sisters of the moon…

this month’s theme over at Art Journal Journey is “She-Art

art of the feminine is something I really connect with and enjoy…

the words “sisters of the moon” are from a North Carolina beer label that caught Mr Magpie’s attention while we were at the beach (he thought I would like to have the Mother Earth bottle caps too)…

I have not been able to get this lovely video off my mind…

Gelli Print background

so I got busy in my dinosaur children’s board book adding some of my gelli print pages creating an instant background…Sisters of the moon (1)

some of my favorite girls in black always seem to surface this time of year too…

Sisters of the moon

it feels good to be creating again after being away from my art room for a couple of weeks…

Sisters of the moon (2)

be sure and visit Art Journal Journey to see lots of creativity…

last month there were more than 70 offerings for the “Less is More” theme…

49 responses to “sisters of the moon…

  1. Gorgeous pages Patty!!! Beautiful tranquil colors. I loved that video of the moon too. It was amazing!!! ~Sophia

  2. Love your sweet sisters of the moon! And, thanks for posting the moon rise video again – truly spectacular!

  3. Love love love this. Such a wonderful piece. :)

  4. Lovely Patty. The background papers are just gorgeous.

  5. Gorgeous spread. love the colours and images, and love the shape of your journal. Happy October to you too Patty xox

  6. This booklet will be an amazing work of art when it will be filled up..
    all the spreads you have done yet are gorgeous in my mind…

    this one is just fabulous.. I love the colors and textures and this amazing contrast the moon sisters give to the whole composition…
    just gorgeous Patty and the video makes happy too!
    Have a wonderful weekend
    Thank you very much for this fantastic entry for the Art Journal Challenge “She – ART” theme

  7. Lovely patty,your mooon girls so sweet,and the colors are beautiful.

  8. Well Patty, this post kept me busy…but happily so. Thoroughly enjoyed the moon silhouettes, AND the Less Is More, but your dinosaur book alteration is a gem.

  9. Love, love, love!!! Everything about this post is so special. The moon has a secret place in my heart and I think of all my former students and the moon journals we created each year. Thank you, Patty….I’ve shared the breathtaking video on my FB page. xoxo

  10. Wow this is gorgeous, love it!
    Groetjes karin

  11. The moon video is simply amazing! And fro that guy to capture it in person-wow! I love your beautiful pages with those sweet girls. I bet you’ve been creating up a storm since you’re back :) Looking forward to it my friend.

  12. Wow Patty, your pages are stunning! I love the background and the unusual form of your pages as well as all the girls!

  13. Hi
    Those little girls are captivating, I just love the expression on their faces and the black and white against your glorious background is delicious.
    Wishes
    Lynne

  14. BEAUTIFUL video and Art Journal pages. Love the soft colours and the feeling. Greetings, Shirleyx

  15. Love your sisters of the moon! Valerie

  16. thank you for the lovely moon video Patty. Your she-pages are fabulous!

  17. What a wonderful page!! I love the background and the colors and your lovely little girls in black….And the shadows at the edges… and….
    xx Beate

  18. These are so beautiful. Great take on the theme!

  19. That video captures me whenever I see it.
    Your pages are lovely – the sisters of the moon are lovely. The background looks so yummy – wonderful colors and texture.

  20. Your art makes me want to rush off and make backgrounds, yours are fantastic. Love your sisters of the moon, how original.

  21. Patty; this is stunning – truly! Thank you for sharing the video, too; it’s really one I could watch over and over again. Have a great weekend ahead. xxoo

  22. i adore this spread! this row of “sisters” looks so impressive. great color, shape and texture, too!

  23. Beautiful! I love those girls, too. Made an atc with 2 of them this week…. Love all you do! Happy Friday!

  24. Oh, Patty, that is some stunning art journal pages.
    So speakable with those black sisters,and your gelli plate background is just fantastic, in both patterns and colours.- the way you made the moon apear , so much there, but also in a way unseen is amazing.
    The video is awsome, -thank you for adding it here again, dear friend.
    Hugs from me, and from a black, stormy night in Denmark!!
    Dorthe XOXO

  25. Oh so dramatic Patty! Love it!!! =)

  26. Hello Ladies – I love that line up of black dresses! Your gelli prints make gorgeous back grounds (of course really speaking to me in my happy colors!) and I love that book shape – secretly knowing that it was a dinousaur is always fun to see !

  27. These are wonderful pages, fab soft colors.

  28. Thanks for your lovely comments on my blog. I truly appreciate it! God bless.

  29. Love your Sisters of the Moon Project Patty and the moon video is fabulous. Thank you for your recent visit. Have a wonderful weekend.
    Flo x

  30. Hello dear Patty
    Sisters of the Moon is so cool!!!
    LOved your moon video – very special for me as I lived on Mt Victoria in Wellington many, many moons ago!!!
    Your posts always INSPIRE me in unexpected ways dear Patty.
    Much love and hugs
    Shane xox

  31. a lovely spread patty…your gellis have wonderful patterns :)

  32. I love the term “the girls in black!” It’s beautiful, as always. The moon video was really pretty too. I’m planning on taking a gelli class in November — can’t wait!

  33. Hi Patty, Thank you so much for sharing wonderful video of moon!(showed to my family as well). I enjoyed your travel photos, its always been pleasure to see other part of the world :)
    And thank you so much for creating this sisters of moon art journal page for our celebration of She art at AJJ. Texture is beautiful and loved all shades of green and blue. hugs..

  34. Beautiful video!

  35. your backgrounds are always superb and together with the b&w image it looks perfect.

  36. Gorgeous page! I like this wonderful composition! Wonderful d colors!

  37. The background GOOOOORGEOUSSSS, love the girls and they look fabulous on that background, loooooving this book..

  38. Gorgeous. I love those girls in black and I adore your dinosaur book. I think it must be so much fun to work in!
    xx Monique

  39. I’m not sure how I missed this one, but your girls are always fun to see. They really DO remind me of Halloween.

  40. What a great shape for a book! Love all those girls – kinda creepy :) Fabulous background, too.

  41. Stunning pages and Video Dxx

  42. Such a fresh idea, Patty. Gorgeous composition!

  43. Beautiful work! LOVE the dinasaurebook and the cool moon! The girls/sisters are perfect too. Great colour – yummie!

  44. Your book is Beautiful! As was the video :)

  45. Pingback: dino book under cover… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  46. I love your board book. You are such a beautiful artist. The video of the moon was so lovely it brought tears to my eyes! Thanks you so much for all the beauty you share! Julie Ann xx

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

