mystery music…can you name this tune?

on our recent jaunt to the Blacksburg area we visited a couple of our favorite antique and junk shoppes…

these are just a few of the sweet little things we discovered…the Usher pin with the hands shaking is a favorite of mine and Mr Magpie spotted a few tiny swans that we couldn’t pass up…

among them was this little jewelry box for just one dollar …. wondering what the snaps on the top held at one time … the music part works and the ballerina twirls…but what IS that song?


Mr Magpie made a little video so you can hear it … you can also hear the tinkling of our angel fountain in the background … I hoped some one out there might recognize the tune … we have not a clue what it is…

I now have two pretty ballerina music boxes … too bad this one doesn’t play music … had to have it anyway…

*footnote: the talented Nigel of Freebird’s Flights of Fancy has solved the music mystery … here is what he said:

“The music is Brahms: Waltz No’ 15”

MANY thanks to Nigel … what a Prince!*

be sure and pop by my 3rd anniversary giveaway if you haven’t had a chance to visit that post

26 responses to “mystery music…can you name this tune?

  1. wowee what a good bunch of goodies!! no clue on the tune but your box is delightful…love the hands too

    Like

  2. Love your “finds” Patty! I would have picked some of those very same things! And I think I had a jewelry box similar to that one but I cannot tell you the tune. Have a very beautiful and pleasant Sunday! Blessings ~ kt

    Like

  3. No clue on the tune! But then again I am not someone you should ever choose to be on your team for “name that tune”! I may know every word to a song but often couldn’t tell you the title or who sings it! Oh such a wild confession!!!! However, I ADORE the treasures you found. I’m seeing great possibilities for many of them to one day appear in one of your beautifully composed backyard vignettes. Sometimes I think half the fun of bringing home little prizes like these is that they become sweet rememberances of that particular getaway. That usher pin…drool. So unique! Xo, Sue

    Like

  4. I can hum the rest of it – but for the life of me, can’t come up with the title!!!! Thanks – that’s gonna bug me all day!!! GReat finds!

    Like

  5. Another fun day finding vintage things….nope, never heard the tune.
    I had a ballerina box when I was little but THREW IT AWAY later in life………….oh my gosh,,,what was I THINKING!!!! Have a nice rest of your Sunday ……

    Like

  6. I wish I could tell you the name of the tune, I’ve heard it before but too long ago and maybe I didn’t ever know it’s name!
    Please enlighten me Patty, what is an Usher pin?
    You see we miss out on certain things down these parts of the world!!
    They’re all such treasures that you brought home – it’s so lovely how “things” move from hands to hands now, I think everythings useful in it’s own way!!!
    Have a lovely week, I’m just off for my daily walk, it’s warm but there’s a very light drizzle which I don’t mind at all! I’ll meet with all my canine friends in the park and hear what they’ve been up to overnight!!

    Like

  7. Oh I love music boxes! I have no idea what the music is though. Hey lady! My muse is back! Wanna trade a couple of steam punk ATCs? Pop over to my blog….

    Like

  8. I, too, am in love with that usher pin! And what a thrill to come home with more swans for your treasured collection, Patty. Holy Cow! I found myself humming along, but unfortunately, I don’t know the name of the song either! Now it’ll bug me all day!!! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  9. don’t have a clue! Sounds like a fun day tho!

    Like

  10. Fantastic pieces you’ve picked up along the way. I’d love to have a shop like that around here.

    The music is Brahms: Waltz No’ 15

    Like

  11. Fanatastic finds Patti! I went “junkin” today too, hope to post later!

    I looooove that pin, and the hands, oh…everything! I even picked up a really
    great , a bit pricey tea cup today, hoping to join in on Tea Tuesday! You are always a positive force and great inspiration!

    Like

  12. there must have been a ballerina on top!
    and i can not believe it was 3 yrs ago you started…. do you remember how much we used to email?

    Like

  13. Definitely good, sweet junk! Love it!

    Like

  14. well done nigel!

    you found some more little swans for your collection. and that usher pin is so interesting, i like the shaking hands, as well as the porcelain hands on the right (what do you think that was for?). i’m sure you know, and can relate, just how much our hands can express, through words and art and gestures and touch.

    hope you had a lovely weekend!

    Like

  15. oh! i clicked on “ana in canada” in your sidebar, wondering what a coincidence…and suprised to see where that linked to! lol … thank you! xo

    Like

  16. What such sweet and interesting finds 🙂
    I love all your new treasures!
    TFS
    Jan x

    Like

  17. What wonderful treasures from Blacksburg! Nigel deserves a prize for naming that tune! Seriously! I too could easily hum the familiar tune, but didn’t know the name of it. I think someone once had words to it also. HMMM.

    Like

  18. Nigel you are the greatest at name that tune, now listen to this version:

    Like

  19. This is a beautiful rendition and I Love these hands on the keyboard

    Like

  20. What fantastic treasures! The music box is so lovely as is the Brahms tune…I learned it a long time ago, doubt I could play two notes today!

    Like

  21. Beautiful! And how wonderful to have our questions answered by our blog loved one!

    Like

  22. what a fun post Patty, loved hearing the videos in the comments too! your usher pin is just fabulous and I got one similar to that, to use for my new jewelry line… xox

    Like

  23. Nope! no idea my dear! Love the spotty skirt tho! she is so fab! wish I could twirl like that… Mxx

    Like

  24. Oh, I so enjoyed your friend that posted the piano player and the Brahms tune!!!!
    Those swans are to die for, Patty. They should come and meet my doggie friends that I found last week!!
    xoxo
    lynn

    Like

  25. oh how lovely. beautiful Waltz and lots of lovely goodies

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  26. Wunderschöne Schätze meine Liebe!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

