Moments like these …

with Love and gratitude to the sweet lady with the wicker pram

… my beautiful Mutti …

a young thing in Feldkirchen, Germany … some years ago now

that is me …  tucked into the carriage for what looks like a nice long ride 😉

becoming a mother myself has been a true adventure of the heart… helping me understand my parents a little better

… our three boys are such a gift …

there was a time when I wondered how my broken heart could go on beating

there are no words to truly express my deep deep gratitude for each and every moment I have had with each of our boys

when you are in the middle of raising young children it can seem so intense and all consuming … then before you know it those days are behind you … had I known how quickly it would all go … I would have definitely kept better notes 🙂

~* Mother’s Day Blessings to mothers both present and absent *~

warmest wishes to all

oxoxo

footnote: we are headed over the river (Potomac) and through the woods for a very special visit with my Mutti

Hundreds of dewdrops to greet the dawn,
Hundreds of bees in the purple clover,
Hundreds of butterflies on the lawn,
But only one mother the wide world over.
~George Cooper

*Footnote: I am submitting this post for Ana’s Friday Archive Dive theme of Mom little did I know that this would be my last Mother’s Day with my precious Mom…life is so fragile…so sweet and so mysterious…*

32 responses to “Moments like these …

  1. So true Patti..always find this day is both a blessing and a heartache.. great card.. and beautiful photo.. have a loverly day..xoxo

    Like

  2. Hi Patty,
    your card is wonderful. Lovely picture of your Mutti. Have a wonderful Mothersday.

    Rosie

    Like

  3. Marilyn Rock

    Beautiful post Patty! Happy Mother’s Day to you and may your fond memories of your Mutti – keep you feeling and knowing how loved you were and are. xxoo

    Like

  4. Have a happy Mother’s Day Patty. Lovely bittersweet post.

    Like

  5. Wishing YOu a Lovely Mother’s Day. You’re making memories today and every day! Love you, Lennie

    Like

  6. Before I had children I never quite understood why my mum was always worried about us, always trying to make sure we were safe and happy. Now I do … and feel deep gratitude towards her. To be a mum is both wonderful and terrible at the same time. Happy Mother’s Day to you and your mum, have a lovely day.

    Like

  7. Beautiful work and lovely sentiment in your post. Happy Mothers day! x

    Like

  8. Happy Mother’s Day to you …. it is so funny how we all realize, as we grow older, the beauty of taking the those notes! May your day be glorious! hugs,

    Like

  9. I know you are going to have a wonderful day! Love this post…. Yes, the days are long… but the years are short.

    Like

  10. I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful day with your beloved Mutti. Oh, how gorgeous she was in your ‘baby’ picture!!! This is such a special day. Whether it holds laughter or tears of remembrance, it’s a day that’s filled with lots of warm, sweet love. Happy Mother’s Day, Patty! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  11. such a lovely card and I love it how you arranged the flowers around it.

    my boy is just 19 months old but every single day I look at him and I think about how wonderful it is to have him in my life. I try to remember about it even when I’m tired or angry.

    and yes, the worrying part never ends, does it? 🙂

    Like

  12. Happy Mother’s day! I know it will be wonderful and I cannot wait to hear about it! sending love and hugs to you dear Patty! muah!!

    Like

  13. Very beautiful and touching, Patty…thanks for sharing…Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

  14. patty – what an amazing card to remember your mother on the past days. looks simply gorgeous!!!
    and it’s true time flies so fast … yesterday the kids was small an cute and suddenly now they are adult an life their own life. 🙂
    have a nice sunday!

    highs
    katrin

    Like

  15. Oh wow so wonderful card. I love them.

    Happy mothers day for you.

    Like

  16. Happy Mother’s Day Patty! Lovely card! ~k

    Like

  17. Hope you have had a good day Patty. How interesting to find out that you were born in Germany. I love blogland, there are so many great people to meet. I’m glad I found your blog.

    Like

  18. Such a beautiful and heartfelt post Patty! I’ve missed you, but I was soooo busy last week(s) I hardly know I’m alive… not much blogvisits for me lately, sorry… but NOW I’M CATCHIN’ UP and I’m glad to always know that you are still here… thanks for lifting my spirit. Thanks. Thanks.

    Like

  19. May God bless and keep us all in his loving embrace.. we were so fortunate to know a loving Mother’s embrace and faith. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  20. Over the river and through the woods to Mutti´s house we go….hope it was a wonderful visit. I just love your blog….really, you inspire us with your artwork as well as your thoughts…very few take the time. I just love reading it, looking at your art, reading the quotes….just wonderful.
    Thanks so much for a highlight in my day.
    True, we really do understand our parents better once we have our own children. I just told my mom that last week 🙂

    Like

  21. What a lovely tribute to your Mutti. Hope your day was fantastic. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too.

    Like

  22. Happy Mother’s Day dearest Patty! I hope your little getaway to visit your Mutti is filled with joy and sweet memories in the making! You are very very special Mom and an inspiration to me 🙂

    Like

  23. a truly beautiful post Patty, wishing you a very Happy Mothers Day…jenxo

    Like

  24. Happy Mother’s Day to you Pattie! Hope it is filled with love!

    Like

  25. Beautiful post!

    Like

  26. Patty, you said: “when you are in the middle of raising young children it can seem so intense and all consuming … then before you know it those days are behind you … had I known how quickly it would all go … I would have definitely kept better notes”
    I couldn’t agree more!!! Your mother’s day tribute is really beautiful. Hope you had a great time with your mother. Mine has been gone 10 years and every week I think up something else I wish I had asked about.

    Like

  27. How lovely Patty hope you had a wonderful day with Mutti

    Like

  28. I’m back again this morning to re-visit your Mother’s Day tribute and love your choice of photos of you in the wicker pram with your Mom and then you in your element as a Mom! You’ve come full circle! Love from Lennie

    Like

  29. Thinking of you dear Patty………I hope you and your mum had a special day together .
    Hugs
    Linda x

    Like

  30. Patti.
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I still don’t know how to write an answer and have it come to your address…must be that Entourage I can’t figure out.

    I actually remember my mom reading that poem to me about “only one mother.” She loved poetry.

    Did you grow up in Germany? Are you bi-lingual?

    Hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  31. I loved everything about this post– the pic of your Mutti, the flower, the wonderful one of your family. Wow!

    Like

  32. Very special, Patty. Such words of wisdom…

    I also wish I would have had a better camera to capture all the details of those early years.

    Priceless photos you’ve shared…

    xo, Sue

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

