See no, Hear no, Speak no evil…

These three ATCs all began with “Speak No Evil” for the TMTA Turquoise swap this week. That really IS one of my favorite colors, even in clothing!

While I was working on the little Paper Whimsy (PW) girl with wings and her special halo from the snipped away parts of my favorite PW sunshine face, I got a spot above her lip….oh no….SO the butterfly fixed it and the rest is history. Instead of making one ATC for TMTA, I ended up creating these three.

My Lumiere paints along with Pearlescent Liquid Acrylics are two of my favorite paints these days. I paint a lot with my finger and when I have extra on it I usually smear it/wipe it onto bits of papers nearby. These papers get really interesting looking after a few projects. If you stamp lightly on them and perhaps smear a little gesso, it makes for nice decorative papers! I was using gesso on top of a plastic doily for another project recently and when I was finished, I turned the plastic doily over onto some of these random papers and ‘cleaned’ it initially by pressing it onto the scrap paper, and then washing it too of course = instant texture!

I found it interesting to read a little bit about the origins of this much recognized quote “See no evil, Hear no evil, Speak no evil”.

I always thought of it as the #2 “Meaning of the proverb” explained here.

Whatever the ‘real’ meaning I sure had fun playing with these! Thanks for taking the time to visit!

29 responses to “See no, Hear no, Speak no evil…

  1. hastingshall2

    Gorgeous colors and a rib-tickler of a trio!!!
    Faye

    Like

  2. Fabulous set of ATC’s!

    Like

  3. That’s interesting Oh and I love your cards!

    Like

  4. These are wonderful…I love the background texture and how you turned an accident into something so much fun!

    Like

  5. your 3 ATC’s are wicked such humour and brilliant backgrounds.
    I remember those wicker prams in your photo below i have lived in germany in different towns throught my life.
    TFS Chriss x

    Like

  6. These are awesome!! Love these!

    Like

  7. They are gorgeous, great backgrounds!

    Like

  8. Wow what a cool set of ATC’s – I love the thought process and they are stunning

    Like

  9. Wow these are awesome! Gorgeous trio.

    Like

  10. Love it, love it, LOVE IT! This is just too cute for words! Magazine cover worthy if you ask me! Great job!!!

    Like

  11. Oh you have really, really created something special here.
    This is fabulous!!!

    Like

  12. Oh, I love these! You are so clever!

    Like

  13. LOve your See no evil etc. Fab idea.

    Like

  14. OH MY GOSH !!!
    What for great ATC´s. Wonderful design.
    Awesome, awesome and again awesome.

    Like

  15. hey you changed your blog! lol FANTASTIC atcs! love em patty

    Like

  16. FABULOUS, fabulous, fabulouS!

    Like

  17. Brilliant work Patty! My fave image is the 3rd one… she’s bursting to tell you the latest gossip, isn’t she? Great highlights!

    Like

  18. This is absolutely gorgeous! I love all the little details like the white accent on the bow tie, and the backgrounds are amazing. I will have to take a closer look at my waste paper from now on.

    Like

  19. These cards are beyond wonderful Patty! They are perfectly suited to the expression 🙂 Gotta love those happy accidents, right?
    Gaye

    Like

  20. I never really thought about where that saying may have come from. That was fascinating reading …. Oh, and the ATC’s are really cool – I especially love the fish on the boy – and your backgrounds are lovely!

    Like

  21. gorgeous ATCs, what a clever idea. love the images

    Like

  22. wonderful cards, patty!! i love it that you share so much about your process! love how a little snip turned into these! amazing!!

    Like

  23. Wonderful ATC`S with your evils 🙂

    Like

  24. so much fun, love the butterfly coming out of the ears.

    Like

  25. You already know how much I LOVE these 3 ATC’s, but I’ll tell you again. Such a cute and clever way to use the Paperwhimsy images. Your art rocks!!

    Like

  26. love the backgrounds for these and the way they were created, also liked the link to the meaning of the quote very interesting. thanks for your great comments on my blog

    Like

  27. Beautiful ATCs, and such a clever use of the “see no evil” concept. Love those backgrounds!

    Like

  28. They look fantastic grouped together. Lovely work!

    Like

  29. Pingback: promise… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

