Dress Up – November * Tree of Life

amazing that we are at the eleventh dress in Margaret’s year long Dress Up challenge already …

I was inspired by a favorite artist … Gustav Klimt … his style is so distinctive…

here is my Mindy doll wearing her newest “tree of life” dress …

I even had the perfect piece of colorful bling to accent the gold ribbon at her waistline …

I sketched the tree design on 140 lb watercolor paper that was lightly washed with walnut ink …working with different paints and metallic markers …going back again and again adding pencil lines…the final Klimt touch was of course GOLD … I find the Krylon pens can be a bit tricky … first they do not want to flow and all of a sudden you can end up with a blop of ink on your page … I added the gold touches with great caution …

I decided not to alter Mindy’s trunk … it has such a great old patina to it…the little doll trunk and paper doll are not related in any way…Mindy was an 8 inch (20.32 cm) tall doll from the 1950’s that I cannot seem to find a picture of to show you on the internet … my paper doll measures about 10 inches (25.4 cm) tall … in December I will show you all of the dresses in one post…if you’d like to see dresses from past months there is a search feature on my sidebar … near the top is a blank space under the words “Looking for Something” … type in a word or two and related posts on my blogblogblog will come up…I find that to be a handy tool…

“All theory, dear friend, is gray, but the golden tree of life springs ever green.” ~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe 1749-1832



36 responses to “Dress Up – November * Tree of Life

  1. Her November dress is beautiful! This has been such a great swap! I have enjoyed seeing it each month! And, yes, those Krylon pens can’t be trusted…but I do love them!

    Like

  2. Oh Patty, I LOVE the tree of life dress, love the dolly, and the bling is perfect with all! Well Done.

    Like

  3. Love the dress and the whole idea, I think I will do some myself for next year!

    Like

  4. Mindy is perfect in her Klimt….every girl likes some gold! Wonderful as always Patti!

    Like

  5. Klimt would LOVE your tribute, Patty! And leave it to you to find the perfect little embellishment to trim the sash! What a lovely couture collection!!! Hugs, Terri xoxox

    Like

  6. Patty, I adore your Mindy doll and her Klimtdress is exquisite! Lovely artwork (as always) my dear friend!
    Have a wonderful week!
    Hugs and kisses
    MARTINA

    Like

  7. Oh wow this is lovely.
    So wonderful dress give her. Lovely collection.

    Like

  8. This has to be the best dressed paper doll in the whole world. Love the Klimtesque tree…and of course, the Goethe quote….

    Like

  9. Hei Patty! So beautiful dress! Love the dolly too!
    Hugs
    Oxana

    Like

  10. What a glorieus and lively Klimt-dress Patty! I used to be more of a “silvery” girl but as I get older, I appreciate golden touches and I adore your dress! Yes, please, it would be nice to see all the dresses in one post! I will wait patiently for that post!

    Like

  11. Your Klimt inspired dress is gorgeous Patty ( great minds think alike – I’ve not made mine yet but it’s inspired by something I saw in Barceona )
    Your paper doll models her lovely new dress perfectly .

    Like

  12. This is a gorgeous dress. Such a great Klimt inspired theme, and it looks good on your adorable paper doll. What a happy accident in finding all these pieces and all of them fitting together so well. I would not decorate the trunk, either. It is already decorated with age!!

    Like

  13. That’s a lovely dress! Perfect touch with the bling 🙂

    Like

  14. What an artistic mother you are – Miss Mindy is the best dressed doll around!!
    How can you bear to stop making these dresses come the end of 2010 ??

    Like

  15. wonderful! I did thought “Klimt!” when I saw it, you captured his style so well. Loving all the golden accents too : )

    Like

  16. She certainly is a beauty Patty 🙂
    Hard to believe you have almost done a year of dresses.

    Like

  17. Du hast soviele tolle Bilder gemacht Patty, sie sind alle super klasse und dein kleines Minikleidchen looks sooooo pretty.
    Have a nice week my dear.
    Hugs Alexandra

    Like

  18. Mindy has such a sweet face and her dress is perfect for her. Paper dolls are fun!

    Like

  19. Oh I love it! Margaret’s Mozart, your Klimt! I love mixing “art” into “art.” Does that make sense?
    Great stuff! I really like the gold!
    Angela

    Like

  20. How cute the trunk and the little lady go so well together!
    the dress is beautiful , the sparkly jewels are just right .

    Like

  21. Patty,
    I love Klimt and Mindy’s new dress! I am embarrassed that I haven’t gotten your giftie off to you. I am overwhelmed with Silver Bella and decided I wanted to decorate your envelope so hopefully it will be off tomorrow!
    Big hugs, sweetie!
    Suz

    Like

  22. I, too, am an admirer of Klimt. Checked out a biography from Warrenton library. He certainly led an exotic life and was quite a lady’s man. I like the dreamlike quality of his work.

    Like

  23. I love your Tree of Life dress. Sorry I missed it before. I feel like I am really struggling now to get all my dresses done but after seeing your Klimt inspired dress and Penny’s dress inspired by Degas I might travel down that path and see what forms in my brain ( hopefully something ). Thank you for the inspiration.

    Like

  24. Mindy looks adorable in her klimt dress, i lov eth patterns and colors you used….loverly dress Patty…

    Like

  25. Another awesome dress Patty 🙂
    Love your klimt inspired creation!
    Jan x

    Like

  26. Love the newest fashion release…as always! The touch of bling was just perfect for this piece! Gustav’s art is way ahead of his time from what I viewed! Loved the lady that sold for $135 mil. And Krylon pens make me nuts…if the fumes don’t get you the frustration level of “blobs” do…and yet, I still buy them.

    Like

  27. Another darling dress. It’s even more sweet on your doll.

    Like

  28. Gorgeous dress Patty!! I love your November theme and the gold is such a fab touch! I’m still in pursuit of the perfect gold pen, there’s such a difference in the quality of colour.
    Your trunk is perfect as it is I’m so pleased Mindy came along at just the right time! lucky gal with her ready made wardrobe packed full!! Mxx

    Like

  29. Very Klimty indeed! I can see why you so enjoy the dress up challenge!

    Like

  30. Beautiful Klimt inspired dress! Love your trunk too. Hasn’t this project been fun – look forward to seeing all your dress together next month.

    Like

  31. It’s a lovely dress and you had a doll for it too !
    Love to see you at my challenge – http://angsandy.blogspot.com/2010/11/sandys-challenge-1.html

    Like

  32. I am so behind on these! I need to get busy!

    Like

  33. I love her dress, and the bling looks vintage? Thanks for telling us how you’ve done this little work of art!

    Like

  34. This is so fantastic! I love-love-love this! Fantastic job, Patty!

    Like

  35. Pingback: Six Players: Tree of Life…remembering Gina Wise | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

