a special cuppa…

with chillier weather my thoughts turn again to my favorite homemade chai tea

Yogi Chai Tea

not only does it have health benefits and taste delicious…

Yogi Chai Tea (1)

it makes the house smell really lovely too (the recipe that I shared back in 2008 here has evolved a bit over the years…I now use Coconut Milk instead of dairy or soy)…

Yogi Chai Tea (2)

special thanks to my sweet friend Dot (who does not have a blog) for sending me this lovely tea cup card she made with some special organic Echinacea Plus tea…

sweet card from Dot

inside it reads:

“I wish we could sit down together and have a cup of tea.  But since we can’t, When you have this one I hope you think of me.”

sending all good wishes to each of you as I join Elizabeth and Bleubeard for T today

 

27 responses to “a special cuppa…

  1. I love chai tea, especially home made ones

  2. Chai is my favorite wintertime tea. Homemade chai–even better!
    Happy T to you, Patty (wish I could be there in person to help you drink it)
    ~Dawn

  3. It’s cold and snowy here today! Your post reminds me it’s time to put the kettle on!

  4. I enjoy a cup of chai tea occasionally, but I have never tried to make my own. Your home must smell delicious! Happy T Day!

  5. Mmmm. I can almost smell that from here.

  6. I still haven’t tired making chai. I bet it’s delightful!
    Happy Tuesday!

  7. Love tea. Thanks for the recipe. Can’t wait to try it! ~Sophia

  8. Happy Tuesday! It looks and smells delicious! We had our first snow last night – winter is on its way!

  9. Happy T Tuesday! Lovely card by Dot! How nice!!!

  10. Happy T day, having hot water and lemon… and hearing that we have a threat of snow.. oh nooo! but sure it won’t stick… yea!! xox

  11. Your chai tea sounds wonderful. I’ve never tried it myself. What a sweet card from Dot, so thoughtful, & perfect for you Patty.
    Enjoy your tea,
    Alison xxx

  12. I made chai tea once. It took a week to find all the ingredients, but I’m a real woos. I used real milk. I’m not a fan of soy. In fact, I think I got your recipe, but I was thinking mine had star anise, too.

    What a thoughtful friend. That cup in the card is stunning. I bet she loves to doodle.

    Happy T today, dear friend.

  13. Your tea recipe sounds delightful. How long will it keep in the refrigerator? Kudos to Dot for such a cute card. You created a mandala with your spices on the beautiful china plate. :)

  14. Hello Patty, so glad your here this week, love your tea cup and tea. Winter time has arrived a bit early like TODAY. We woke up to a coating of snow, thankfully not enough to shovel. I’ve been baking this morning and will again tonight. There are some things that just taste better in the winter time.
    I LOVE this sweet little card from your friend and the sentiment!! How creative she is with her cards. Enjoy her tea and thoughts, let it warm you up today.
    Thanks for your visit today. Happy T Day!

  15. Happy T Day! I love the beautiful way in which you photographed all the spices. I also love the clever teacup pocket on the card that your friend made for you. I think I’ll have to try something like that sometime. TFS.

  16. I don’t drink tea but this looks so warming and actually it looks to be nourishing for the soul so I would definitely like a little sip if that is okay with you.
    How touching is that teacup card you received, such a beautiful intention behind it, so full of caring.
    Wishes
    Lynne

  17. Yummo….I checked out the recipe and added it to my recipe files. Thanks for that. Dot’s card ius lovely.

  18. You chai tea sounds great and you received a lovely card !
    I wish a wonderful week to you my friend!
    xxx
    Susi

  19. I’m breathing the fragrance of that chai right now! My son sometimes makes me a wonderful, lemon, ginger and honey tea – it’s heavenly! What a beautiful card from Dot and such lovely sentiments. There is, I think, nothing nicer than an aromatic tea in a fragile bone china cup partaken with the ones you love. Julie Ann xx

  20. I can smell the fragrance by just looking at your photos Patty. Your chai really ounds delicious.

  21. that should read: ‘sounds delicious’ :)

  22. How very special your tea must be and what a wonderful fiend!

  23. Your chai tea sounds like it might be a lot of work for the one cup I drink of it a day… and I am lazy so use one of those chai teabags already mixed! LOL
    Love your tea card from your friend, perfect for sending ‘just because’!!

  24. I feel warmer already! xo

  25. How beautiful a thought from your friend, to send you the tea-cup card,- with lovely tea inside– she truly knows you dear Patty!
    And your brew looks and sounds wonderful,- I normally love chai, too !
    Here it is also cold now, and time for lovely warm tea ,many times aday!
    Hugs from Dorthe

  26. Happy T day a day late :) You missed it last week and I missed it this week (internet problems for two days).I love the scent of chai tea but I tend to prefer the taste of the lighter herbal teas. The beautiful card from Dot and thoughts behind it are truly heartwarming.

  27. What a special treat she sent.
    You are ambitious to make your own chai tea! :)
    Very late happy T-Day.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

