nature soothes…

on Monday, 13 January, our temperature soared to 60 degrees (16 C) which is not really typical weather in Northern Virginia this time of year

Great Falls Potomac River VA

we decided to take advantage of the blue skies and air ourselves out a bit...

Great Falls Hearts

we drove to nearby Great Falls Park on the Virginia side looking across the Potomac River to Maryland…

Great Falls Park Virginia

the sound and sight of the rushing water was captivating…

Great Falls Sparkle bubbles

we stood for a long while watching the bubbles in the water sparkle like diamonds in the sun (you can click or double click to see the sparkle)…

Great Falls VA Jim Szymkowicz

hard to believe that people actually kayak those waters…

Virginia Great Falls Park

the park can get quite busy on summer weekends so we enjoyed the relative solitude of visiting on an off season weekday…

Great Falls Park Blue Heron

Mother Nature always offers sweet surprises…

gift of bubbles to blow

 another special surprise that we discovered on a sign post at a less traveled part of the park way above the falls was a tube of bubble soap…

Bubble fun

Mr Magpie and I took turns blowing bubbles and then returned the tube for some other lucky someone to play with…

Roots and Fungi

“I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order.” ~John Burroughs

Potomac River edgethank you so much ♥ family ♥ friends and nature OXO

34 responses to “nature soothes…

  1. wonderful shot and such a lovely place !

  2. Bubble soap………..somebody knew you two were going to show up!!!
    What a lovely day you had and so peaceful. Enjoy these warm days!

  3. WOW, WOW, WOW, what a fascinating piece of nature. It’s really impressing, Patty!

  4. fabulous impressions Patty! WOW!

  5. Beautiful photos as always Patty. It is such a joy to be able to get outdoors and see such beauty.

  6. Ooooh I can just feel, hear and smell the freshness of nature on such a glorious day! I about stopped in my tracks when I saw the bubbles pic-I was actually blowing bubbles the same day because although it didn’t quite reach 60 here it still felt utterly like Spring and I had to play! And after 30 yrs hubby’s finally just smiling and shrugging at my silly play :)

  7. When I saw the first picture I knew it was Great Falls! This was one of my family’s favorite places when I was in Junior High/High School. They used to have a wonderful Carousel with beautiful painted horses (back in the 60s) and an actual “gold” ring you could try to catch for a free ride. I think it might have been destroyed in some flooding a while back. Too bad….it was magical. We loved to scurry up and down the rocks, exploring. Thank you for reminding me of so many good times. :D

  8. Wonderful photos, great places.

  9. What a beautiful place! Bubbles! How fun! Bubbles turn anyone into a kid for a few moments. :)

  10. Pretty spectacular water moving there…..love all the hearts you found! xox

  11. What great photos you captured complete with birds and even bubble soap, if only that soap could talk!

  12. You live in a beautiful place Patty.

  13. Beautiful pictures from a really nice tranquil time & place.

  14. Such beautiful images. Julie Ann xx

  15. You’re right — nature is very healing. How I love your bubbles!

  16. What a beautiful place to go! And I’m glad you got to go on Monday…. thinking of you………

  17. Your photos are so beautiful, you can almost hear the water. And the bubble soap is such a darling idea, it made me smile.

  18. Looks like you had an amazing time. I love the shot with the bubbles :)

  19. Thanks for bringing me back home yet again, these photos brought smiles to my face, and I loved the sparkle, how wonderful! Thank you dear friend :)

  20. what a wonderful visit patty, stunning photos , the bubbles make me smile…

  21. What a magical outing for you and Mr. M. Beauty and bubbles go hand in hand, as do the lovely photos you shared of this special place. Stunning beauty, raw, devoid of humans. Perfect day, perfect photos.

  22. What weird weather patterns we seem to be having worldwide. Your photos are just beautiful, as always.

  23. I love those natural hearts Patty! Beautiful photos!
    Alison xxx

  24. Beautiful, soothing and even providing smiles! I always love your heart discoveries too….I saw an obscure one in the last shot with the curved tree and it’s reflection in the water….a bit of a stretch but I was drawn to it! :) xo

  25. What most beautiful photoes ,so stunning, is your nature, dear Patty.
    I have to smile “seing” you two blowing bubbles, and love them fly in the air, and jump in the water- the troll-tree is fantastic, love the roots.
    Everything looks grandiose in your gorgeous pictures.
    I also alwayes looks for heart stones!!!
    Wishing you a happy day sweet friend.
    Hugs,Dorthe

  26. Hello dear Patty
    A good time of year to visit without the masses!
    I would love to know –what species the bird is with the long beard!!! Isn’t he just gorgeous!
    Love the bubbles…they fly so high almost reach the sky….
    Incredible reflections – I double clicked and was rewarded – outstanding photography!

    Hugs
    Shane

  27. Ma chère Patty,
    quel beau billet, on ressent une telle plénitude en les regardant, on se sent apaisé. Magnifique, quelle chance vous avez de pouvoir vivre là.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

  28. Wow, what wonderful photos and better yet what wonderful memories!! Glad you had a beautiful day to squeeze in! Hugs!

  29. Such a pretty place. Soothing for sure. And hearts and bubbles!!!

  30. To be aired and feel grounded I would image.
    Seeing such beauty and the age of the beauty surrounding in the rocks and trees, that it is all about the bigger picture.
    What fun to be blowing bubbles!
    Wishes
    Lynne

  31. oh my, again you captured nature at it´s best! the heron is such a beautiful bird… and i had to smile about the bubbles – must have been an awesome day!!

  32. Bubbles!!! I love blowing bubbles! Brings out the little kid in me! What awesome photos! I need to hang out with you two!! Love the natural hearts you found!

  33. Such gorgeous photos ! You were lucky with a nice warm day. We’ve had some extreme temps and weather up here. Thanks for stopping in at my blog, Shirleyx

  34. Gorgeous photos. Thanks for taking me along!! The weather was perfect too :) ~Sophia

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

