Sleeping Beauty

I am participating in a couple of upcoming ATC swaps in the Art Techniques Yahoo Group.

One of the themes is ART DECO. I was very tempted to do something inspired by Gustav Klimt, one of my all time favorite artists, but went with Erte’s SLEEPING BEAUTY instead.

I sanded recycled cereal box cardboard and used blue chalk ink along with Brilliance blue ink to color the background. I drew the hanging vines and flowers with a Black Slick Writer pen and the Inkssentials Opaque white pen above Erte’s Sleeping Beauty image. I enjoyed doodling the vines and flowers, creating six ATCs for the swap. I try to always make one to keep. This ATC is fairly simple even tho it involved several steps. I am going to resist the urge to add anything else to it!

“A thing of beauty is a joy forever: Its loveliness increases; it will never pass into nothingness; but still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing…” ~John Keats (English Romantic Poet. 1795-1821)

4 responses to “Sleeping Beauty

  1. Patty, your talents are endless! This piece is just fantasic. I love Keats too, we studied him so much at collage, his odes are brilliant.

    Like

  2. WOW- this is really awesome, Patty!! Have a great weekend, Julie.

    Like

  3. I think I like this just the way it is…it would be a beautiful fabric…I think making an extra ATC for yourself is a great idea, I’m in this swap and I never would have thought to make one for myself…guess I’ll change that!! Thank you!!

    Like

  4. Oh Patty! This image just flows across the atc is such a wonderful way. I’m reminded of snow blanketing the ground. Absolutely gorgeous, my friend!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

