sakura tea

sakura is Japanese for cherry blossom

it is that time of year again in our nation’s capital to enjoy the gift of 3,000 young cherry trees…

more than a dozen different varieties…

a most generous gesture of friendship from Japan to the United States back in 1912…

the gifts that keep on giving…

delighting visitors that live near or travel far…

almost everyone is carrying a camera…

OK maybe not the joggers…

this makes the third year in a row we’ve made the trip into the city to see the cherry blossoms do their thing around the Tidal Basin…

we decided that it was too good to take for granted…

it’s easy to do that when things are close by…

the Thomas Jefferson Memorial has been under construction for a while now involving a huge project of vital repairs to the seawall to help keep the monument from sinking…

last years Cherry Blossom Festival was jam packed with visitors in t-shirts and shorts…

we got hot and thirsty…

what a difference a year makes…

it was chilly willy this year…

we got up bright and early to find there had been a dusting of snow over night…

Mr Magpie spotted a perfect clump of snow caught on this old tree trunk above some blossoms…

much colder weather meant good parking and fewer people to dodge…

some hardy souls were actually out in the paddle boats

we had the fun idea of bringing a tea cup and saucer along…

and couldn’t help but notice people taking photographs of us taking tea cup and blossom pictures…

too funny…

a Japanese lady said in her sweet accent with a beautiful smile …”very good idea”…

we thought so too …

in fact we have some ideas for our traveling tea cup

more on that in future posts 😉 …

wishing each of you a Happy T Tuesday

be sure and visit the other T Tuesday blogs over at Kimmie’s Mr Linky list…just click on the Happy T Tuesday above…

all are welcome to join in…

tea or coffee…

whatever you fancy…

“No winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn.”
–  Hal Borland

51 responses to “sakura tea

  1. What a beautiful photo’s, Patty. And so apropriate: I just finished Memoirs of a geisha, by Arthur Golden. Lovely book.

    Like

  2. Wow…. such beautiful photo’s Patty and a touch of snow too!
    Doesn’t make me feel so bad that we still have the ground covered in it and not a sign of green !
    Hugs, Amy

    Like

  3. Love blossom my vary favourite, lovely photos
    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  4. This is an annual post I look forward to each year…I love this…the cherry blossoms are so pretty….Happy Happy T Tuesday to you dear friend!!! Keep warm…

    Like

  5. Beautiful post Patty, a teacup of blossom – what a lovely idea. Your photographs are fabulous. Thank you. Pen x

    Like

  6. oh you can’t accuse me of being suspenseful! 😉

    such beautiful photos. i really like the one of the blossom and the little patch of snow.

    Like

  7. What a fantastical idea, a traveling tea cup! Love it! I am so enjoying my cuppa coffee with your post this morning. I feel as though I’ve been there with you and Jimmy! Thank you for the journey and I’m still cozy and warm.

    Like

  8. Really enjoyed this post. I have always wanted to see the cheery trees there and yes, we do take our own surroundings for granted sometimes. Every now and then I play tourist in my local area.
    Love the idea of the traveling tea cup. Look forward to more tea days with you.

    Like

  9. What a lovely post. Yep, I’m like the Japanese lady. I think it’s the perfect addition to the cherry blossoms. I had snow this morning, but it certainly didn’t include the lovely scenes you presented us with today.

    And now you have me curious about the traveling cup and saucer. Have a super Tea Tuesday, dear Patty.

    Like

  10. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful photos Patty, and for taking us to this beautiful place! It has been so long since I have visited, and I missed it, and your inspiration! Hugs!

    Like

  11. Oh Wow!! You live that close to DC?! We vacationed there (my one and only time so far) six years ago in early March and were just ahead of the blossoms. It was so cold and I was pregnant with my now five year old. I cannot tell you how much we loved this vacation (except the cold) Our other four kids (and one was only four years old) devoured every bit of it. The history was palpable. I would go again in a heartbeat. Thanks for the memory jog for me!

    Like

  12. Breathtaking photos, Patty! Enjoyed them very much.

    Like

  13. oh I love your post and I plan on visiting sometime, in fact Mr La Dolce Vita and I just talked about a visit to DC on Sunday, and when I do, we have to get together ok? gorgeous photos, and love the sango cup and your interaction with Japanese visitors… lovely tea day with you dear one… xo

    Like

  14. Patty, your photographs are fabulous!!!
    happy spring:))
    xox
    Guriana:))

    Like

  15. FANTastic!!!! Love, love, LOVE the idea of a traveling teacup, Patty! I can see you and Mr. Magpie placing this in so many settings on your journeys. The cherry blossom pics are outstanding. I’ve never been to Washington during the festival and can only imagine this stunning display. So much more meaningful in light of current events . . . . . Blessings & Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  16. Those are some gorgeous photos of those cherry trees as well as a wonderful looking tea cup. What a fantastic T on T you have shared with us today, Thank you!
    ~Dawn

    Like

  17. Yup, leave it to you – another great idea – a traveling teacup!!!! All us tea partiers should do that one week!!! Of course, you will have the most beautiful locales in your shots!!!!

    Like

  18. Beautiful photos! I really enjoyed the close-ups of the blossoms.

    Like

  19. Beautiful. I love these pictures. And………ONLY YOU would think to take a tea cup. I love that about you.

    Like

  20. Drop dead GORGEOUS photos, Patty.And I was thinking, “she took a teacup with her?!” and yes, you explained that you did. What a riot, Patty. Mr. MP totally indulges you. I love how people were taking pictures of YOU taking picures. They were probably thinking, “I am SO going to blog about this!” The Japanses lady was a bit of divine serendipity. So sweet.

    I can’t wait to see where your teacup travels next! Brilliant idea!

    Like

  21. Cherry blossoms, they really are the most wonderful vision of spring in their abundance and I love that you took the tea cup and saucer with you, what fabulous photos!! Thank you for sharing your trip.

    Like

  22. I love cherry tree blossoms and the photos you took were gorgeous! I felt like I was walking around with you. And it is a perfect place to unwind and appreciate all the beauty with a good cup of tea. Thank you for the wonderful tour and cup of tea.

    Like

  23. You take the most unique and amazing photos of some of the most simple subjects and turn them into art! It’s amazing! I so enjoyed this photo trail and tea time with you. And super score on the swap from Halle! WOWZA!!! ;0
    xx,
    Autumn Clark

    Like

  24. Patty, I love your post, such beautiful photos! I too, love to visit D.C. this time of year, but did not make it this time. I love the photo with the snow still on the tree. Your idea of putting your tea cup in the photos is fab!
    Beautiful!
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

  25. A traveling teacup! That is the best, Patty…!!! Sort of like Flat Stanley only in 3D form. Leave it to you! Can’t wait to see where that trail will lead. Now about those pictures…oh my. Brilliant shots…the composition is incredibly artful. I couldn’t choose a favorite…several times viewing them…very special. And to think that almost 100 years later here we are still enjoying this beautiful gesture from Japan. One more reason in a list of many to support them in their time of need. Thank you for sharing this special event! Xo, Sue

    Like

  26. Thank so much for sharing these beautiful images – Spring – God’s promise of renewal! I think we are ALL looking forward to this! xoxo Karen

    Like

  27. Absolutely gorgeous images! What a glorious sight to see on a crisp cool day. I bet all those people thought ya’ll were famous folk having a photo shoot for a magazine or something. Ha! Best wishes, Tammy

    Like

  28. Back in the day there was a Revlon lipstick called “Cherries in the Snow.” That popped into my mind when I saw the gorgeous photo of the little patch on snow on the trunk.

    Like

  29. Patty what beautiful photos you have taken…love the tea cup. I had no idea these cherry trees existed..how beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  30. The traveling teacup – it sounds like a book title! I can’t wait to see the photo’s of the cup on a journey…. LOVE the blossom photos! Really beautiful, and worth a trip!

    Like

  31. Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing ;o)

    Like

  32. Oh, Patty,
    What a beautiful idea. The Japanese woman was right! I am amazed there was snow. I know that last year was a year for snow in Washington, DC but I didn’t know that this year was, as well. I think of Washington as “the South.”
    I love the quote you chose. As beautiful as your lovely pictures!
    Hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  33. Fran Podlesney

    I’m thinking a “Flat Tea Cup” idea here! Lovely pictures! TFS
    Fran

    Like

  34. Amy McDonald

    oh wow. Pretty.
    Very pretty, and yes. very good idea.
    You know what you just reminded me of? When we lived in Vandenberg (only for a teeny bit) there was a tulip festival i think… was it tulips? hmm, I’ll have to check because it was long ago – look my point is that if it was Tulips, then Vandenberg is like the tulip capitol of the world… I don’t remember the bulb – only that it wasn’t my favorite, but it was neat.
    Not as neat as the cherry blossoms, but neat.
    Your pictures are always sigh worthy.
    Xx,
    Amy

    Like

  35. Beautiful photo’s and a lovely heart warming post as always.

    Over here spring bursts out in great explosions of gorgeous yellow, that truly lift the spirit after the greyness of winter.

    I’ll keep an eye out for a lonely wandering teacup 😉

    Like

  36. Lovely! Spring blossoms are a long way off for us I think – there’s still snow around and it’s still quite chilly. I live in hope though!!

    Like

  37. You capture the most gorgeous photos 🙂 and there is almost nothing sweeter that cherry blossoms! Happy T Day 🙂

    Like

  38. What a beautiful post Patty! I didn’t know the cherry trees were a gift back in 1912. Our history with Japan has been a complicated one. I hope we can prove our friendship through this current crisis they are in. If I could go there I would go tomorrow. Ahhhh.

    I love your traveling cup. So much more classy than a traveling garden gnome 🙂

    Like

  39. Such beauitful photos Patty, had to smile about your travelling cup, yes a very good idea! just lovely, Mx

    Like

  40. Wow, such wonderful photos, thanks for sharing this fantastic spring feeling.

    Like

  41. You smarties….bringing a tea cup with you.
    Such lovely photos that you took! And I thought that the blossoms would be more pink in color. They are white! Who knew?
    We hope to make it to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival one time in our lives. How georgeous.
    Thanks for sharing Patty. It brought a smile to my face indeed!

    Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  42. What fun for me! Nothing makes me homesick for our nation’s capital more than cherry blossoms. No other time is the area more beautiful. Patty, you captured it perfectly!

    Happy tea day.
    oxo

    Like

  43. How beautiful these photos are ~ I love cherry blossoms, what a wonderful reminder of Spring! And what an awesome friendship gift! Blessings, Katie

    Like

  44. thank you so much for bringing some very needed and longed for “spring” into my morning…your cup is beautiful and your photos gorgeous! one can almost smell the Love+liness…

    Like

  45. Oh Patty! Your photos are once again so beautiful of the cherry blossoms. Love that you brought a tea cup for a photo op.

    Like

  46. absolutely stunning photos Patty, i love the one of the blossoms framing the thomas jefferson memerial….

    Like

  47. Pingback: Bluebell Bliss…again and again | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  48. Pingback: Enchanted Bluebell Forest Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  49. Pingback: Spring has Sprung Tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  50. Pingback: Blossom Love… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  51. Pingback: Celebrating the gift of trees… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

