~*Happy Birthday Pink Saturday*~

Pink Saturday

is celebrating its first birthday!!!

logo-2

I first participated in Pink Saturday in October of last year

my birthday treat for you today is a trip to Dumbarton Oaks in Washington, DC

*you may click on the photos for a closer view*

DSC01677PineappleGate

it is one of those spots worth visiting again and again because of the ever changing landscapes

DSC01686RoseGardenShower

on a recent visit, there was a a light rain shower, just enough to kiss the blossoms with delicate raindrops

DSC01756KissedbytheRain

these are just a few of the pink highlights, there is so much to see and enjoy in these splendid gardens

Copy of DSC01736As you sow, so shall you reap

this bit of Latin, Quod Severis Metes (As you ‘Sew’, So shall you Reap) was a repeated theme in the gardens

DSC01612Pan

Pan points to one of the peaceful reflecting pools

DSC01794reflecting pool

if you ever visit our nation’s capital, I highly recommend a trek to  Dumbarton Oaks

DSC01887Orangeree

there are delights everywhere you turn

DSC00759ViewfromVegieGarden

walkways and paths draw you in

DSC01674PinkRose

the smell of summer is already in the air with sweet honeysuckle perfume

DSC01684PinkHoneysuckle

I could go on and on (we took hundreds of photos), but there are lots of  lovely Pink Saturday posts at Beverly’s How Sweet the Sound that you won’t want to miss!

It is no small thing to keep a weekly blog challenge going strong, Beverly does it with grace and makes it look easy week after week.

38 responses to “~*Happy Birthday Pink Saturday*~

  1. From one Magpie to another, this would be a lovely place to nest! Those pink blossoms are so incredible, they make you want to reach out and touch them! Just gorgeous! And so is everything else in the gardens. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

    Like

  2. What a lovely visit! I really enjoy visiting other countries through the photos people share on their blogs! (especially when the chances are I’ll never get there in person! lol)
    Carole 😉

    Like

  3. Happy Pink Saturday.

    Like

  4. hi patty
    oh what a beautiful place!! i would never want to leave!!
    the beauty of a garden never ceases to amaze me ~ to the tinest flower~ to the grand and majestic
    mmmmm 🙂
    thanks for sharing
    enjoy your weekend
    tabby 🙂

    Like

  5. wonderful pink post and pics! – I’m loving that Pan sculpture!

    HaPpY PiNk SaTuRdAy!

    Like

  6. Gabriela Delworth

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    I absolutely love these photos and really hope you make some postcards with these roses!

    ~ Gabriela ~

    Like

  7. These flowers are more beautiful than I can deal with. I would want to pick them all. Guess that’s not allowed!!!!!!!

    Like

  8. With our little PINK SATURDAY having a birthday this week, I am on “pink overload” and that is difficult to do to me! I’m lovin’ it like crazy!

    What lovely pinks this week you have, my dear. The better to see your through my rose colored glasses!☺

    Have a great weekend. Not all that warm up in my neck of the woods but the sun is out and that makes the day good. I hope you are surrounded by those you love and that you, too, are bathed in sunshine.

    Like

  9. What a gorgeous post! I could spend hours and hours there! Your photos are beautiful. Happy Pink Saturday!

    Like

  10. Gorgeous photos! I will have to visit there someday. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  11. What a beautiful place. I could definitely sit and stay there a while. It’s amazingly peaceful. Happy Pink Saturday and have a loveleigh weekend!

    Like

  12. How very beautiful! Happy Pink saturday!

    Linda

    Like

  13. Lovely post!Happy One Year Pink Saturday Birthday!!!
    xoxo.

    Like

  14. Thanks for the delightful stroll through this amazing garden!!! You’ve taken such amazing photos of it and its beautiful blooms, I forgot I was still at home. Happy Pink Saturday!!!!

    Like

  15. Patty, I loved the tour of Dumbarton Oaks. I wasn’t aware of it, but it will surely be on my list of places to visit when I am in that area. It is exquisite.

    Happy Pink Saturday.

    Like

  16. oh my Patty.. everything is gorgeous! Happy Pink Saturday ~ I hope you have a great weekend ~ Susan

    Like

  17. What a fantastic stroll thru the gardens from my computer chair. Beautiful pictures and architecture too. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  18. oooo patty how wonderful!! they are all wonderful photos but that fantastic statue just begs to be altered in photoshop….she is amazing…

    Like

  19. Oh how I love botanical gardens…….gardens of any kind. Thank you for sharing this garden with us.
    Happy Pink Saturday!

    Like

  20. Oh how beautiful, thank you so much for taking us on the journey with you. All your photographs are gorgeous!
    Have a super sweet Pink Saturday!
    Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with me also 🙂
    Melly:)

    Like

  21. Wow! that lion lady was something else. Can I live there? Do you think they would let me? 🙂 HPS

    Like

  22. Hi Patty, The Dumbarton Oaks tour is spectacular. I loved all of it but the flowers are a special treat. That was a lovely day for you I am sure. Thank you for sharing the fun and I hope you share some more pics again.

    Hugs…Jeanne

    Like

  23. Hello Patti,
    Thank You for the beautiful tour….the pictures were awesome.
    Happy Pink Saturday Birthday to you.
    hugs
    debbie

    Like

  24. Thakyou so much for the tour! What a gorgeous place to visit, a real birthday treat! Your photos aer devine.

    Like

  25. Thanks for the lovely tour. Love the roses and I can smell the honeysuckle from here.

    Happy PS

    Kris

    Like

  26. What a tour! I wish I could be there. So many to look and admire at. beautiful landscapes and statues! I would very much like to sit on that bench with the inscription.

    Happy PS!

    Li

    Like

  27. I so enjoyed this tour of Dumbarton Oaks! We missed that when we visited DC, but I know we missed a lot of wonderful sites. I hope to return one day and I will visit this place —– it looks so heavenly!!

    Hope you had a great Pink Saturday 1st Birthday!! Dana

    Like

  28. just beautiful and I love the cake, happy pink saturday, Char

    Like

  29. Hubs and I have been talking about taking a trip to DC next year. He has never been there. Dumbarton Oaks looks absolutely gorgeous. I would love to visit when we take our trip. Lovely post! Pink Hugs!

    Like

  30. Hi, Patty – yes I am finally getting a chance to visit you at lunchtime here…. Love the photos!!stupid question, is the Latin really “sew” or “sow” I will be so impressed if it is “as you sew, so shall you reap.” I’m sewing as fast as I can here!! xoxo….

    Like

  31. Patty your photography is just awesome! So inspiring!!! Your artwork is of course fabulous as always!

    Like

  32. what a beautiful garden!! hope you do come to new orleans one day-it has some fabulous and unusual places to visit too! wishing you a wonderful pink week-loving all your mixed media too !

    Like

  33. The gardens must be MAGNIFICENT to see!
    Happy Pink Saturday, and hope you’re having a wonderful week!

    Like

  34. Pingback: Happy 2nd Birthday PINK SATURDAY « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  35. Thank you for sharing this wonderful photo walk in a fantastic nature garden.
    Have a nice week hugs Anja

    Like

  36. Wow!!!! Awesome garden! I absolutely love your photo of the pink roses! You should put your blog in to be featured in Artful Blogging again!!! You do such a fabulous job with it, I just love to come and visit!

    Like

  37. Pingback: ten thousand crystals tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  38. Pingback: Spring has Sprung Tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

