Craft Imaginarium: Irish Tea

there is a new monthly challenge blog I found out about on Eliza’s blog … this month’s theme is all about “tea”

it has been a while since I altered a piece of cutlery … my tea spoon was hammered flat and the  holes were drilled by Mr Magpie

Magpie's Nest Irish-tea-spoon-closeup

some old earrings and glass beads …the little girl is from Paper Whimsy


the ‘netting’ bags are from Mighty Leaf tea bags that I slit open after several cups of tea … I save tea bags … what fun to finally find a use  for some

Magpie's Nest Irish-tea-spoon

*you can double click for the closeup*

be sure and visit the Craft Imaginarium for challenge details and have a look at some wonderfully creative art!

#80 “Bread and water can so easily be toast and tea” ~Unknown from the “365 Things Every Tea Lover Should Know” … thank you Judy P

34 responses to “Craft Imaginarium: Irish Tea

  1. sending art love to Mr. Magpie, the man is worth his weight in gold!! love your adorable little spoon, you are so clever!! xoxox

    Like

  2. OMG – let me say it again, Oh My God….. I am blown away by your post and your art work and I too want Mr. Magpie – just to borrow – I’ll send him home after he drills a few holes for me around the ole homestead….. You done so good on this – as you always do – why should I be surprised each and everytime I read you blog? Love it – and the quote to boot.

    You made my Friday! Thank you and hugs (since I am of a certain age I can’t really say, “Thank you and huggies” – it insinuates things that aren’t true, really, really,) ….. OK, I’m losing it, back to the old folks home… hugs,

    Like

  3. The spoon is adorable. I love how you did it up and the bow is pure genius. That little girl is so cute and she looks great with the frilly/beady glam around her.

    Like

  4. Love your beautiful spoon! And thanks for the link, sounds like an interesting challenge site 🙂

    Like

  5. Oooh, Patty, this is wonderful. Very cute girl und a great idea.

    Have also a lovely weekend.

    Rosie

    Like

  6. Patty, thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog today. I really appreciate it and I’m soooo proud!:) By the way, I don’t speak German at all:) And my English is very poor yet.
    Thanks for joining us on craft-imaginarium. Your spoon is absolutely stunning!

    Like

  7. Wonderful spoon!

    Like

  8. Love you cutting tea bags open and using them. I COULD DO THAT!!!! I, too, need Mr. Magpie to come by for awhile. You have an advantage there ya know!!!!

    Like

  9. What a great piece of art! Nice to have such a handy Mr. Magpie!

    Like

  10. I just wish you could bottle your creativity and share. A lovely piece.

    Like

  11. Well if this isn’t the most gorgeous spoon with tea and an adorable little girl. Patty this is the best use of a tea bag. You and that Muse are at it again .

    Like

  12. This is just adorable, Patty. Beautiful!

    Like

  13. Gosh what a darling idea and sweet piece. Lovely design. Love them.

    Have a wonderful weekend my friend.

    Like

  14. Thank you so much for participating in our challenge – your teaspoon is lovely indeed, and what a clever way to use the tea theme and materials!

    Like

  15. magical as always!
    I’ve always had this thought that tea bags could serve as a great art supply.
    (I tried putting texts and images inside but I couldn’t see them properly. I thought tea bags would be more see-through. maybe I should experiment more ’cause this is idea keeps haunting me)
    thank you SOOO much for joining our challenge!
    come again! we’ll be honored.

    Like

  16. Your altered teaspoon is charming, Patty. I always love opening the door to your blog. It seems as though there’s always something imaginative and creative. Love that Mr. Magpie gave you a helping hand. I had Mr. Pringle drilling holes in some wooden tiles for handmade charms. Sometimes every artist needs a guy with a drill standing beside her! LOL! Happy Weekend! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  17. Love your altered spoon, gorgeous!!!

    Like

  18. Patty, I love your teaspoon. What a great use for the tea bag! I love everything about it.

    Like

  19. This is really lovely. I like that the spoon is hammered flat, as well as how you save your tea bags! Genius!

    Like

  20. I so love how you alter cutlery and your spoon is outstanding! Quote #80 was my favorite from that whole little booklet on tea, happy to read it again here.

    Like

  21. Thanks for the link – I might have to create a little tea doodad!! Love your spoon – always handy to have a guy with tools close by!!! LOL

    Like

  22. Hi Patty,
    I will never look at a used teabag in the same light again.

    fab spoon and I am soooo very lucky as I have one of your gorgeous spoon art pieces.

    Grandson went to see AIW on Friday he is 16 and thought it sooo funny.

    Have a great Sunday

    chriss x

    Like

  23. Those are some pretty fancy tea bags, m’dear. In fact, I’ve never even heard of this tea, but then, I live in a wasteland!

    Love Mr. Magpie. Would you ask him what kind of drill bit he used, because I can’t seem to get any to penetrate my spoons. The bits just skip right off the metal. I think they must be forged rather than forks (grin).

    Love the spoon and all the glitz, too. I’ll have to check out the monthly challenge blog, especially if I get to make something like this.

    Like

  24. I really love your altered cutlery, it’s totally gorgeous! x

    Like

  25. Dein Löffel ist ja genial liebe Patty 🙂 Schöne Woche dir. l.G. Alexandra

    Like

  26. Love your altered cutlery, I missed them!

    Like

  27. The altered spooon is fabulous – brings back memories of ABAA…….

    Like

  28. I love this one also;o)

    Like

  29. I love your teaspoon !
    Gorgeous !

    Like

  30. Pingback: Christmas Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  31. Pingback: the life of a teabag… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  32. Pingback: Second on the 2nd for June…Irish Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  33. Stunning piece!!! I’ve always wanted to try this. Is it hard to get the drill through the spoon? ~Sophia

    Like

  34. Thank you Sophia ~

    Silver and silver plate are the easiest to work with.
    It sometimes helps to take a center punch and make a dent,
    that gives the drill a starting place. Clamping it down is also helpful so you can hold the drill with two hands.

    Mr Magpie tells me a drill press is the easiest way.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

