Heart of Gold

Gold is the challenge at Dans ma maison il y a… du doré this week.   The Neil Young song, Heart of Gold,  is the first thing that came to mind.  It’s a favorite and still speaks to me after all these years.    Music really does inspire me and has a huge impact on my every day life.  House is the challenge at TGIF this week also.

dansmamaisonheart-of-gold

I covered a wooden heart with candy foil and painted it, adding texture with two kinds of mesh.  The wings are German scrap and I used a golden flimmersterne for the burst.

34 responses to “Heart of Gold

  1. I love Neil Young’s song and I love your beautiful take on this week’s theme. The words which come first to mind are gorgeous and scrumptious. This is perfection at work.

    Like

  2. Hi Patty,

    OMG, this piece looks awesome. Love that song too. They don’t write ’em like that anymore, do they??? Thanks for the inspiration.

    Hugz……

    Like

  3. So so so wonderful house.
    Fantastic gold design. Brilliant work.

    Thanks Patty for this gorgeous entry to TGiF.

    Like

  4. Great song. Gorgeous piece. Love the textures.
    🙂
    Shelly

    Like

  5. Beautiful interpretation! Neil Young would be proud!!

    Like

  6. gotta love that flimmersterne!!! jenxo

    Like

  7. fabulous house!!! great colors!!

    Like

  8. patty – is simply GORGEOUS!!! and the song is an class of it’s own. love this old song by neil young rather the music by CSNY. 😉 great house!!!

    Like

  9. goegeous house !greatcolors!!!

    Like

  10. Gosh you have been soooo busy, I love all of your pieces.

    Like

  11. Patty, this is so different, just love the candy wrapper technique. The gold is stunning.
    (Thanks for the kind comments on my sample piece:)

    Like

  12. Fabulous interpretation, Patty! The gold is just wonderful. A really majestic house.

    Like

  13. Lovely house!

    Like

  14. such a wonderful piece … and now i have a song stuck in my head;)

    Like

  15. I’m ever so glad you popped by my blog!

    I love to look at your art!

    The quote at the top is so true!

    Blessin’s!!♥

    Like

  16. this is wonderful and now I have that great song in my head!! i love candy wrappers…..

    Like

  17. Gorgeous, very strong design

    Like

  18. Dear Patty, sorry that I have been a stranger for a while. Back now…Checked up on your last couple of posts. I know I keep repeating myself, but…well awesome..sooo pretty and creative…love…love..it.
    Andrea.

    Like

  19. Love your Flimmer Heart House, just perfect!!!

    Like

  20. Stunning piece and a wonderful song too!

    Like

  21. This looks very noble. ( thanks for your friendly comment)

    Like

  22. I think I’ve said it before Patty it doesn’t pay to leave you alone for too long, your sooooo productive, don’t know what to comment on first!! love your latest pieces especially Cherry Red, beautiful image and combination of fabrics. You are such an inspiration! Mxo

    Like

  23. really gorgeous house !

    Like

  24. what a beautiful house. it sings to you! I have no idea what a flimmerstern is but its truly effective.
    listening to NY made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end.

    Like

  25. Oh Patty this is gorgeous. And I learned a new word too. Fabulous idea.

    Like

  26. Patty look on my blog i have a Award for you.
    gr wil

    Like

  27. What a great idea! Looks fabulous!
    And thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Like

  28. Certainly is stunning, Patty, I think it’s great house to symbolize the events in your country this week!

    Like

  29. This just ‘bursts’ out from the page. Wonderful.

    Like

  30. very nice heart’s house

    Like

  31. BRILLIANT idea. Love the thinking behind this.

    Like

  32. Très jolie maison patty, merci beaucoup de ta participation.

    Like

  33. This is beautiful, Patty, and was just listening to that song on the classic vinyl station! There’s an award for you on my blog, so please stop by and pick it up!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

