Sparkle Tea Tuesday

today I am enjoying a cup of hazelnut coffee in my Sparkle mug … soy hazelnut creamer too … ummm Love hazelnut everything!

(the red Waechtersbach platter is from my friend Michelle … the snowman on the windowsill is made of wool by my friend Judy Post … the green foil wrapped goodie is a flimmersterne (two half rounds of foil wrapped chocolate around a wonderful golden frill … you can get a better look by clicking for the closeup…lots of gorgeous snow still outside the kitchen window too)

and what about those mice …  I wanted to share a special cookie recipe with you … a tradition in our family since the late 80’s when I first spotted the recipe in the pull out cookie section of a Woman’s Day Magazine (1986) … young and old seem to be delighted by these tasty Almond Cookie Mice … always a big hit in the children’s classrooms


cute with a cheese platter (here is a piece of  Mt Tam triple cream cheese topped with fruits, nuts and fig jam … ummm) the mouse cookies liven up any cookie tray assortment as well … they take a little extra time to make, but are so worth it

Recipe Note: I used to use currents for the eyes instead of cut up raisins … now I use mini chocolate bits (pointy side in)

Happy T Tuesday … do join Kimmie for a cuppa whatever you like

feel free to join in the fun … create a post on Tuesdays (no rules just right) … come and play … the more the merrier

fa la la la la … la la la laaaa

must share a footnote with you … the cookie mice in my photos are from last year (not for eating just for looks) …. I made a double batch last year and sometimes they are just too cute to eat … amazing that they still look as good as new tucked away in a tin all year, guess there is enough sugar in them to preserve them 😉


Almond Cookie Mice
INGREDIENTS:

1 Cup Butter or Margarine, at room temperature
1 Cup Packed Light Brown Sugar
1 Large Egg
2 teaspoons Almond Extract
1 teaspoon Vanilla
3 1/2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
Peanut Halves
Coarsely Chopped Raisins
Red Licorice Laces, cut in 3-inch lengths INSTRUCTIONS:

Beat butter and sugar in a large bowl with electric mixer until fluffy. Beat in egg and extracts. Gradually beat in flour until blended. Dough will be stiff. Cover and refrigerate 1 hour or until well chilled.

Heat oven to 325 degrees. Shape rounded tablespoonful of dough into 1 1/4-inch ball. Taper each ball at one end into a teardrop shape; press one side flat. Place flat sides down 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Press in sides of balls to raise backs of mice . (They spread slightly as they bake.) With a wooden pick make a 1-inch deep hole at tail end (round end). Gently push 2 peanut halves in each for ears and 2 pieces of raisins for eyes.

Bake 9 to 12 minutes until bottoms are lightly browned. Remove to rack; insert licorice tails; cool completely

“Not a mouse stirring” ~William Shakespeare (1564-1616)

18 responses to “Sparkle Tea Tuesday

  1. Mmmmm hazelnut coffee,
    sounds soooo nice!
    …and with almond mice 🙂
    a perfect sparkle T for a snow filled day!!

    Jan x

    Like

  2. Just joining you with a redbush tea and a home-made mince pie!
    Love the idea of almond mice biscuits with chocolate eyes….I will keep that recipe; thank you Patty.
    Linda x 🙂
    Ahhh…didn’t need to google flimmersterne after all, lol !!!

    Like

  3. Happy Sparkle Day to you, gentle soul! Love your cookie recipe and love them little micees… Just took bread out of the oven so my humble abode is smelling cozy!

    Like

  4. The first things I saw when I looked at the first photo were the mice. I’m so glad you elaborated on these, because they are SO cute.

    The second thing I saw was the darling little country tree. It would go nicely in my tree collection.

    The third thing I saw was the snow, still bright and beautiful through your window.

    Only then did I see the cup of hazelnut coffee. Talk about what’s important in a photo or layout! Of course, my eyes were distracted by mice and trees, so coffee was the last thing on my mind. You did a beautiful job of displaying the coffee today. I always look forward to seeing how you will show your tea.

    Like

  5. very sweet mice !

    Still no snow here sadly- freezing fog forecast tonight.

    Had a lovely cuppa made by my son after I dog walked & delivered Christmas cards with my daughter.

    Like

  6. Merry Christmas Patty! It looks like a winter wonderland out your window! Thank you for the mice recipe – they will be a cute addition to our gingerbread house 🙂

    Hugs today! Kimmie

    Like

  7. Finally had a chance to sit and enjoy my after dinner cup of English Breakfast tea when what to my wondering eyes should appear, but almond mice cookies with eyes that are so dear! TFS the recipe, sweet Patty! These cookies are adorable! More hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  8. And, I thought I was the only mouse hiding in your place. Cookies are just too cute. Thanks for the recipe. Your decorations are wonderful. And, coffee sounds good.

    Like

  9. These sound wonderful!!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I can’t believe your snow is still there… well, okay maybe I can! Lucky you!!! Merry Christmas…again..

    Like

  10. Ooh, hazelnut coffee with an almond mouse on the side! Luxury!!!!
    What a lovely scene…… a very happy Christmas to you and yours and best wishes for a peaceful and healthy new year xx

    Like

  11. Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a Happy Healthy New Year!

    Big hugs to you,
    Gaby

    Like

  12. COOKIE MICE??!!!! How fun and yummy is that?!!! I will soooooooo make these. Thank you for sharing.

    Wishing you love and joy, my friend, for happiest of days ahead and all the joy your heart can hold.

    Thinking of you ~ xoxoxo Rella

    Like

  13. Oh the mouse cookies are the greatest!!! Hey! You could make bird cookies…… hmmm. I may have to work on that!

    Like

  14. Happy Tea and holiday to you and your family Patty, thank you now and always for sharing your talents, art, recipes and love. xoxo Christen

    Like

  15. I am finally catching up on all of your posts here for December and I love each and every one. What a delightful day after Christmas surprise to see you have posted your famous cookie mice recipe! I am sending it off to all the family. Some of my girls remember those cookies from over the years, thanks for the memories Patty. Love You, Lennie

    Like

  16. This spread is gorgeous!!! I love the colors and how you layered with your stamps. I’m thrilled for you to have worked in this book as much as you have. It will be such a treasure for many Christmases to come. Hope your family had a wonderful celebration.
    Hugs,
    Autumn Clark

    Like

  17. What a lovely view, to see snow outside your window…….Thanks for the recipe, Patty….

    Like

  18. Wow, what great pictures you have here :). It just screams christmas.

    Seeing the mice took me right back to my own childhood. We used to make those too, but in chocolate. We would use those silver ball candies for eyes. It was always perfect for school bake sales, and sold fast every time.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

