Bluebell Bliss…again and again

it is that magical time of year again here in Northern Virginia…

when the forest floor of the Bull Run Regional Park turns blue…

with Virginia Bluebells  (Mertensia virginica)…

as far as the eye can see…

they are like the Cherry Blossoms around the tidal basin in Wash DC…

blooming for a limited time each Spring…

and not to be missed if you can help it…

this year our Spring has been mostly cool and very wet…

which has helped extend the parade of blooms…

we have been lucky enough to visit six times already…

every trek into the forest is a new adventure…

it changes daily…

watching the progression and show put on by Mother Nature…

is pure delight…

the flowers could go on for another week…

weather permitting…

we have taken so many photos…

and still cannot wait to return to the woods…

39 responses to “Bluebell Bliss…again and again

  1. Marilyn Rock

    Beautiful bluebells! Thanks for sharing these gorgeous photos with us. I love the heart-shaped hole in the tree! xxoo

    Like

  2. ooo my goodness!! i would never tire of that scene either…sigh…thanks for sharing…did you bring home the golden feather?? lovely xo

    Like

  3. aww just love that bluebell carpet patty, thank you so much….the fungi look wonderful too….

    Like

  4. aah, what could be nicer. I get up, open my feeds… and I get a million flowers on my screen ❤

    I'd keep going there. Over and over. It must be such a delight to take a walk in the woods

    Like

  5. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! I want to see these……!!!!!!! Gorgeous shots of the bluebells…love all your reflective ones you’ve captured as well! Any “tubular” sightings?!!!

    Like

  6. Oh my goodness! Beautiful doesn’t even begin to describe it. The carved tree and the heart in the tree are very cool. I have to say that your very last photo even though there are no bluebells…is my favorite!

    Like

  7. Oh, so pretty Patty! The couple shadows are so sweet. I have one shadow picture of my husband and I. I’m glad you get to go often. We have an acreage and I used to walk it all the time, but the last years with the little girls coming along, I just couldn’t and then got out of the habit. I went a couple of weeks ago alone and it was peaceful and fulfilling. The heart in the tree is special too.

    Like

  8. Lovely photos Patty, I have some BB in my garden they’re not flowering as yet but I will take a photo when they do. This will be the first year I have had them and I am very much looking forward to it, this was inspired by a woodland walk as well, 1000s of them in the shade of the trees. I have a cherry tree in full blossom to protect them. Thank you so much for sharing your walk I enjoyed it so much. Love the photos of the trees my hubby loves the fungi he takes lots of photos of these he just loves them lol.

    love Dawn xx

    Like

  9. good gosh,,,everywhere you look a watercolor waiting to be painted…inspiring shots and what a fairytale forest…beautiful!!

    Like

  10. just beautiful. that photo of the two trees with your two shadows on it? so sweet. the bluebells are so pretty. the interesting tree trunks, the lone feather.. so much to see. i can see why you’ve been out so much. thanks for taking us on your walks through the enchanting woods.

    Like

  11. Incredibly beautiful Patti! These are the wonderful magical moment of life!
    Thank you for sharing these!

    Like

  12. Always enjoy your trip to the bluebells. I live for it thru your photos which are spectactular! Seriously, beautiful photos. xoxo

    Like

  13. Heavenly photos Patty. Your bluebells are so pretty. Ours won’t be ready for a week or two. I always think of them as my son Rowan’s flower as they are normally here around his birthday in May and he loves them too. I love seeing the shadows and reflections of you & Mr. M in your photos as well!
    Pen x

    Like

  14. OMGoodness it IS a very magickal looking place 🙂 how totally beautiful and your photos (I looked at the other ones too) are amazing!

    Like

  15. Oh my goodness, I do feel as though I have been traipsing thru the Bluebells this morning with you! Thanks for putting on such a great show. I Loved it.

    Like

  16. Patty, these photos are amazing ~ what treasures! I can see why you keep going back, it would seem that there’s something new to discover with each trip. The bluebells are charming! Thanks for sharing! xox Karen

    Like

  17. My jaws dropped, when i saw those photos. AMAZING, all those blue flowers in the woods. Oh how I wish to walk there! Your photo’s did take me on a ‘wood trip’ this evening though, I could almost smell the trees! The last photo really takes my breath away…

    Like

  18. this is such a pretty sight, it must be amazing seeing it in real, enjoy!
    xo Dymphie

    p.s. love the silhouettes on some of the photos too 🙂

    Like

  19. Soooo pretty! It’s almost like being there! Love the glimpses of you two, also!! And I see you took a tea cup!

    Like

  20. Gorgeous images xx our bluebells have just started to come out here in london too. What a beautiful feather..what bird is it from please? I collect bird feathers for my Art work but this one is out standing because of the gorgeous colours. What a great place yopu live in my friendxxlynda

    Like

  21. I look forward to this post besides the cherry blossoms in DC post….your photos are superb and they just makes me want to visit….perhaps someday….happy week to you my dear friend…

    Like

  22. Patty,
    That is so pretty! I never even knew such a thing existed. I love the change of colors. Your pictures are just yummy!
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  23. Oh Patty >…. I’m so envious !
    My last pile of snow just melted and if I squint REAL hard I can see some green buds !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hugs, Amy

    Like

  24. Sure brings back such fond memories from last year’s journey there…beautiful as always.

    Like

  25. Kathy Kristinnson

    Absolutely breathtaking.. you are so lucky to be able to visit so often and enjoy it.. thank you for sharing such beauty..
    Kath
    xx

    Like

  26. Glorious photos Patty!
    I’m still intrigued by how different your bluebells are from ours in England (I think we had this conversation last year 😉 )
    I think we have about another week to wait…
    xx

    Like

  27. Simply amazing photos, as always, Patty. The bluebells are wonderful. I’ve actually never seen any in person. EVER! So this is a real treat to be blessed with the photos you have chosen to share with us. Thank you for these and the other lovely photos from this post. They are heavenly.

    Like

  28. Oh you just transported me back to my childhood in the New Forest in England… the bluebells were so beautiful – as are your photos. Spring has sprung with you and what some glorious pics of the trees you have!!

    Like

  29. Oh, Patty, what a wonderful excursion. I don’t think we have bluebells here — wish we did. They are lovely!

    Like

  30. Amy McDonald

    omigod.

    okay,
    THIS
    is my favorite post that you have done.

    (that i’ve seen)

    !!!
    Amy

    Like

  31. Fabulous, Patty!! What a relaxing place. I would be there every day if I could!!!!
    xo
    lynn

    Like

  32. Oh how I wish I could be sitting right in the middle of those bluebells! They are so beautiful. We finally have crocuses (croc-eye?) blooming so spring must be here.

    Like

  33. Positively gorgeous photos…oh for it to get a little warmer here!

    Like

  34. This visit was magical. I find myself breathing it all in as if I were there, cares and worries melting away. thank you for the beauty.

    xox Rella

    Like

  35. Pingback: Tree Cup Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  36. Hi Patty! Your photos are gorgeous! And I see a gorgeous ribbon on the ground – surely you didn’t leave that behind?

    Like

  37. Pingback: Enchanted Bluebell Forest Tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  38. Pingback: Blossom Love… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  39. Pingback: The BIG Road Trip ~ Virginia [VA] | Marit's Paper World (blog)

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

