Pink Saturday: Blushing Blossoms

here in Northern Virginia the roses are bursting into bloom

RosaRugosa

 this Rosa Rugosa is so fragrant…

DSC00655

if only you could smell the perfect rose bouquet

Rose Center

the Pink Primrose has a delicate fragrance

OnotheraSpeciosa

even the backs of the tender new grape leaves are sporting a pink blush

new grape leaf back

for lots of lovely Pink Saturday offerings visit Beverly at How Sweet the Sound

“I once had a rose named after me and I was very flattered.  But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: no good in bed, but fine up against a wall.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt, 1933-1945


32 responses to “Pink Saturday: Blushing Blossoms

  1. lol i am giggling at the quote…..

    mmmm i can just about smell them too jenxo

    Like

  2. Oh, I miss my primroses – they have not come up this year, maybe next………

    Like

  3. Loved the pictures, I need a primrose! Also got a hoot from the quote by Eleanor R.

    Like

  4. the pictures are so perfect i can almost smell the rose…

    Like

  5. gorgeous roses…can almost smell them! Happy Pink Saturday ~ I hope you have a great weekend ~ Susan

    Like

  6. What lovely flowers and leaves, so in keeping with the pinkness of the day!

    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Erin 🙂

    http://www.fairiemoon.typepad.com/fairiemoon/

    Like

  7. What a wonderful blog post for Pink Saturday! It’s windy and raining here in Upper Michigan today, so this is a breath of spring for me☺

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend filled with sunshine and the j♥y of being surrounded by those you l♥ve.

    See you next week!

    Like

  8. Awesome photographs, I still only have lilacs in bloom here.

    Like

  9. Happy Pink Saturday, Patty.

    Your photos are outstanding, and the blooms are exquisite.

    And, the quote made me laugh aloud. That Eleanor was quite a character. My grandmother adored her.

    Like

  10. Perfect pinks for a Pink Saturday! The flowers are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

  11. Beautiful photos – the crispness is wonderful as all the fold marks in the rose show. Happy Pink Saturday.

    Like

  12. Hi there, Happy Pink Saturday! Gorgeous photos, and the quote’s a hoot! TY for visiting me today,

    xJ
    MaidenShade.wordpress.com
    MaidenShade.com

    Like

  13. I can smell them from here! Exquisite photos. The color in the grape leaf is amazing.

    Like

  14. LOL…The Eleanor Roosevelt quote….very funny. 😀
    I love your pictures….your roses are lovely….and primrose are my favorite flower.

    Like

  15. Hi my friend its been a while since i was able to come and enjoy blogging properly. What fabulous photography and wonderful pictures i could almost smell the roses just like you said
    Hugs and happy weekend
    June xxx

    Like

  16. Lovely pinks!

    Blessings,
    Spencer

    Like

  17. The beauty of flowers one of another sweet blessings from our Creator.
    Can’t you just imagine a world without flowers…… Imposible!!!!
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend .
    Enjoy the beauty around you,
    Virginia

    Like

  18. Thankyou so much for sharing your beautiful flowers with us. Your photography is amazing.

    Like

  19. oh how I wish I could smell the roses. Happy Pink Saturday, Char

    Like

  20. Those are amazingly beautiful photos!!! So so lovely!!! I’m hysterial over the Eleanor Roosevelt quote!!!!!! Thank you for sharing and Happy Pink Saturday!!
    ♥ Teresa

    Like

  21. Very beautiful pink flowers. They brightened my morning this Sunday. 🙂 Happy Pink Saturday.

    Like

  22. Long time no see! Oh what gorgeous, luscious, beautiful photos. I so wish I could smell them. Great quote! Very Funny!

    Like

  23. Happy Pink Saturday! Beautiful blooms, great quote! lol Have a great day!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

    Like

  24. I need a scratch and sniff screen!

    Like

  25. Hi Patty, thanks for stopping by and your sweet comment. Love your roses – up here, the leaves on mine are just starting to bud out – it will be awhile before I see any actual roses. Happy Pink Saturday – late of course as Iwas gone most of yesterday.

    Like

  26. Happy Pink Saturday! Your roses are gorgeous! can’t wait until ours bloom.

    Like

  27. Your photos are fantastic! Love, love flowers! Happy Pink Saturday!

    Like

  28. Pink roses! My favorite and so beautifully photographed!

    Happy Pink Saturday (on Sunday)!
    Robin@Miscellaneous Thoughts

    Like

  29. Loved the roses and that sweet grape leaf but best of all was the hilarious quote from Eleanor Roosevelt!

    ¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*´¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ Happy Pink Saturday
    Deanna 😀

    Like

  30. Oh, they’re so lovely! Happy Belated Pink Sat!

    Like

  31. Gorgeous pinks, you sure are good with the camera. I missed getting to all the pink saturday posts last week, every time I would start my computer would freeze up for some reason, so I gave up…LOL..
    Debby

    Like

  32. Pingback: Mandala Monday: Ring around the roses | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

