Dress Up – March * Jenny Wren *

time for Margaret’s March Dress Up

here is what I am calling my “Jenny Wren” strapless dress …

jennywren-strapless

rust colored silk stamped with permanent black ink for the bodice… the skirt is made with a piece of my favorite cotton bird fabric with robins and butterflies on it (I know … I have wrens on my mind, you’ll see why below) …  a bit of starry wire trim and a couple of tiny feathers at the waist … the idea for my March dress came about because I wanted to use one of the wire bird nests I created … you can double click the photo above for a closeup look


each spring little wrens like to build their nests in our garden … laying their wee eggs and then realizing it is not a good spot after all … they then get busy and start over in a new location …  I have collected a few tiny eggs and rescued a nest or two over the years … only after I was certain the nest was abandoned of course … that is what you see in the top photo

if you have a couple of minutes … have a listen to Sir Paul sing about his “Jenny Wren”

for instructions on how to make a wire nest you can click here

it is quick and easy … bet you can’t make just one 😉

“Keep your faith in beautiful things;
in the sun when it is hidden,
in the Spring when it is gone.”
–   Roy R. Gibson

50 responses to “Dress Up – March * Jenny Wren *

  1. Marilyn Rock

    Patty; this is SO beautiful! Love the fabric and that little nest is just precious! Have a joyous day! xxoo

    Like

  2. Wow – Patty, your fabric piece is amazing!! You make such a wonderful artwork, such a variety and very inspirational!!
    Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  3. It’s so cute! I’d love to wear it for next spring!

    Like

  4. i love everything about it! and i love wrens too! where did you ever find such fabulous birdie fabric? your little nest turned out perfectly! beautiful dress, patty

    Like

  5. OK, I’m totally jealous of your beautiful March dress. This is incredible, and the bird’s nest is icing on the cake (err, dress). I love your strapless wonder, now I’m curious as to how you will display it in your cute wardrobe.

    I am not sure I ever thanked you properly for encouraging me to play in Margaret’s dress up project, but I am eternally grateful to you. I have fallen in love with this project and can’t seem to wait for the next month to get here. Were it not for you, I would never have found it. And of course, all the blogs around the world who I have been exposed to. So, a big thank YOU today and every day.

    Like

  6. dot ferrero

    Patty…

    Where do you find wren’s nests? I think I have one in a cow’s skull hanging on the outside wall of the house.

    Love your couture..must try to fashion a tiny nest.

    Like

  7. This dress is incredible! Love that you left the frayed edges. Gives that Woodland Fairy/Mother Nature feel to it.

    Like

  8. oh yes!! love this post! your birdnest is fabulous and your darling dress is just stunning! the quote is
    going in the journal xoox thanks for the inspiration dear friend!!!

    Like

  9. Are you sure you’re not a fairy godmother??? Ohhhh, Patty, this little dress is an enchanted feather, from the stamped silk, to the starry wire and the teeney-tiny nest. Exquisite!!!! Thank you for the “smile” today! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  10. I, as could’ve been predicted, adore this dress! I love that it’s strapless!!!!

    Like

  11. This dress is spectacular! I have never seen anything like it. I love it, the material, the nest, the tiny feathers. WOW oh WOW. You done good, girl!

    Like

  12. Hi Patty–thank you so much for visiting my blog–and now I found yours and your WONDERFUL art work–beautiful, and I love this dress!

    Like

  13. Patty – this is delightful – I want one ! Dear little nests too

    Like

  14. truly FAB! you have soooooo much creativity that it’s a pleasure to just gaze at your works of art.

    hugs!

    Like

  15. This is so wonderfully creative! Just love it!

    Like

  16. This is so lovely! I love the nest and the fabric… How do I participate in making monthly dresses? I’m still in New York, not sure if I’ll be able to participate in tomorrow night’s tea party, but I’ll try.

    Like

  17. What a precious little dress, finished off perfectly with the (beautifully made) nest. Thank you for the excellent links and the lovely quote.
    XO

    Like

  18. beautiful dress! I too love the wrens, so quick and light. They make a nest every year in our pool cover. They are very dedicated birds. I love how they rush about. Thanks for the lovely post. Hopefully it will warm up your way soon. I saw the first Robin Saturday here.

    Like

  19. This is exquisite! How very creative and clever you are. Can’t wait to try one of the bird nests! Jamie V in MT

    Like

  20. Oh wow this is fantastic.
    Wonderful dress. Love the nest.

    Like

  21. This is just totally exquisite! I want a REAL dress like this!!! Thanks soooo much for the link to the birds nest charm…toooo cool. I betcha I can´t make just one either!!! omg…..I have such a stash of wire….all colors and thicknesses….oh joy oh joy…guess what I will be doing this week.
    Where are those “pink” pearls I have? Thanks for a great idea and a lovely post today. You never cease to inspire 🙂

    Like

  22. Adorable! Specially love the bird’s nest at the waist!

    Like

  23. WOW! so beautiful! I’m amazing!

    Like

  24. Patti ~
    The dress is so divine and the setting around it is heavenly! I love the little wrens and the nest!!! I cannot wait to make a nest! Thank you for directing us! Many Blessings for a happy Monday!

    Like

  25. This just beautiful Patti. Love it lots!

    Like

  26. Oh Patty, it’s a total delight!
    The birds nest with the eggs is just perfect 🙂

    I watched the Babies trailer , it looks a great documentary, but I can’t see it listed for UK showing yet.

    Happy creating
    love
    Gini
    xx

    Like

  27. Love your dress Patty, gorgeous fabric and the tiny birds eggs in the nest are the perfect detail, I still can’t quite bring myself to use mine, they are so prescious! Mx

    Like

  28. I’m in love…
    a m-a-s-t-e-r-p-i-e-c-e!!!
    I can’t find the right words so I will just say:
    thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  29. I love your March dress Patty, and I do believe I have a piece of your bird fabric 🙂 The wire nest, well WOW, that is just the perfect touch, I have always wanted to make one and maybe now I can, thank you for the link.

    Lovely presentation too with the real nest 🙂

    Like

  30. That is just wonderful! So imaginative and fun…

    🙂
    Thank you for sharing!
    ~Janee

    Like

  31. This is really lovely, the bird fabric is so delicate and I love the nest and eggs!

    Like

  32. nice colors! wonderful picture!

    Like

  33. Patty your dress is gorgeous. I would wear that. And your bird nest is fabulous. You are such a good nest builder.

    Like

  34. Patty I love everything about your dress, the fabric, the colors it’s so wonderful, and the little wire nest so sweet, a great spring dress.

    Like

  35. ooooh Patty, such a little dlight!!! I visisted yesterday but got involved with the you tube vid on making the nest[ they are really cool] and forgot to come back! Its just gorgeous , love the printed top fabric too….jenxo

    Like

  36. I keep coming back to this dress.
    magnetic…
    the most incredible March haute couture chez Alice & Camilla….!

    Like

  37. Love your dress with the birds nest… so spring!

    Like

  38. oh Patti this is truly a divine piece of art. Just when I think your creations can’t get any more delightful you share this wonderful dress. So totally gorgeous in every way and what an amazing little birds nest you’ve decorated such fabulous fabric with… Wow x 3
    hugs
    Chris xx

    Like

  39. How did I miss this? It’s very beautiful!

    Like

  40. lovely creation!!!.magical spring:))

    Like

  41. Your dress is beautiful – and so beautifully presented too. Love that little nest, great touch.

    Like

  42. Thank you for the comment left on my site I really appreciate it. Your dress is amazing the fabric is beautiful I will be visiting your site often. Thanks for sharing so much information on your web page.

    Like

  43. Wow, Gorgeous dress, and such adorable birdie fabric!!…and the cute little nest is a fabby touch!! Love it!!

    Jan x

    Like

  44. Pingback: nest charms giveaway « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  45. oh Patty, I think this dress is so gorgeous….you know I have a thing for your little nests anyway…I love the name and I adore the dress…I just finished mine, better late than never!

    Like

  46. I just love this dress Patty, and the nest is charming, what lucky winners there will be to receive something so precious! Christen

    Like

  47. Pingback: Dress Up – April « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  48. i’m in awe over this gorgeous creation!
    the bitty nest with eggs is incredible!
    great job!

    Like

  49. Pingback: nesting … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  50. Pingback: put a bird nest on it… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

