WS: Keys

Today’s Wednesday Stamper challenge is using a “Key”.

The other criteria is that you use a rubber stamp of some kind on your creation.

ws-3x5-opakern

Along with the image of my handsome Opa, Josef Kern, I used my Judi Kins Starburst stamp and the Kelli Everett “Strength” stamp.

I never got to meet my grandfather but always enjoyed hearing my mother talk about him…

I love his strong hands, so I gave him the key to hold.

Thanks to Jeri for getting me going on 3×5’s. We’re going to do a swap so I thought I’d better practice making one. You should see the one she made for me, oh my, it’s gorgeous!

31 responses to “WS: Keys

  1. Oh, my, this is just gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Wow this is fabulous. Amazing work.

    Like

  3. Its gorgeous. Love it.

    Like

  4. I really love your work and the way you distressed it

    Like

  5. what a wonderful page!!! try 3×6, the real skinny format, even better. and indeed, your opa was handsome. he is holding a lovely key!! nice hommage to him. here’s an ab spread i did for my opa – whom i had the pleasure of knowing a few years though
    http://belindaschneider.wordpress.com/2006/11/18/opa/
    too bad you never got to meet opa kern.

    Like

  6. Beautiful and he is handsome. It is nice that you could incorporate him in your piece.

    Like

  7. that is cool!!!!!!

    Like

  8. Beautiful work Patty!! I see that you are using that favorite stamp again!! I love your color choice, so very warm!!
    Hugs!!
    Elizabeth

    P.S. We would love to see the piece that Judi sent to you!! Hint, Hint!!

    Like

  9. Patty, I love your Opa and what a shame you couldn’t have known him. He looks like he’d have been a wonderful grampa. Your art is so good. I enjoy your blog.

    Like

  10. How wonderful tp use a family piece… it adds an extra measure of the lyric quality we see in pieces like this. Lovely.

    Like

  11. Lovely way to use family pictures : ) Loved the rubberstamps and the distressing. I would kill to get something like this on a swap, really.

    Like

  12. Fabulous art!

    Like

  13. Patti,
    This post, with your opa at center is so wonderful and sweet. That you never met him yet still feel the strength of his strong hands is very special….intuitive in a profound way. You share wonderful work. jodi

    Like

  14. Wow!!! This is a great page. Beautiful!

    Debby

    Like

  15. kreativgeschwafel

    wonderful hommage to you Opa!

    Like

  16. Patty,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I had just popped over to your blog just this morning- hopping from Jeri’s blog. I have blog lifted your free images for art use and very thankfully too!! You have great freebies.
    I adore your art! I would love to get together and craft with all you creative ladies. Time seems to slip away from me so my art is usually pushed way below laundry, dishes, 3 kids homework etc on the to do list.
    A pleasure meeting you. Glad you liked the butterflies!
    Amy

    Like

  17. So Fabulous, art help me leave me too…it’s so true!

    Like

  18. “lol” this is an original german opa;)) wonderful artwork. do you speak the german language?

    Like

  19. Wow toll geworden und das Bild des Mannes ist genial. Gefällt mir sehr gut.

    Like

  20. WOW wonderful work. I love it!

    Like

  21. Beautiful. Love the colours and great idea

    Like

  22. Very beautiful piece!

    Like

  23. really beautiful work!!!:-)

    Like

  24. Really a wonderful skinny.

    Like

  25. very very beautiful !

    Like

  26. wow.. u r a pro!!

    Like

  27. This is really beautiful!

    Like

  28. This background is so sympathetic to your opa – wonderful work.

    Like

  29. I like this very much! The colors are beautiful and I love your Opa on top of the text, holding the key . . .
    Lenna

    Like

  30. Fabulous!!!
    Vanessa. 😀

    Like

  31. Patty
    I love the way you posted your opa, he was my Papa you know. I had the privilege to know him for 11 years, 6 month and 2 days. Good work.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

