Steampunk: Aquatic Toy

Steampunk is something I have wanted to try for some time now … the lovely and talented Martina chose it for the Gothic Arches challenge this week


the duck images are from Karen at the Graphics Fairy, who continues to delight blogland with her fantastic free images … the great German numbers at the bottom a surprise gift from Trina


the odd embellishments are mostly from my father in law’s cigar box of treasures … some of them rusted to perfection … I also added a bit of wool for texture and to fill in the blanks on the sides of the gentleman

steampunk-toy

fun to finally give “steampunk” a whirl

41 responses to “Steampunk: Aquatic Toy

  1. Oh, My, Patty, Oh, My…. I love it. I have yet to “steam punk” anything but you are inspiring me. I am eyeing and coveting the rusty stuff. Hmmm, what to steampunk….. LOL…. Wonderful eye candy!

    Like

  2. That is just fabulous!.. love the rusty bits!

    Like

  3. I love each inch of this work !

    Like

  4. Holy…!!! Wow Patty! And I had to go past Alice to get here… love Alice too! You keep on amazing me! Have a lovely weekend dear!

    Like

  5. VERY cool! I love squished and rusty bottlecaps. Your arch is perfection!

    Like

  6. And WOW, what a fabulous steampunk arch you have created!

    Like

  7. he better watch out with those tweezers.. hope he got his tetanus jab.. awesome art.. maybe you might like to receive a handmade cross stitch xmas card from me this oct. if yes, swap on my blog .. regards.P

    Like

  8. AWWWWESOME Patty!!! You’ve got me thoroughly inspired by this piece. My hubby’s cigar box is full of Habanos and not a bit of rust in sight – his tool box on the other hand…. lol
    Debs x

    Like

  9. This is great Patty! Love the masculine feel of this; I need to do more of that. The touches and composition of this – just fantastic! Love it! xxoo

    Like

  10. This is great. You accomplish so much. I feel I’ve said all of the above before to you?????

    Like

  11. PATTY !!!!!!!!!!! OMG what a stunning Steampunk arch. Your work is inspired, unique and facinating. Love it.

    Have a wonderful weekend my friend.

    Like

  12. Love your steampunk arch 🙂

    Like

  13. I’ve got to find out more about this steampunk thing. Never heard that term. But it’s very cool — how wonderful to use your dad’s treasures!

    Like

  14. I can’t believe you have never done a Steampunk before, this is outstanding Patty!!!!!!

    Like

  15. Wow! This is soooo cool!! Thanks for sharing. Happy week-end.

    Like

  16. cooooool!!! a fabulous arch! i love how it has family bits in it too!!!

    Like

  17. This is FABULOUS,Patty. You’ve tried it now like I have, and YOU should do moooore! 🙂

    Like

  18. I’ve been wanting to try Steampunk for awhile, now. In fact, I was going to do one for my collage giveaway, but couldn’t find the right images. Great and wonderful arch.

    Like

  19. Patty you not only tried Steampunk you nailed it. This is fabulous. I just love it.

    Like

  20. Patty, your steampunk arch is breathtaking:-)
    It knocked my socks off:-) How incredibly beautiful!…
    Have a wonderful weekend my friend.
    Love
    MARTINA

    Like

  21. Really cool, Patty. Your really are a very versatile artist.

    Like

  22. Love it! Good job. I am attracted to the combinations that include rust.

    Like

  23. You seem to be a natural! Love the rusty bottle cap…

    Like

  24. pure perfection!
    the mood here…
    I could look at it for ages.
    as with all your works – every detail is delicious.
    and the ducks… – brilliant!!!

    Like

  25. You did a great job with it. Isn’t it fun? I spent the day scanning some steampunk images from 1890s newspapers. I can’t wait to play with them! I love the tweezers.

    Like

  26. Hi Patty,
    This is fabulous!! You really nailed the steampunk look with this piece. This is one of my favorite trends right now! I’m so glad you found such a wonderful use for that funny duck!
    Hugs,
    Karen

    Like

  27. Patty, this is awesome!!!!! I feel so inspired to venture into this right now!!

    Like

  28. ooh, I *love* steampuk and your is truly awesome!! 🙂

    Like

  29. oooh Patty , im wanting to try this tooo, i love your tweezers, great card!!

    Like

  30. simply a GORGEOUS steampunk arch!!!

    Like

  31. Awesome! The tone on tone of the sepia/ brown/rust tones create such a visually attractive, even soothing effect. Even more special is that you incorporated items from your father-in-law’s cigar box. I have a cigar box full of similar stuff from my grandfather and dad. Your inspiration is making my wheels turn….!

    Like

  32. Gorgeous and inventive steampunk arch!

    Like

  33. Patty, this is just FANTASTIC!

    Like

  34. You could have fooled me…can’t believe you’ve never done steampunk. This is a fabulous arch!

    Like

  35. This is just too cool for words! I LOVE it!

    Like

  36. This arch is amazing! All of the details you have added have made this such a special piece…I am so inspired!!
    Have a beautiful weekend~
    Hugs, Carol Anne

    Like

  37. Patty- love the FUnk that you put into PUnk! C

    Like

  38. I didn’t see it before, it’s fabulous!

    Like

  39. This is just too cool!! Love it!

    Like

  40. WOW, so cool! I absolutely love the hardware you used.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

