stuffed to the gills

this lovely matchbox arrived all the way from Kansas!


tucked inside a sweet velveteen drawstring purse


Elizabeth of Altered Book Lover and I were partners for Pat McNally’s stuffed matchbox swap …  each letter of “Patty’s Secret Stash” was hand stamped and I must admit I am impressed … I was wondering what special font Elizabeth used … alphabet stamps intimidate me just a little

just look at the treasures Elizabeth tucked into one small matchbox!!! each and every bit is really special

a lovely sewing machine charm with thoughts of Mr Magpie getting my sewing machine repaired … an elephant charm … did I say SO MANY sweet treasures!!!

the stamps say “temptress” and “lover” … aren’t they just perfect!    it was a bit of a challenge getting everything to fit back into the matchbox … Elizabeth is an expert packer!

she has done a lovely blog post here

oh and Elizabeth also sent me some exotic white tea … Bai MuDan with Pomegrante which I look forward to trying very soon!

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

here is what I put together for Elizabeth

the matchbox was not decorated by me … I picked it up at the Blacksburg Farmer’s Market … Birdsong Farm knows an artist that hand paints the bee skep matchboxes for them … each one a little different


I wonder if Kimmie knew what she was starting by sharing her excitement about The International League of Stuffed Matchboxes … many thanks to Pat of Ooglebloops for hosting this matchbox swap and to Elizabeth for such a lovely trade … I am getting a sweet collection of stuffed matchboxes  thanks to thoughtful and generous friends 🙂

*footnote: the matchbox measures

1-7/16 x 2-1/8 x 1/2 inch*


14 responses to “stuffed to the gills

  1. What an amazing swap Patty, they really are tiny boxes of treasure, beautiful Mx

    Like

  2. These are terrific. It certainly takes some talent and very careful packing to assemble these. I loved looking at everything.

    Like

  3. Patty
    this swap looks soooo fun! you have some wonderful embellishments to play with! 🙂

    Like

  4. She did a great job!! Can’t wait to see the others from my swap – mail-by date is coming soon!!!!

    Like

  5. This is very cool! What a treasure!

    Like

  6. what fun!! I love the bits! and “your from a distance” piece is softly beautiful! xo

    Like

  7. Patty,

    Thanks for the amazing write-up of our swap and all the lovely goodies you sent. It was so much fun and I’ll cherish it always. The photos you took, even though they are not enlarging, are so amazing. People can actually see the details on the tiny elephant and read the letters on the rubber stamps. They can also see all the generous and wonderful goodies you sent me without getting a headache.

    You are such a tremendous artist and rubber stamper, I felt honored when you commented on my “stamping” skills. The alphabet I used is 3/16″ letters, each of which have a rectangle on the back that snaps into a little holder for stamping the individual letters. It was so sweet that you didn’t say anything about the “s” in “Patty’s” that I stamped upside down.

    Again, I am simply blown away by your camera, your photography skills, and the way you arranged and displayed everything. You made everything look so great!!

    Thanks for swapping with me and thanks to Pat for organizing this wonderful swap. I will cherish this swap forever.

    Like

  8. wow – just so cool! I can’t wait to finalize my exchange and get it posted too!

    Like

  9. ooo how ding dang fun is that??? wonderful little treasure boxes you two made!!

    Like

  10. Wow! It’s absolutely amazing that so many wonderful treasure got packed into such a tiny box! Fabulous swap! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  11. Oh, treasures really! Congrats for that :D!

    Like

  12. Your Matchbox you received is fabulous and what a lovely way to send it. And full of good things.
    Your Bee skeep box you sent is really fabulous too. I haven’t seen one of those curlers in ages. What fun.

    Like

  13. Wow! what lovely altered matchboxes of treasures!
    Fabby Swap!
    …cant wait to get mine swapped now! 🙂

    Jan x

    Like

  14. That must be a HUGE matchbox! I just dug some teeny ones out of my supply cupboard last night — you and Linda inspire me! Ornaments? Maybe. Maybe just matches? I don’t know — only that the road will be fun.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

