cherish

lovely the power that a single word can have…
thanks to Halle for sharing that cleaning her sewing machine got it up and running again…Mr Magpie took a look at my machine…and sure enough dust bunnies were everywhere… after a little cleaning I am back in business and have been busy stitching postcards and hearts…

my mostly fabric postcard was stitched onto a 4 x 6″ piece of watercolor paper using an assortment of fabrics…rickrack…book text…vintage lace and the image printed on cotton…I combine sewing and light gluing...

don’t those red buttons look like candy…

“I have come to understand that every day is something to cherish.”  ~Kerri Strug

**remember the gorgeous clay arch pendant I won over at Diva Designs recently…wait until you see Lynda’s latest giveaway…it IS wonderful…***

we got our first “real” snow of the season last night…

it blew in sideways…heavy wet snow bending some tree branches to the ground…there was even thunder…

27 responses to “cherish

  1. I love the red piece. The buttons do look like candy !
    Wasn’t that snow AND lightening odd – never seen the two together before. Hope you are snug and warm.

    Like

  2. Wild winter isn’t it Patty? I have to comment, though, I love that photo you took of the trees and snow; very active yet artistic at same time! Also; your heart postcard is absolutely stunning! Love it! Stay warm and safe!

    xxoo Marilyn

    Like

  3. That Thunder-Sleet-Storm was something else. A real Wowser. Patty, I love the red buttons, lace and rickrack, amazing and Lovely shade of red and hasn’t it kept it’s color well.

    Like

  4. love your red everything here! so happy to hear that your dear machine (maybe she needs a name so she feels the love) is up and running again…mr. magpie is a genius! i hope your trees are okay with their heavy winter coat! woweee i think you got some SNOW!

    Like

  5. it is a wild winter we still don’t have BIG snow, we have been left out of winter, we are averaging 50 degree weather! very weird… but I am not complaining mind you!! Farmers A. said it would be mild here.. they are always right! I hope your trees will be alright, stay cozy dear one!

    Like

  6. Your postcard is absolutely gorgeous !!!

    Like

  7. We didn’t get the thunder – only 6-8″ of fat, fluffy snow over an icy base!!!! If I can slide the 2.8 miles to the main road, I may get to the PO today!!!LOL

    Like

  8. Oh, and I love your postcard – forgot to write the most important part!!!LOL

    Like

  9. LOVE your postcard, red buttons, and your photo of the snow is fantastic! I took annual leave today to play and grow a rust garden! Hugs, girlfriend

    Like

  10. Oh I love your postcard!!!! Awesome! Good to hear you got your machine going. I just put a new one on layaway – can’t wait to bring her home! Wow! The snow is fabulous! We’re still waiting to get a decent amount. The most we’ve had is 3″ – this part of Colorado is in a drought.

    Like

  11. The the material PC and the buttons always look like candy in a glass jar to me, lol

    Lots of SNOW! I hear there was a huge storm and some up to 10 feet of snow and will be digging all day ( I personally would leave it and turn the heating up and craft lol

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  12. Lovely, lovely card. So bright and cheery! And I also love your red button collection! Yes, looks good enough to eat!

    Your snow photo is amazing. A still shot of a snow globe. 😉

    Stay warm and cozy! “Cherish” these snow days!

    Like

  13. How awesome. I learned I have to clean mine after every sewing session. I also oil it then, too. You have given me an idea, too. Since I love to sew, I think your postcards are ideal. Yes, the buttons look like candy!

    That snow is amazing. I’ve NEVER heard of snow and thunder before. Talk about a freak winter. Not nearly as bad as last winter for you, though.

    Like

  14. I love your postcard! Why is it that I want to make everything you make? Now I just want to run into the other room and make a postcard like that. I think I have ADD. Never realized that….. Love the snow picture. We have SUN.

    Like

  15. Love your heart felt creations!!!

    Like

  16. Eeeckkk… I’ve seen enough snow last month… I’m longing for sunshine and walking barefoot… I hope you stay warm and cozy dear! LOVE your fabric card! How do you print on fabric? I only do transfers on fabric – doesn’t the printer get stuck with fabric in it?

    Like

  17. Lovely postcards, Patti…
    I can imagine from your description it must have been quite a storm….
    Take Care..

    Like

  18. As always, such fun details in your creations, Patty! That image you used is just the best. That jar of buttons is awesome. I also esp. enjoyed your backdrop of the old rag rug. Those were a “staple” in our home growing up.

    What a snowstorm…love that shot you captured against the dark sky. Happy sewing to you now that the dust bunnies have been sent hopping…who knew?… and if I hear of one more place I’m supposed to clean………..ha!

    Like

  19. Patty…hint, hint…come visit my blog…somethin’ for ya! xo natalea

    Like

  20. Ravishing “red”!!! Always makes my heart sing!!! Just the ticket for a cold winter’s day, Patty! Your postcard is fabulous. I’m sure the lucky recipient will treasure your beautiful work.

    We had snow too — at least another 16″ of the white stuff. We’ve really been in the snow target this year!!! Stay warm and safe! Hugs, Terri xoxox

    Like

  21. Beautiful creation and snow! I think I’ll go look for my old sewing machine too! Blessings, ~ Katie ❤

    Like

  22. Gorgeous postcard Patty & your photo of the snow is lovely

    Like

  23. Snow and thunder are pretty common here in CO in the Spring…but it does make you stop in your tracks! We’ve even had sunshine during the mix!
    Gosh, you have had your share this year, haven’t you? It is pretty, but enough is enough! Maybe your Spring will be gloriously warm!
    LOVE LOVE LOVE your valentine creation. The buttons (or is that ‘candy’) are the perfect touch. When I saw your post name (CHERISH) it made me think of the song from the late ’60’s! My first boyfriend ~ it was ‘our song’. Ok, I didn’t stay with him very long, but the song always makes me wonder what ever became of him. Funny….when I met my hubby, I wouldn’t let him listen to it on the radio! We had our own song!!! Glad Mr Magpie got the machine running again for you. Those dust bunnies!

    Like

  24. beautiful beautiful red postcards Patty…..heard about all your snow, seems the extremes of weather are all over the world….

    a good clean does wonders , so glad its working so we can see the gorgeous stuff you are making..:)

    Like

  25. So glad your sewing machine is working again! Those darn bunnies are a pain!
    Lovely postcard and the snow picture is snow much fun…hehehe

    Like

  26. You are always up to the most beautiful of things. Your snowy tea party is the tops! Love this cherish piece. xx

    Like

  27. Love your snow photo!

    And cherish — one of my favorite words.

    I’m coveting your red button collection. Spent all day making valentines and was wishing I had red ones! I found other stuff… (see the current rule I made in my other comment!)

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

