Pan Tea

Mother’s Day at Dumbarton Oaks…

always a beautiful spot to visit in the Washington DC area…

easy to forget you are in the city in this ten acre garden…

with delights tucked everywhere you turn…


Mother Nature parading her colors…

my traveling tea cup

has done a bit of wandering recently…as some of you know…

most recently here with Pan in the lovely gardens we visited on Sunday…

a clone would be useful just about now…

then I could be everywhere I would like to be…Mr Magpie filmed the sweet bumblebee video…

trying to stop and smell the flowers as often as possible…

even when they sometimes seem a bit out of reach…

wishing each of you a very Happy T Tuesday…

be sure and visit Kimmie for lots of lovely links…

***does anyone know HOW to remove Ads by Google???  I was shocked to see them on my blog…thanks***



40 responses to “Pan Tea

  1. Well, do tell, Miss Tea Cup, welcome home. Not going to ask how Miss Tea Cup got in Pan’s lap – that one should be a very good story. Beautiful photos as usual. Seems you had a grand day in the gardens! Hug

    Like

  2. dot ferrero

    Patti…
    This was always one of our favorite spots when we lived in Maryland. You look like you are about to take flight…little Tinkerbell! I so enjoy your beautiful spot photos…Thanks

    Like

  3. Love the bee busy at work. Nature is so beautiful and not to be taken for granted. Thank you for sharing your trip with us

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  4. lovely tea with you today and that bee video was outstanding, thanks to mr magpie! what a gorgeous place, it just shows that no matter where you are you can create peace and beauty… xo

    Like

  5. Your photos give such a wonderful feeling of calm and peace, the garden looks so lovely.

    Like

  6. You tea cup is really getting around. Love it, also Loved the bumblebee video and all the garden photos, what an amazing place to visit. Beautiful day!

    Like

  7. Oh wow! Such impressive photos and video (thanks to Mr. M). Really enjoyed the cup sitting in Pan’s lap, but also enjoyed both photos with YOU in them. This is one gorgeous place, and it was wonderful that you were able to visit on Mother’s Day. Those peonies, with their brilliant color, put mine to shame. Happy Tea to you today, too.

    Like

  8. Gosh, that is a gorgeous place! How fun to see that bee…hope we don’t look so crazy when we are trying to get so much done!

    Like

  9. Oh, what a wonderful garden! PAN is delightful (with your cup) and seems to like the ‘tea’ you gave him, too. And the bumble bee is fat and happy, isn’t it? Love how it rolled on his back!
    How sweet to see green grass and flowers in bloom in such a georgeous setting. Seems like the perfect way to spend your Mother’s Day. And I send you my best hugs.

    Jan

    Like

  10. I do hope your Tuesday is as happy as mine! I love to see the teacup on the lap of the shepherd god Pan! Enjoy your day, smell the flowers and listen to the bumblebees!

    Like

  11. Be still my heart! Sections of this lovely garden remind me of the old story, “The Secret Garden”! Hmmm . . .I wonder what type of tea Pan likes to drink?!? LOL! Thank you for sharing your lovely day! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  12. Gorgeous photos!! I think I was there about 30 years ago, and it was nothing compared to your amazing shots! Hope your day was as great as your photos. Just stunning!!

    Like

  13. What a delight to be able to travel with you and your tea cup through the power of the lens… wonderful photos of a beautiful place.

    Like

  14. What a beautiful place! I know you had a lovely day. Great shots of you and your cup, too. hee hee

    Like

  15. What a wonderful spot in the middle of the city …. Very thoughtful of the city planners way back in the day. Little did they know how very much we would come to appreciate the green spaces which are so few and far between! I think this looks like a European garden. One could go there and forget entirely exactly where they are …. Or what century they are in 🙂

    And yes, you do look like you are about to lift up off the ground 🙂

    Happy tea Tuesday!

    Like

  16. Simply lovely, Patti! The tour through the gardens made me realize how much I miss the Spring season on the East Coast with all its “green.” Thank you for taking me along on your outing…it was delightful! (and it’s so good to be visiting with you again!)
    xox
    Karen

    Like

  17. ooo missy magpie! you’ve captured the magic of this place to be sure! i love the reflection of the clouds in the fountain….amazable! we have missed spring and gone right to summer here….i love it that you get to have it first and share it here….xoxox

    ps. love your fancy hat!

    Like

  18. What a fantastic post dear Patty. Such wonderful photographs, so many beautiful sights you’ve shared. Nice to see you too. I couldn’t make the bumble bee vid work sadly. Wonderful time of year isn’t it? pen x

    Like

  19. Patty, you visit the loveliest places and I’m so glad you share them! The teacup placement is perfectly creative. Ooo, wouldn’t it be fun to place teacups like that permanently for someone else to enjoy? (says she who has a surplus of them…)

    Bumble bees are amazing– they look like they weigh a ton, but manage to fly about on little cellophane wings. heehee.

    No tea post for me today (I am STILL under reconstruction!), but I am visting everyone else today (I NEEDed the break from dust and boxes !)

    Like

  20. Lovely photos! We were just there on May 1 – my first time to the Garden part ever as I’d been to the Museum many times. Our paths will cross one day. I hope.

    Like

  21. Love the tea cup placement. How very graceful you are whilst taking in the scent of flowers. Awesome hat!

    Like

  22. Can’t believe I’ve never been there!! Pan and the teacup – perfect!!! Welcome home……………………..

    Like

  23. Beautiful pictures as always, and that teacup certainly gets around a bit 🙂

    Love the hat – you can’t go wrong with a hat 😀

    Like

  24. Marilyn Rock

    Lovely photos Patty; thanks so much for sharing! Beautiful! xxoo

    Like

  25. wow, just beautiful! xo

    Like

  26. Ooooh ! What a beautiful, beautiful garden. It looks so English and yes hard to imagine it is in the middle of a city. Love the architectural features, all those beautiful arches, so happy to see your “travelling tea cup” looking very majestic nestled in Pan’s lap too. Thanks for the gorgeous images and happy Tuesday Tea to you Patty. xx

    Like

  27. Your photos always make me smile, such a gorgeous place, thanks 🙂

    Like

  28. ohh patty another beautiful tour!! those irises! so vivid. and i love the pan fountain, especially with your cup! there are so many fabulous places out in the world!
    thank you for your visit to my blog, and your sweet comments! you made my day! i have more rusty art to post about later in the week…it seems to be my favorite ingredient lately~
    enjoy your ongoing spring!

    Like

  29. Patty, Dumbarton Oaks looks like such a beautiful place! Thank you for sharing the photos. I just love the Pan statue there!

    Like

  30. beautiful images. thanks for sharingxlynda

    Like

  31. What a magnificent tour, Patty! As always, such artful, dreamy, and serene captures…darling little buzzing bee video too! But my favorite is of the girl with the hat smelling the flowers…smile. It must be comical to see the reactions of others as you take photos of your traveling teacup! Xo, Sue

    Like

  32. Lovely as usual Patty…glad you get to go to these places & then share with us…my kind of place.

    Like

  33. What wonderful photos! to have such a garden, eh? Better yet, to have that gardener! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  34. Oh, Patty. this is such a beautiful post of a beautiful garden. Mr. Magpie did an amazing job photographing that bee. I am allergic to bees and, therefore, terrified of them! Mr. M did such a great job that I found myself fascinated at the little guy! That is really an amazing sequence. I feel quite differently about this particular bee. I noticed that the coloration is different than Minnesota bumblebees. I wonder why!
    Good to have you back again and thanks for the lovely comment on my blog!
    I adored my mom. It was a little painful to write but felt good to share her.
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  35. I want that blue gate! Oh, my! What a fabulous spot — but that gate!!!

    Beautiful spot, lovely flowers (those iris with the yellow really pop!) Glad you had a lovely day!

    Like

  36. Such a wonderful outing ~ lovely photos too! Wishing you many lovely blessings my friend!

    Like

  37. so sweet to get a peek of you!

    as for the ads, wordpress does that occasionally, sadly. i was irritated by it enough to buy my own domain (my blog is still a wordpress template but it is privately hosted). i guess nothing in life is free, as they say 🙂

    Like

  38. Pingback: ten thousand crystals tea | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  39. Pingback: Spring has Sprung Tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  40. Pingback: Wisteria Tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

