. Nice Arch layout. Love that stamp.

  35. Hmmmmm, I am discovering that you and Frida are kind of like me and Marie A – whether we want to or not we are always gravitating to them…. Hmmmmm, I absolutely love your creation.

  36. What a wonderful theme- thank you and such a gorgeous piece of inspiration.

  37. I really love your beautiful creation:)
    Hugs Hanne

  38. ooh, i loove flowers, what a fabulous creation!! and frida … swoon

  39. Oh Patty, first of all I love your theme :) Gardening is right up there on the top of my list of pleasurable things to do side by side with beeing creative :) I LOVE flowers and I LOVE your sample. Frieda is wonderful surrounded by flowers, and it’s so good to see the bluebird of happiness has payed her a visit :) Gorgeous Arch too!! BRAVO Patty, you rock!!

    Hugs,
    Linda

  40. Bee-utiful work! XoXo

  41. Pingback: Tweets that mention WS: Flowers « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz -- Topsy.com

  42. Love your postcard…..and Frida. :-)

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

