Yogi Tea * the original chai

Thanks to my Kundalini yoga teachers, I have been enjoying this delicious and healthy tea for almost ten years now. Judy, thank you for reminding me that I had promised to share the recipe!

YOGI TEA is a health-promoting beverage and tonic for the whole body. It strengthens the nervous system, energizes the body, and clears the mind. It is both a remedy and preventative measure for colds, allergies and other diseases of the mucous membranes. The combined spices create a synergistic healing effect.
Black pepper is a blood purifier
Cardamom aids digestion (I buy the green pods)
Cloves strengthen the nervous system
Cinnamon aids calcium absorption
Ginger heals inflammations and removes physical weakness
Soy or dairy milk aids in assimilation
Black tea activates the ingredients

You can buy the spices in bulk at some health food stores or ethnic markets.    Bulk is vastly more reasonable than regular grocery store container spices.

Ingredients:

  • 2 quarts water
  • 20 whole cloves
  • 20 black peppercorns
  • 5 sticks of cinnamon
  • 20 whole cardamom pods (split the pods first)
  • 8 fresh ginger slices (1/4″ thick, no need to peel)
  • 1/2 teaspoon regular or decaf black tea leaves (approximately 1 tea bag)
  • Dairy or soy milk and honey or maple syrup to taste

Preparation:

Bring two quarts of water to a boil. Add cloves and boil one minute. Add cardamom, peppercorns, cinnamon, and ginger. Cover and boil for 30 minutes. Reduce heat and simmer for one or more hours still covered. Remove from heat, add black tea and let cool. Strain and store in the refrigerator. Reheat when you want a cup and add milk and sweetener to taste.   Some people like drinking it cold.

Another added benefit to brewing Yogi Tea is that your house will smell wonderful with the aroma of spices!

Enjoy * Enjoy

“The act of being happy lies in the power of extracting happiness from common things.” ~Henry Ward Beecher

*note: I am linking this post to Ana’s Friday Archive Dive theme of “recipe”*

28 responses to “Yogi Tea * the original chai

  1. Thanks for recipe. Sounds good.

    Like

  2. Oh Patty, I can almost smell the fragrance of these spices as I read thru the recipe, Must try it as these days call to you for a hot drink. Thank you Patty.

    Like

  3. Hi Patty,
    Thanks for sharing this recipe…I cannot wait to try it. Hope you are doing well…Janet

    Like

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I hope I can find cardamom pods…I’ve got ground, if not. Hattiesburg is not a culinary hub. I will mix up a batch later today when I return from my errands today. I can almost smell it now. 🙂

    Like

  5. This sounds wonderful, I havent tasted it before is it nice? although it must be if you have been drinking it for this long. I might just give it a whirl, if only for the aroma, im intrigued now, Jaqi

    Like

  6. I guess this calls for a trip to the health food store bulk aisle!!!!!

    Like

  7. When you say Black tea, is this a specific make? or do you mean ordinary tea without any milk? This is most likely a daft question…..Im sorry….but I really dont know, Thanks Jaqi

    Like

  8. Pingback: Daybook, October 20, 2008 « apron strings

  9. Pingback: Kimmie’s Tea Party Tuesday « Magpie’s Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  10. Pingback: End of June Tea Tuesday… « Magpie’s Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  11. Pingback: T Shop or Not « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  12. sounds delicious Patty 🙂 thanks for pointing to your recipe!

    Like

  13. Pingback: Tea and California Dreaming | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  14. Pingback: Autumn Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  15. Pingback: messy Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  16. Pingback: tea and trust… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  17. It’s a good thing there isn’t a LIKE button, I’d be going crazy hitting it five bazillion times!!! Homemade Chai tea!!! Patty you are after my heart!!! ♥

    Thanks bunches for sharing it with me, you’re giving me a GOOD reason to go shopping!!! 🙂
    Hugs, Ashlyn

    Like

  18. Thanks for posting the healthy chai tea recipe. I love-love-love chai tea & I hope to make your recipe soon. I intend to share your blog & healthy chai tea posting with my friend at Inkspillersattic.blogspot.com, I know she would be interested in a healthy chai tea recipe. Thanks again!
    Brenda

    Like

  19. hi Patty! aww, it’s just you and me in the dive this week… some weeks are busy, others not so much 🙂 thank you for sharing this. i’ve seen yogi tea crop up in your posts over the months… i initially thought you meant the brand ‘yogi tea’ (i like the little words of wisdom they have on their tea tabs)… but your recipe is one that i definitely will try. i do Love those spices! look at all those wholesome ingredients. thanks again Patty!

    Like

  20. Hello, I’m over from Ana’s blog!
    I am loving the sound of this tea – I will try it for sure 😉
    xo

    Like

  21. Oh! This is the tea we make in India every day – I loved it when I first arrived and scorned all others. Now, sadly, I find I am unable to drink it and have returned to my British roots – a properly brewed cup and a little splash of milk (the Indian in me still insists on sugar, though!).

    Like

  22. Pingback: little tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  23. yum yum yum!!!

    Like

  24. I love chai and this sounds delicious!!

    Like

  25. Pingback: spice of life … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  26. Pingback: a special cuppa… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  27. Hi Patty, thank you so much for this recipe!! I just bought some crazy expensive tea, read the ingredients and decided to make it my self. I am in the process of buying the items online in bulk but I wasn’t sure how much of each to put in. I am pleasantly surprised that your recipe has almost all the same ingredients. I will be using it for sure. So excited for some yummy Chai. Thanks!
    Kate

    Like

  28. Pingback: Light tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

