Mix it Monthly: June “Home” Challenge

this month’s Mix it Monthly challenge is “Home” with inspiration from the color palette below…

Conny's June Home Color Inspiration Unbenannt-2

I almost ran out of time to play along in this super challenge…

Collage background steps

so I got busy using scrap papers for another loose page for my newest art journal…

Collage background steps (1)

a bit of paint and gesso…

plain dress colored with chalks

some wings for this young lady who was hiding on my work table…

plain dress colored with chalks (1)

and some touches of chalk to color her dress and cheeks

some fly away art supplies

I had to really concentrate in order to snap a few photos along the way…

Fly away

I am also entering this in the Art Journal Journey “Houses” challenge this month (great minds coming up with close to the same challenge theme!)…

Fly away Home

“I feel my boots 
trying to leave the ground,
I feel my heart
pumping hard, I want to think again 
of dangerous and noble things.
I want to be light and frolicsome.
I want to be improbable, beautiful and afraid of nothing,
as though I had wings.” ~Mary Oliver

art journal pages

 

24 responses to “Mix it Monthly: June “Home” Challenge

  1. sparkledaysstudio

    Beautiful image. She has a somewhat fierce expression, strong woman. xox

  2. So much to love in this page…the way you have colored the image makes me think I could reach out and touch the fabric, the butterfly wings are exquisite, the quote by Mary Oliver is a favorite.

  3. Gorgeous page, love it!

  4. This is another amazing page made with so much love and style – perfect!
    Thanks so much for sharing it with us!
    Happy Happy weekend to you and Jim!
    My girl get’s her year report today and now 2 month without school will be stressfull for me …lol!
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

  5. Such beautiful work, so much wonderful texture and the colours blend in beautifully, very special!

  6. Gorgeous mixed media artwork Patty, the colours are fantastic along with the textures, love it! Have a great weekend, Shirleyx

  7. i really love all the texture here… another divine page for your journal!!

  8. another gorgeous page in your book Patty! Like you, I love the theme these two ladies gave us for the month and I eeked one more in too:) Beautiful quote too:)

  9. Ooooh, this journal page is gorgeous, liebe Patty. Great artwork !!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  10. sheer beauty, Patty!

  11. There is always so much beauty and thoughtful art here. It was fascinating to watch the evolution of this lovely piece from start to finish. The lovely gentle lady stands happily in her cleverly decorated page.

  12. So many wonderful pieces, great details.

  13. I can’t believe all the color and shading you put into the skirt on the lady. That was simply amazing. I’m also very proud that you stopped to take process shots. It makes it more real for me, at least, and I’m sure others like it, too.

    I’m so glad you are in all these challenges. You and I are in several challenges, and they are each different. I get energy from your challenge pieces, even though we aren’t in the same ones. Your art always does that to me!!

  14. I love all the texture and warm vintage color scheme that you used. Blessings!

  15. This is gorgeously beautiful, dear Patty, Love how you painted her, and the fantastic texture from papers and paint, with the little flower added , both in,her hand and on the ground ,showing the fairy-love of nature !!The bit of pink/lillac gives such a beautiful glow of warmth to your page. I so love them all ,it will be a fantastic collection of stunning pages !!
    Hugs and a lovely weekend to you and your husbond,-here saturday has reached dinner time ,already !!
    Dorthe xxx

  16. Patty always so delightful to visit your blog and view your gorgeous art! I am in love with the texture and the 3D Flowers! The stamp on top fits perfectly…thank you for your sweet fairy flying to Mix It Monthly ♥ Conny

  17. Oh my goodness, such a beautiful picture. I love your butterfly winged lady so much, can’t stop looking at. It is a party for the eyes. I like the structure at the bottom too, amazing creation. I would like to swap it with you. :)
    Lucky sunday my dear
    Sabine xox

  18. Inspirational!!! I love it Patty! xxx

  19. It’s amazing, Patty. Love the background and how every detail is in the right place, linking beatifully. The expression of the woman catch my imagination!

  20. You stay SOOOO busy! You are so good at joining swaps and challenges! You are my hero!!! These are beautiful pages!

  21. Beautiful! Thank you for also allowing us a glimpse a your creative process – most interesting!

  22. An exceptionally beautiful and artistic creation, Patty! Really terrific!

    Have a wonderful sunday, my dear :-)

  23. Beautiful! I’m supposed to be trying to catch up on some work today so doing a little blog reading instead. ;-)

  24. I’d say you rocked that challenge well. I love how your palette was softer than the “chosen” colors, yet they are the same. Beautiful. Your angel wings top it off so nicely!

    It’s fun to catch up after a couple of weeks of being internet-deprived (somewhat). You are making me smile today!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

