Great Soul

gandhijiOK, I got really excited about the idea of using Mahatma Gandhi, Father of India, as the inspiration for my Wednesday Stamper offering this week. The theme is Glasses. It wasn’t until I was ready to post the photos on my blog that I realized: I did not use any stamps in the making of this spread!

I really love my stamps; I guess I was trying to keep this spread very simple in honor of just the kind of man Gandhiji was….so there you have it!

For this spread in my India altered book I used tea dyed muslin, a flattened canning jar ring for a picture frame, and some crazy natural some kind of household (maybe carpeting) papery strip of stuff behind the words. Had to peel some strips of glue off the back of it first. That was one of several amazing thrift shop finds last weekend.

gandhijiA

gandijiB

On the back of the tag, with a partial dictionary definition of Peace, it says Bapu, which is an endearing term for “father” in India. 🙂 At least this spread does qualify for our local altered artists group criteria of using something metal in this months spread.

I used a free font site, that Korrie, of We Will Always Have Paris, mentioned in her blog some time back. They had a sanskrit looking font that worked nicely for this spread.
“An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

8 responses to “Great Soul

  1. A fine tribute to a man of peace. The use of the canning ring is very creative. The writing looks very Indian. Is it computer or hand done?

    Like

  2. Your color choice is very peaceful. I’ll never look at another can lid the same!…mind opening! Very nice.
    Creatively Yours, Laura

    Like

  3. Delightful artwork. 🙂

    It is obvious that a lot of thought and effort has gone into this piece.

    Like

  4. I too, will never look of a canning jar lid the same way again! Great job and a great piece of work for a great man of peace. Love that quote from him, all in all, Well Done dear friend.

    Like

  5. fatmasplace

    klasse, klasse, klasse. hast du den film gesehen? der war gigantisch

    Like

  6. Oooh, I’m missing words…how fantastic. I love Ghandi’s quotes.

    Like

  7. When I was in the 4th grade, my parents took me to see the movie about Ghandi. At the time I was bored to tears but boy, as an adult, it has made a lasting impression on me.

    Like

  8. Pingback: 2 October….on this day « Magpie’s Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

