a Swan Dream…

the lovely and very talented Sue of My Arts Desire and I recently swapped altered kitchen size (approx 5″ x 2.75″) match boxes …

I was immediately charmed when this package arrived from Sue…

the layers of her Bobolink bird tag are so special…under the lovely lace she added a piece of river birch bark from a tree in her garden …soft like suede…

the unveiling was such a treat … look at the swan tape she used…need to find out more about that…

Sue is a master of wrapping and packaging … and a collector of the finest ingredients…vintage bits of this and that…trims all the way from India…

isn’t this exquisite … it takes my breath away … reminding me of a Fabergé creation with the crystals and rhinestones that she wove around the precious swan image…

BIG WOW…

I caught myself gasping at every turn … really…

the touch of turquoise millinery with a velvet leaf no less … silver heart … delicate clock face with three perfect touches of bling …

oohing and aahing…trying to remember to take photos along the way… precious ingredients…

no surface left unadorned …isn’t her handwriting pretty and special too…

and as if the gorgeous lined box was not enough … tucked inside were THE most wonderful things … I adore Forget-me-nots … see the button…vintage hat pins…pink paper roses that remind me of one of my favorite rosebushes…The Fairy Rose…along with more lovely trims from India…

Sue even sent me this gauzey bag with an amazing array of Indian postage stamps…goodies from India were mailed to her in that bag…now if that doesn’t stir your wanderlust…

but wait … there is more…don’t want you to miss a thing…

I have a confession to make…last year for my birthday Sue sent me THE most amazing big box of delights …a sweet surprise beyond my wildest dreams…I was feeling challenged keeping up during that time of year and never posted about it and really did want to share her thoughtfulness … I feel that one person’s kindness is a gift to many even if they are not the actual recipient … there are people we meet … be it a virtual connection …that have an impact… touching our lives … teaching us about goodness…generosity…kindness and caring … supporting and inspiring us all along the way with their creativity and grace …

sharing here with you all … is a way to pass these good feelings  along … thank you SO much dear Sue you inspire me again and again … I continue to be amazed at the beautiful bridge that blogging builds  oxo

Sue did a lovely post about our swap here…she’s a real doll

30 responses to “a Swan Dream…

  1. Loved each and every single piece in here, but my FAV is the cover with her handwriting, beautifully done.

    Like

  2. A beautiful bridge indeed – I too never cease to be amazed and gratified at the kindness to be found among bloggers. You certainly received wondrous treasures!!

    Like

  3. That is incredible! And, yes, Sue is such a wonderful, giving person! You have been truly blessed by her!

    Like

  4. Marilyn J. Rock

    Patty; WOW! This is jaw-droppingly stunning! Each and every detail and I, too, love the cover with Sue’s handwriting. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. Beautiful! Have a joyous weekend! xxoo

    Like

  5. These small works of art are fabulous! I’m amazed that all of this was in one kitchen match box! Such generosity!

    Like

  6. That is an amazing work of heart Patty! You are loved, far and wide 🙂

    Like

  7. A stunning gift from a beautiful friend loving your Swan Pieces

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  8. Oh Patty…! You sweetheart, you! You make me sound better than I am, and I LOVE YOU FOR THAT!!! This was such a fun swap and if I wasn’t running around in circles biting my tail, I’d have a post up as well on the outrageously wonderful package you sent my way. HOPEFULLY this weekend mine will go up. Your thoughtful ways and kind heart are the most treasured tools any artist could ever hope to acquire. Thank you for always being such a bright and encouraging light in the land of blog not only to me, but to everyone you touch with your heart and your art! Xo, Sue

    Like

  9. Ohhhhh, My!!!! How Lovely!!! I’m drooling at all of the treasures in this beautiful post, Patty. Sue is talented AND generous! Thank you for sharing your wonderful goodies. Hugs, Terri xoxox

    Like

  10. Oh my goodness Patty – this is stunning and it all is sooo you! Sue knows you inside out! I’m sure you’ll do beautiful things with all this delightful goodies!! Enjoy!

    Like

  11. oh Patty, what a stunning treasure. The workmanship, colors and all the beautiful little details are just beautiful….i am just blown away as no doubt you were!! what a lovely thoughtful blogger friend!

    Like

  12. just beautiful ad you so deserve it, I am off to check out your link! xo

    Like

  13. Wow! Amazing goodies!

    Like

  14. What a fun bunch of goodies! The bag with the postage is so cool! I guess I haven’t grown up either…like a kid and the cardboard box their toy came in…more fun than the toy itself…

    Like

  15. Wow, wow and wow.
    How beautiful, Patty. What a treasure you recieved. The mailman must be working overtime to bring good things!!!!
    xoxo
    lynn

    Like

  16. that is some very happy mail to receive, wonderful artwork and treasures (:

    (and on a totally unrelated note, funny how studying history of design changes the way you see stuff. I see lots of victorian elements here ;p)

    Like

  17. You’re lucky:))
    what a treasure!!:))
    a happy weekend for you too:))
    xox

    Like

  18. Beautiful in every way, you girls had a fun swap 🙂

    Like

  19. oh wow, Patty, these are sooo beautiful and yes very precious indeed….enjoy!!!

    Like

  20. What an amazing gift to have received!

    Like

  21. Hiya honey~
    That is a box full of great things, awesome swap. I would love to do more swaps. Enjoy each and every piece in there.
    xo

    Like

  22. Oh, Patty,
    What a beautiful gift. Sue sounds like an incredibly generous person and she is a WOW of an artist. I cannot believe all the surprises and treats contained in that one matchbox! You must have been just dazzled. I do agree with your thought that is is a gift to us all. Wise and true, my friend!
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  23. Oh how totally divine and dreamy. You must have had such fun unwrapping those layers of goodies.

    Like

  24. PS… I do feel we make a connection through Blogging – sometimes very special ones ( Like you ) I missed my blogging friends while I was away ( but had a good break from the computer too ! )
    A blogger remarked on my photos so I answered, “well I took them for you” ! They are for you dear Blog friends and you were in my thoughts when I took them.
    I was speaking to a friend who corresponds with soldiers serving in Afghanistan. She’s English & they are American. They email but call each other pen pals like in the good old days when we did have pen friends ( I did ) She must be a comfort to them and a link with the outside word while their own is so distressing.

    Like

  25. Oh wow wow wow what a dream. So wonderful pieces.
    So wonderful goodies.
    Love them all.

    Happy Halloween to you and yours my friend.

    Like

  26. whoa….fabulous fotos of beauty….love the swans!!

    Like

  27. I love everything I see here, thanks for sharing;o)

    Like

  28. Sue knows exactly what you like and this bigger sized matchbox holds so many wonders and delights. Wonder how you’ll use those goodies from India and the stamps are wowsers, too.

    Like

  29. You really do the best swaps! Time consuming ones, too, but the results are worth it!

    Like

  30. What a beautiful box! And filled with wonderful things too!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

