Angel may care …

since our first visit to the historical Oak Hill Cemetery in the Georgetown section of Washington  DC in May of this year,  we have wanted to return on a cooler day AND with a tripod for steadier shots of the statuary and views of this old terraced sanctuary along the banks of Rock Creek

MagpiesNestOakHill#5

These images are my personal photographs that I am offering to you as FREEBIES for you to use in your artwork.   Please do not use them in collage sheets or to sell.   You may click on them to get a larger download size (a double click makes it VERY big).

MagpiesNestOakHill#1

even after going back with a tripod for sharper photos, this one looks crooked, the entire cemetery in on uneven ground dating back over 160 years, which is old here in the states 😉

MagpiesNestOakHill#4

arches of all kinds

MagpiesNestOakHill#21

these angel faces graced each side of this Carter family memorial, which included an acorn stone garland

MagpiesNestOakHill#7

we took over 270+ pics this visit

MagpiesNestOakHill#10

it was not hard to take a dozen photos of just one monument, with so many special views

MagpiesNestOakHill#6

there seemed to be a bit of an obelisk competition … we were not especially drawn to those

MagpiesNestOakHill#14we would enjoy seeing the inside of this chapel one day

MagpiesNestOakHill#15 the Spencer family angel stone

MagpiesNestOakHill#13

lastly for today is the angel Dorothy

enjoy these FREEBIES…it would be lovely to see what you create with my photos

Calling All Angels oxo

speaking of Freebies…October will mark my second blogaversary…be on the lookout for a giveaway 🙂



15 responses to “Angel may care …

  1. you know that when I return, I will be all over this post and I will be sending you a little something! xo
    gorgeous!!! pix! thank you!!!!

    Like

  2. Love these angels!!!!

    Like

  3. Oh, Patty these photos are just beautiful. I will use some of them and thank you. The images remind me of winter and always look wonderful in canvas art work.

    Like

  4. odd as it sounds, I love cemeteries. They’re so interesting and beautiful.

    and the obelisc competition just made me chuckle. Men : )

    Like

  5. You should make notecards with these. I love em.

    Like

  6. Like you, I love shooting at cemeteries and this one is very special. Angel for Dorothy is absolutely exquisite. Lovely photos — thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. Patty, thanks for letting me come along on this cemetery walk with you. I LOVE your photographs, and I love wandering through old cemeteries…and I usually take my camera with me too 🙂

    Like

  8. Patty, thank you for the tour AND the freebies! I adore old statuary, and some of your pics are outstanding. Hugs, Terri

    Like

  9. Wonderful photos. That chapel would be fun to see. Love thoise old headstones.

    Like

  10. Thank you Patty…these are wonderful photos. I especially like Dorothy.

    Like

  11. I did not know that you enjoyed photography as well!! Some of the pictures are really timeless. I think cemeteries ( during daytime) have a very serene and peaceful ambience…a place where can sit and think for hours.

    Like

  12. Oh PATTY! These are fabulous photos. Thank you, thank you, thank YOU! I cannot wait to do something with them IF life ever slows down a bit. If not, I’ll put on the life emergency brake, bring things to a screeching halt, and play with these photos! Ha!

    Like

  13. Beautiful photos Patty, I wish I was viewing them on the main computer instead of this ancient laptop though – its so slow. I’m stuck in bed here today with terrible back pains – just happened so quickly last night and in agony here.

    This looks like a beautiful cemetery, all angels are beautiful but I absolutely love ‘Dorothy’.

    Ali xoxo

    Like

  14. Oh my word what stunning photos , I love pictures like these , thank you for sharing them x

    Like

  15. thanks so much, Patty, for sharing your gorgeous photos, as well as the charming vintage postcards! They will be a treasure to work with. Have safe travels and a wonderful time on your trip! When I looked at the doodles, at first I thought that was a store-bought napkin…until I saw the pen! You are one amazing lady, dear friend!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

