I go to nature to be soothed……

Oatlands Gazebo

After a tea date with special friends earlier this week, we stopped in at Oatlands Plantation just outside of Leesburg. There are some amazing trees that must be a hundred years old or more. The gift shop in the old carriage house is a fun stop.

Behind the potting shed/greenhouse there are two awesome specimens of Threadleaf Japanese Maples. As you can see, the maple is holding tight to its green leaves.

threadleaf japanese maple

One of my most favorite trees is the ancient Ginkgo or Maidenhair Tree; full of its fan shaped leaves, each one a little different shape and size. When the leaves turn in the fall, they are an amazing shade of gold. They do not stay on the tree long. I’m hoping to get back for Ginkgo Biloba’s change of dresses from green to gold! What a picture that is!

mighty Oatlands Ginkgo

The gardens at Oatlands are a peaceful respite, one of my favorite escapes in the area. The sound of water calls you deeper and deeper into this historical landscape. In a couple of weeks, the house will be decked out for the holidays. In years past they have offered candlelight tours of the mansion. I’m a fan of candlelight anytime, it was magical!

“I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order.”
-John Burroughs

One response to “I go to nature to be soothed……

  1. Pingback: Cigar Box Chunky « Magpie’s Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

