what do you see: the Whirling Durvish Sisters

another lovely smooshed kipper tin has returned to Virginia all the way from Carole in New Zealand…


the Whirling Durvish Sisters are wonderful with their flimmersterne background and bits of lace and decos…and a yoyo flower too…


isn’t my kipper tin book looking smashing…


it all started with these ingredients that I sent to everyone…

I was especially tickled with Carole’s theme because I actually got to see some real life whirling dervishes at Washington National Cathedral back in October 2009…a little more about that here


here is a short video if you’ve never seen or heard of them…

one more Queen Bee left…you know who you are ;)…

“We come spinning out of nothingness, scattering stars like dust” ~Rumi

***pop over and visit Halle…she’s celebrating her 4th bloagavesary with a lovely giveaway…no hoops to jump thru either***

28 responses to “what do you see: the Whirling Durvish Sisters

  1. Marilyn Rock

    Fascinating Patty! Thank you! The video was so helpful and I can see where this would be catchy! It’s so freeing and wonderful!

    Your kipper tin book is definitely looking smashing! Love it! Have a joyous weekend! xxoo

    Like

  2. OMG Love the tin and the video is very interesting. I’ve heard the term before just didn’t realize what it was.
    So I’m going to whirl my way into the kitchen to wash the floor!
    Hugs, Amy

    Like

  3. I heart the tin and loved the video. I have never knew that much about the whirling and loved the idea of one hand facing heaven and one hand facing the earth. I can see where it would be very spirtual. Carole tin is so special – as are all of them! Lucky girlie girl. hugs, m

    Like

  4. Hello, my friend! Love your tin!
    Have a nice weekend and take care!
    Many hugs from Norway!

    Like

  5. Oh wow Patty, that’s some treasure (and growing) Love it!

    Like

  6. Whirling dervises for real! Too funny!!! Your book looks lovely! x

    Like

  7. Kathy Kristinnson

    I love your kipper tin.. very cool.. what a great idea.. and I loved the video.. I didn’t know the meanings..
    have a lovely weekend..
    Kath
    xx

    Like

  8. Kipper Tin Eggs! And a Kipper Tin Tree!! I can see it now!
    I have always wanted to see whirling dervishes. This is almost as good as seeing them in real life!
    XO,
    Suz

    Like

  9. ….whirling dervishes….love those words together…sounds like something straight from a handbook on how to speak Yittish….or a good description of hyperactive children too! the dance would not nearly be as good without those flowing skirts. AND a resounding YES! Your kipper tin book is smashed and smashing! It will even be better when that fifth missing page shows up…! Xo, Sue

    Like

  10. whirling dervishes…love the sound of those words together! sounds like something in a book on how to speak Yittish, or a hyperactive child too! the dance of the whirling dervishes wouldn’t be nearly as impressive without the long flowing skirts…And a resounding YES! your kipper tin book is smashed and SMASHING. It will be even better when that fifth page shows up!!! Xo, Sue

    Like

  11. The Kipper Tin’s are wonderful….how different they all are. Smashing, indeed!

    The Whirling is facinating. I’ve seen it before but thought your video really tells the history behind it and the spiritual meaning. Now, if I attempted to so that, I do believe I’d be one sick girl!!! So, I’ll just observe!

    Have a lovely weekend. Sun’s out here and the wind seems to be calming down. Wonders will never cease!

    Hugs
    Jan

    Like

  12. Patty, the tin`s are great! Your unique art work is adorable!!!!
    Biggest Hugs,MARTINA. xoxx
    Happy Creating and a happy weekend my dear friend.

    Like

  13. what a wonderful idea and it looks so greatxxlucky uxxlynda

    Like

  14. forgot to say saw some “whirling ” when l lived in Dubia many years ago…very impressing.lynda

    Like

  15. Oh, to be a Queen Bee with such talent!!! Love this kipper book!!!

    Like

  16. i know we aren’t supposed to covet or envy, but the kippered tin book is really testing me….

    Like

  17. oooh what a fantabulous kipper nook, great page Carole….i love that it has some unity but everyones is different…

    Like

  18. When I first read that you had sent kipper tins to the Queen Bees, I wondered what was going on. I am now loving the ingeniousness of this project. Really love the pieces you sent everyone and how each of these tins is both a compliment to the whole, and could stand on their own. Love the concept and the project as it concludes. Hope to see Nathalie’s soon.

    Like

  19. These are amazing, Patty! From the beginning, we just knew these would be exceptional. I especially like how the “girls” keep popping up! What a great idea for a “book.” You are so very creative, dear Patty!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  20. How cool! I’m so amazed that you thought to send a smashed tin as your substrate and equally amazed at the outstanding pieces you’ve been receiving back!
    Thanks for the little promo at the end of you post as well. That was nice of you. 🙂
    Who ate all those kippers anyway? And how? Inquiring minds need to know.

    Like

  21. That Carole is clever! Great use of those multiplicified girls!
    Ah yes, I am lagging behind. But I will make the wait worth your while.

    And here I thought whirling dervishes were a reference to the dust bunnies under my bed…

    Like

  22. Wonderful pieces of art! Very inspiring!

    Like

  23. Amy McDonald

    I just straight up am loving
    loving!
    these.

    I think it is junk that i am not magically in this swap, as it sounds like a darn good thing.

    also. i’ve had wine, so i am really sorry i just commented that.

    Xx,
    Amy

    Like

  24. Wow, Patty, your work and the video are amazing !!!
    Have a nice week

    Like

  25. I’m so much in like with your kipper tin pieces – each one is so unique and definitely fun!

    Like

  26. Loving the kipper tins. They (and mint tins) are among my favorite substrates! These are all little treasures!

    Like

  27. Just love all the tins. Just amazing.

    Jackie

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

