Digging Deeper…more Buried Treasure

time for the second round of Seth Apter’s Buried Treasure collaboration…Digging Deeper into your favorite blog posts, picking one or two to repost today

here is an 8 x 10″ canvas from January 2008…seems I was getting spring fever a little early that year!

PattySzymkowicz JapaneseInspired8x10 Jan08

*double click for closeup*

my mixed media canvas was sparked by the old Japanese calendar page in the lower left corner, it was old and brittle, covering it with gel medium on the canvas  helped preserve it

*****

I would also like to share a link to a blog post I created after a visit to the American Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore,  Maryland back in July 2008.  It is a very unique place both inside and out, with a primary focus on outsider art.

If you haven’t already, visit Seth at The Altered Page for the list of Buried Treasure participants AND the Digging Deeper players too.  It has been my pleasure to take part in both!


24 responses to “Digging Deeper…more Buried Treasure

  1. OMG Patty I´ve missing my words .
    This is excellent. Very impressive canvas. I love them.

    Like

  2. What a fabulous piece of art. I hope you haven’t got it hidden away as deep as your blog post!

    Like

  3. How incredibly gorgeous this one is, Patty. I love the beautiful colour and design and it looks totally gorgeous…..well done.

    Like

  4. I’m so happy that you’ve revisited your gorgeous art, Patty, AND the post about the Museum in Baltimore! These posts are truly treasures! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  5. Incredibly beautiful and delicate Patty and so wonderful to preserve the calendar page in your art. I am going to visit the links you have given. Thank you by the way for your oh so kind comments on my Frida book – much appreciated.

    Like

  6. It is a beautiful work of art. I too love the calendar page. The bead work is nice!

    Like

  7. I’m a bit late in checking our your buried post today, but it is truly a treasure. You make the Asian theme look elegant. You take such a different approach, since most Asian women are surrounded by reds, yellows, and bright colors. Your use of pastels is a refreshing change from the norm.

    Like

  8. Beautitul Asian piece Patty, so elegant, love it! And thank you for the awesome link, stunning art!! Mx

    Like

  9. I sooo gotta get me one of those eggs, and the bird and the nest, LOL! How fab are those babies!!! I do love your canvas though Patty, lots of nice little details in there. Thanks for popping in to my blog again you brave girl, LOL! Great to hear from you!

    Like

  10. This is… this is… ooohhhhh!
    I’m glad you joined the buried treasure project so I found you. This is fabulous!!!!!!
    Thanks for you comment on my blog!

    Like

  11. this is gorgeous! i’ve always had an affinity for art containing japanese photos and characters. wonderful!!

    Like

  12. I love this piece, reminds me of the Cherry Blossoms in Washington, D.C. in the Spring.

    Also Congratulations on your award from Pat, two more talented gals I cannot think of!!!!

    Like

  13. Beautiful canvas Patty…and I was amazed by the sculptures at the Baltimore museum! (Love that egg)
    🙂

    Like

  14. I love all things Asian and may have even had this calendar! But oh, what you did with it is stunning. I’m so glad you are posting things you did before I discovered you!

    Like

  15. This is gorgeous, so beautiful!!
    Just thr style I´d like to make but have no skill 🙂

    Like

  16. This is an amazing creation – you’re a very talented lady!

    ciao for now,
    Elena 🙂

    Like

  17. WOW, Patty, I haven’t stopped by in far too long, but what gifts are waiting when one DOES visit! So much beauty, so much wisdom and so much candy!!! Your work is exquisite. Your dedication to just DOING the blog day after day. The photography, the recipes (Tante’s Peach Cobbler we have enjoyed for several years now!), the FANS, so much, so like the icing on the wedding cake if it is made by a grand confectioner…Patty, you amaze and astound me. You also and always make me proud to see what you’ve been up to in your world…it’s perfect!

    Like

  18. WOW!!! Gorgeous piece, so much to look at..
    debby

    Like

  19. Oh I have missed blogging and catching up. I forgot how gorgeous art can be. You just reminded me Patty.
    Hope you are well my friend
    Hugs June x

    Like

  20. I love your Japanese inspired mixed media piece – the colors and textures are so dreamy.

    Like

  21. wow!! this one intrigues me! i keep wondering which year was this calender. i spy an ox in the calender … so i’m guessing year of the ox… but which year?! man!!
    and the chinese/japanese words … smile and dream … the way you’ve aged it, makes it look like one of those old shop signs! this piece has a fantastic ambience.

    Like

  22. Stunning piece. Love all the layers in this one. Thanks for reposting!!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

