Birdies, birdies everywhere….

The second Wednesday of each month is a play day at our local stamping store, Angela’s Happy Stamper.

Our focus today was inspiration taken from the Nov/Dec 2007 Somerset Magazine issue.

Jeanette Janson created wonderful Assemblage Bird Ornaments.

Thank you Linda Scimeca for getting us all organized and inspiring us with your birdie creations! Everyone’s turned out so differently and really amazingly cool!

Here are mine……

Carmen had the brilliant idea of using a shuttlecock cut up for wings, and shared pieces of it with us. It took alcohol inks beautifully too!

For bodies I had some neat old tap shoe plates along with a juice can top, colored with alcohol inks and a dial from a broken gauge for my owl. Wings came from a vegetable steamer basket and an old folding ruler that my husband cut for me (I LOVE those!). Wire was my first choice for attaching the various elements, I did use some Matte Gel Medium to stick on a few words along with some sticky double sided tape on the back to keep legs from wiggling around. Jeanette’s article in Somerset gives lots of great ideas for ingredients.

What a lot of fun!!! Thanks again, Linda, for the idea to get together and make these!

“It is not only fine feathers that make fine birds.” ~Aesop

27 responses to “Birdies, birdies everywhere….

  1. These are so great, Patty! I Love them- very creative and cool!

    Like

  2. These are delightful Patty, thanks for sharing them. I’m sure Jeanette would be delighted to see what you all have done, you should email these to her. The highest form of flattery is to copy someone else and give it your own twist…clearly you all did that and more! Bravo!

    Like

  3. These are the cutest birds I have ever seen…

    Thank you for the nice comment to my blog. Please visit my other sites.

    Cory

    Like

  4. Your birds look so fun to make. Wish I could have joined in on the fun.
    amanda

    Like

  5. Fantastic birds, Patty! Love them all!

    Like

  6. wow…die sind ja klasse geworden,Patty!!!

    Like

  7. amazing work!

    Like

  8. fatmasplace

    erst bringst du mich dazu, löffel zu verbiegen und nun schon wieder eine neue idee…….. wo soll das hinführen? ;)) die vögel gefallen mir super

    Like

  9. How fun!!! Are you going to hang them about outside or in? I’m curious as to where their nest will be?? What a fun bunch you must create with to come up with such creatures….delightful!!! Thanks for sharing what you did to make them :o)

    Like

  10. These are so cute, Patty! I used to do tap & ballet and that’s the first thing I thought of when I saw these. Thanks for the kinds words and thoughts.

    Like

  11. Patty this flock of birds is the greatest! Thank you for describing your process too, I would not have known what those parts began as. I love your blog as you have such a variety of interests…
    Gaye

    Like

  12. They are stunning!

    Like

  13. These are gorgeous!

    Like

  14. I’m so glad I took the time to let the sloooow dial up do it’s thing…I do miss hi-speed service when I travel! Patty your birds are wonderful, each and every one of them fabulous to the max! What I love so much about sharing is the comment Adrienne made, where having taken dance lessons as a child and seeing your birds brought that memory right back. I can just imagine the smiles that brings to us all when we can relate personally to art.

    Further down the broken baby doll on metal piece did it for me, I have several babies that are whole or missing limbs that I always have to save…now I know why 🙂 Thank you Patty for the joy you bring to my heart.

    Like

  15. your birds are really fantastic…love them

    Like

  16. Beautiful house !! love it !!

    Like

  17. love your house and the colors !

    Like

  18. cool birdies!! my fav!! my real birdie is still sitting on her dear clutch of eggs!!!

    Like

  19. Wonderful house !!!

    Like

  20. Wow…how cool is this? Wonderful birdies! Great Idea!

    Like

  21. I love visiting you Patty! You always make the most of whatever you have to hand (or have found!). You are a constant source of inspiration and fun! I love the owl and will find myself looking at all the weird and wonderful stuff that people class as rubbish tomorrow when I go to work at the Car Boot sale!
    I bet this was such a fun day for you all – Bravo!

    Like

  22. Loved these birdies so much I can’t even chose a favorite. They are like the real world, each one unique and special! Great job. It’s a good thing you wrote about the sum of all the parts, I would surely have missed out on some of the good stuff making up these birdies. This was one of your most fun projects and right up JJJ’s alley too!

    Like

  23. The birds are fantastic! I love how you have used found objects to put them together. I can only imagine your stash!

    Like

  24. wow these are just fabulously creatibve, great job, thanks so much for sharing!!

    Like

  25. Bonnie Schulte

    Your birds are really nifty! I love how you put them all together with bits and pieces of things. They turned out wonderful. Just wondering if you have a plan when you start a bird,do you know how you are going to finish it, or do you let your muse take you where it must. Love them, however you do it.Bonnie in WI

    Like

  26. Pingback: Calavera Shrine « Magpie’s Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  27. Pingback: Second on the 2nd for May … Birdies, birdies everywhere … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

