Winter … season of imagination

my digital camera is no longer speaking to our photo organizer/sizer/whatever it’s called, for no apparent reason today, so I tried scanning these recent journal pages instead of taking photos like I usually would … waiting for my technical support to come home to help me out

Patty Szymkowicz Winter art journal pages

I have to laugh at myself just a little … part of the holdup on me learning new technology seems to be the lingo … that said … I have signed up for DJ Pettitt’s online Photoshop class, Memories and Manipulations (sign up ends 4 Jan 10)

I am very excited and hopeful … the only way for me to go with Photoshop is up



15 responses to “Winter … season of imagination

  1. Patty; I think your scan is amazing! Love this spread! Again; terrific images and your journaling is wonderful! xxoo Enjoy the Photoshop class!

    Like

  2. That class looks amazing – I am jealous – but you will learn lots of cool things!!! Hopefully it will be given again -!!!!!!

    Like

  3. You journal so well. At least you can read your hand writing, unlike someone I know (and it’s not Bleubeard). I’m curious about the “frame” or border on this piece. Is is some Golden heavy medium or hot glue? My bet is, if it were me, it would be hot glue, but since it’s you, you probably wouldn’t add hot glue to your journal.

    One of my resolutions this year is to play in Photoshop. I am in awe of you taking the plunge.

    This morning I got an e-mail pointing me to an on-line manual for my camera. I have not had time to study it properly, but at least I can now point to all those little icons on the LCD monitor (I learned that is what the visual viewer is called) and tell you what they mean. I still have no idea how to change them, but it’s BABY steps, baby. I so had to empathize with you. The lingo (and silly little icons) indeed!!

    Like

  4. An interesting piece which speaks volumes….. My feeling is – if what lies beneath doesn’t kill ya, then you can live through anything. Reminds of the SyFy channel, i.e. Tip # 34, if it growls like a lion and lives under your house, run…. Also feel the same about photoshop… I play with it but don’t want to give up the time to learn it. Best of luck and I know you will be a genius at it as you are with all your art and heart! *wink*

    Like

  5. Quite a thoughtful and evocative journal page, Patty. Kudos for the scanning job! Nicely done! I, too, have been thinking of signing up for the very same class. Since the clock is “ticking, ticking, ticking”, I’d better make up my mind soon! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  6. Patty, I’m impressed! Are you going to do a journal for each month?
    Go on! You know you want to! lol

    Like

  7. What a beautiful page this is, Patty!!! Happy New Year!!

    Like

  8. Beautiful pages again. You seem filing up very fast on your this journal album.
    I’m still wonder whether to take DJ’s class 🙂

    Like

  9. Love your blue spread, beautiful! Good luck with your PS class 🙂

    Like

  10. Lovely pages. Your images are fabulous . Help I am even more tech challenged. I hope you enjoy the class. I am sure you will do famously.

    Like

  11. Gosh, Patty, this spread is incredibly beautiful and evocative! Look out when you get PS under your belt! I so want to take a class but can’t sit at the main computer (must deal with this little notebook), I must have torn a muscle in the thigh of my surgery leg, so I still have to be careful…but I have promised myself to get going on PS in 2010. NOVA offers a class, too, but may not keep it in their catalog for much longer from what I’ve heard. Happy New Year, Patty, to you and yours…really looking forward to your art in 2010!

    Like

  12. I love it. An elegantly beautiful piece.

    Like

  13. oh my, I love your heart. we both did broken hearts for Dec. … and kind of frozen. sorry it took me so long to get out and see it! but I love your pages. we are both acknowledging what is and looking forward to joy and love!
    Happy New Year dear Patty! I wish you richest blessings! xox

    Like

  14. What beautiful pages, Patty! Will you sit by me in class?

    Like

  15. Patty Dear! Have pulled myself away from the cook, cook, dishes, cook some more, clean, dishes routine for a spell to enjoy some blog viewing time. I was thrilled that you mentioned the online Photoshop class. My payment has been made, my intentions for being a model student are strong, and with any luck the follow through will surpass anything I’ve ever experienced before in life! Ha!

    Your recent creations are so inspiring. Very beautifully composed! Thanks for being such a fun inspiration….
    xo
    Sue

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

