Shiva Artist’s Paintstiks

For my handmade background on the 4×4 Friday challenge, I used Shiva Artist’s Paintstiks. They come in lots of colors, some shimmery metallics. They are oil paints stiffened with wax that work beautifully on fabrics and paper.

I rubbed several colors onto a piece of white copy paper with a textured surface underneath, blending the colors together with a colorless blending stick for the final step. It takes about 24 hours to dry.

Then I stamped a text stamp over it with black Stazon, added some fiber paper along with a photograph of a stone sculpture piece from our garden.

I created a little hanging by adding eyelets and a beaded wire hanger at the top.

Thanks to Kim Gibson for such a fun playdate with Shiva stiks and more earlier this summer. Kim just returned from a two week middle ages adventure. She has some fantastic pictures to share on her blog.

Also, thank you Bettie Barnes for that beautiful Goddess of the Grape statuary piece, she looks so serene and mysterious in our garden.

“Remember that happiness is a way of travel…..not a destination.” ~Unknown

15 responses to “Shiva Artist’s Paintstiks

  1. Love the background…I am going to look at those paintstiks! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. What a gorgeous piece of work Patty, love it!

    Like

  3. Wow das ist einfach traumhaft schön.
    Klasse Werk, tolle Farben.

    Ich tue mal wieder etwas für Dein German 😀

    Like

  4. stunning colors !!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  5. I love blue. Your collage is wonderful! Schöne Woche 😉

    Like

  6. Patty,
    This is absolutely ethereal in its beauty! I love the effect you acheived with these paintsticks.

    Love,
    Alberta

    Like

  7. Very pretty…I had bought some Shivas to play with but was really thinking fabric and have not even got them out yet. Now I see this beautiful piece and will have to take them to paper!

    Like

  8. Fantastic background. Really love teh colour. xx

    Like

  9. Very nice! That sculpture has new life and is attaining “fame” thru your rescue of it!!!! Where do you get those paintstiks?

    Like

  10. The background really is outstanding. Now I may have to buy the paintstiks so I can fool around with them.

    Like

  11. Ooh Ooh, I love this! I am working alot in water colors these days, as well as my favorite shades of white… these colors just pop! Thanks for the plug… we need to do more art together!

    Like

  12. Beautiful work !

    Like

  13. Fabulous piece! The background is really stunning, love the vibrant blue.

    Like

  14. beauttiful backgrond!!!!

    Like

  15. this is a great background ..i have seen these paintsticks on CPS magazine and was wondering how they would be used. Thanks for your comments on my blog. are you doing the trish bees altered board book challenge?

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

