MMM: Play

“Play” is the theme at Mixed Media Monday.  If you read my quote on my blog header, you’ll see that I value play very much!

for some time now I have wanted to play with some cardboard fans that I have collected, some old and some new, unique ways of advertising

CoolHokieParent

this one was passed out at our son’s college orientation a couple of summers ago and was it ever hot moving him into a dorm with no air conditioning

Mont St Michel

I decided to collage on the back/blank side of the fan covering it with scrapbook paper to begin with, sanding the edges a bit, adding Brilliance ink to the edges.

The image of Mont Saint Michel is from an old encyclopedia (I actually used the original).  I was lucky enough to visit there many years ago and stay overnight which was a special treat.  It’s one of those places where busloads of visitors come to spend a few hours then leaving to continue their sight seeing.  I would so Love to return someday and have some delicious crepes!  Back in the day, I sort of ate my way through a nine week, nine country trek of Europe…those were the days!

Thanks again to Jean for the perfect swan page she sent me a while back.  I am not using that original, but copies instead!

19 responses to “MMM: Play

  1. Oh this is awesome!!! Very well done!

    Like

  2. Patty your fan is so beautiful, what a fantastic idea to collect advertisement
    cardboards fan and use them in this way.

    Like

  3. I love the idea of the decorated fan! And it’s beautifully done. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Great idea Patty, now the fan is something beautiful 🙂

    Like

  5. Great idea, Patty.
    Stunning work.

    Like

  6. Patty, what a wonderful use for the fan. It is now a real work of art and very lovely. I am intrigued by a 9 day, eat your way through 9 countries tour. I’m thinking also maybe a 9# weight gain!!! But it sounds like tremendous fun.

    Isn’t it amazing that our colleges still don’t have AC in the dorms and you know that almost every student comes from homes with AC? My gd was fortunate her first year at W&M to have a roommate with asthma. They got to have a window unit.

    Like

  7. Great idea ,stunning work!!

    Like

  8. Fantastic, awesome shape

    Like

  9. Great idea!!!! :O)

    Like

  10. mixedmediamonday

    Oh, this is glorious, Patty! I can tell you had fun playing with this! Diane

    Like

  11. Thank you! I remember those types of fans from my childhood. They used to be in every pew in th church (that was before air conditioning). My grandmother also had several in her home for use by her and her eight kids and my cousin and me.

    You have brought back some fine memories!

    Like

  12. ahh.. Patty.. what a wonderful play!! le mont san michel!! you never told me that you have been there!! thats one place i would love to see one day!

    Like

  13. so cool Patty, I seriously don’t beleive there’s anything in this world you can’t alter, I love this! Mx

    Like

  14. I don’t think we have those fans in England (I’ve never seen one before anyway). Margaret is right – you are the ‘Queen of Altering’ Patty, lol!
    Linda 😉
    PS I also have wonderful memories of French crepes; my fav was creamy mushroom. (The Cointreau and chocolate ones are pretty good, too!)

    Like

  15. oooh lovely Patty, we went to st micheals mount in cornwall but i dont think its the same one, when the tide went out you could walk out to it. of course you had to get back before it came in again. we ate fish and chips on the beach as the sun went down jenxo

    Like

  16. Hi Patty – love this FANtastic idea, and the layout is so pretty. I was about to mention St. Michael’s Mount in Cornwall, and have just noticed that jenxo has told you a little bit about it too! Wonderful memories eh!!
    Sylvia xx

    Like

  17. Fantastic, I love the background

    Like

  18. Great altering. Your work is beautiful.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo