WS: Nest

a few weeks ago Robins got busy overnight building a nest on a shelf on the outer edge of our back porch…

it was a nice protected spot for the birds…

but not a great spot for us so near our back door…

it felt like we were bothering them with any coming or going…altho they did not seem to mind me if I bowed my head and walked softly past…

Mrs Robin laid a clutch of beautiful eggs…the blurry photo is because

Mr Magpie snapped a really quick photo while both parents were away from the nest…wanting to get in and out quickly…

the parents took turns feeding the young and everything seemed to be going fine…if you look closely you can see the hungry beaks sticking up out of the nest…

we left town for a long weekend feeling sure we would come home to a lively scene…

we were shocked and dismayed upon our return to find that the nest was completely empty with no signs whatsoever that any birds had ever been there…

every trace mysteriously vanished leaving a tidy but very empty nest…

a visit by a snake was the only logical conclusion…

I had to shake off the upset I felt…reminding myself that Mother Nature had other plans…sniff sniff…

“Nest” is the theme at Wednesday Stamper/Mittwochstempler this week…

won’t you join us…

my journal pages were created in a Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia…

that I have been playing in since 2009...

I could not pass up a recent sticker sale…the bee hive/nest and bees really called to me…as did Kabir’s quote:

I altered a postcard I had made before and added it to the right hand page …

blending it in with some favorite fiber paper

and finishing with a couple of rubber stamps

Thanks to Jolette for the special origami Forget-me-not paper always a favorite ingredient and to the Land of Nod for the sweet blue boy image and

SPECIAL Thanks also to Dymphie for doing the Dutch translation over at WS while Hermine was away!

I have missed creating and it seems like forever since I’ve gotten to participate at Wednesday Stamper

~* May Bountiful Blessings Feather Your Nest All Ways*~

*footnote: I am entering this post in Ana’s Friday Archive Dive*

41 responses to “WS: Nest

  1. Oh my gosh!!!

    FABULOUS! The photos and your wonderful Journal -Entry! Gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    xxx Susi

    Like

  2. How sad that your beauties disappeared in your absence. Mother Nature is a harsh Mistress indeed. Your pages are beautiful Patty. I love your altered postcard so much. Pen x

    Like

  3. Marilyn Rock

    Mother Nature seems to dictate and it’s so sad when this happens. We had same situation a couple of years ago, here, and it really is sad. Love your journal pages Patty! xxoo

    Like

  4. Nature can be harsh. What lovely memories she has left you though and a few fabby photos. Love the pages you have done for nest very cool. hope you had a lovely weekend and it wasn’t dampened to much by the missing birds :0(

    love Dawn xx

    Like

  5. We humans can’t always protect the little birdies… I have a similar story to yours – blackbirdies gone – and it broke my heart.

    Like

  6. w a i t – a minute, boys and girls, who said Mother Nature is a Harsh mistress? OH NO, Oh contraire, while the Mrs and Mr Magpie took a little vacation so did Mrs and Mr Robin – took the kid-birdies to Disney World and they lived happily ever …. xoxo Pollyanna

    a n d – I have not been creating and you know what – you might have just inspired me to get off my butt and do something besides cleaning the closets. Hugs to you!

    Like

  7. and p.s. I am not sending you a copy of my DVD “Snakes on a Plane”

    Like

  8. Amazing photos …. Mother Nature has its own rules. I also love your journalling pages, they are beautiful in so many ways, in their design and colours and in their meaning. Have a wonderful day, x

    Like

  9. Finally I have time to stop by on your wonderful blog, my dear Patty! The last time was very stressful for me!
    I hope you like Switzerland and you had a nice holiday there?
    Your new posts, your new artwork and photos are as always very beautiful and interesting. Best wishes to Mr. Magpie 🙂
    I wish you a wonderful week my friend.
    Wishes
    MARTINA oxo

    Like

  10. Oh. Oh. Oh. Love. Love. Love. this post, Patty! EXCEPT for the snake [tubular] story… The link you gave for the Robins was divine! Read every word of it. Also falling into the category of divine are your journal pages. Great quote and so visually pleasing to see the two pages side by side. That origami paper is heavenly. Love the scattered little forget-me-nots on your quote page. I had a similar story with a cardinal’s nest this Spring…I thought a hawk found the nest. Never considered that it might have been a snake. ick. And I sniffed too when I discovered the empty nest. Xo, Sue

    Like

  11. How sad about the empty nest! That would be very hard to come home to! Your journal pages are beautiful though …. And another reminder to put our feelings down on paper.

    Like

  12. How sad….at least you were able to document the early stages of the birdies existence. 😦
    Love your pages for Wednesday Stamper. I have been remiss in not participating, but shall be better next week. LOVE your stamps…I haven’t seen the ruler one before and it’s divine. I’ll have to keep a lookout for one just like it.
    Perhaps Mrs Robin will come back and lay another clutch….fingers crossed.

    Hugs
    Jan

    Like

  13. How sad about the empty nest…

    Your page is beautiful, great image, love his nest hat.

    Like

  14. Your robin photos are just fantastic Patty, but I am not happy with the ending but “What will be, will be”. My mind will wrap around the nest filled with 4 blue eggs and the photo of those hungry little beaks gapping open.

    Like

  15. I love those pictures. I think they grew up over the weekend and flew away. How long does it normally take? Love your journal page, too….. I need to create!!!

    Like

  16. What a sad story about the birds.
    But you have the pictures so we can enjoy how they lived in the nest…
    I love your journal page and i am glad that you have fun with the origami paper!

    Jolette

    Like

  17. dot ferrero

    I’ve only seen baby birds ‘fledge’ or fly away once. The baby landed on tomato cage and seemed to climb the wire to the top and finally fly up into a tree. Nature is WONDERFUL & ENTERTAINING.

    Like

  18. beautiful pages! gorgeous colours.

    Like

  19. the nest hat is super! How I wished the little naked birdies would have grown to feathery ones. It’s how it goes. Last weekend I saw a family of wrens in the garden foraging and this little yellow butterfly came fluttering by… the next moment I watched a wren with yellow wings on both sides of it’s beak…

    Like

  20. Nature’s plans can be pretty darn dissapointing. I’m sorry you missed seeing the babies mature, but how lovely that you now have a decorative nest that looks so perfect on your outdoor shelf!

    Like

  21. I know exactly how you feel – robins built a nest in our arbor this year and we were so very careful going around it so as not to disturb them. Something must have scared them away before the babies hatched but we don’t know what. Too bad, because I was looking forward to seeing the babies!

    Like

  22. Boo-hoo-hoo, yes I understand the circle of life, but hurts to have, and then not. I’m sorry 😦

    Like

  23. This is sooooo precious!

    Like

  24. Such vibrant blues in both the photos and your creation. I choose to dream up a different story for the bird family, I like happy endings! Have a blessed week my friend!

    Like

  25. I’m in awe of these two pages. I especially like the altered postcard and the nest.

    Sorry I’m late visiting. I’ve had my computer off due to storms, hail, and high winds. I know exactly how you feel about the empty nest. The guys who built my new porch threw the nest away that a robin had built on top of one of the columns. It was the perfect place because cats and racoons couldn’t get to the birds. The guy just picked it up with baby birds and all, and threw it in the trash they were hauling away. I was livid, although I tried to not get too upset in front of the worker. That guy didn’t seem to care, either. He said the mother bird would never go back, so the dumpster was the best place for the nest and baby birds anyway.

    Later, when his boss stopped by, I said something about the bird’s nest. He then told his boss there were no babies in the nest, which I knew to be a false statement, since I had seen the mother feeding the babies the day before. The beaks were clearly showing, too. I don’t think I said more than three words to the guy after that. So, I can truly understand your feelings.

    Like

  26. I am so sad about your birds. I just lost a friend tonight. She died suddenly this morning. Was in her early fifties. I am sentimental about everything right now.

    I do love your journal pages. What a cute thing to put the nest on the boys head. Great idea , my dear!

    Hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  27. Absolutely gorgeous pages. So sorry you did find the best empty.

    Like

  28. Kathy Kristinnson

    Beautiful journal pages.. love the little boy with the next.. so sorry and sad about your Robins.. have been watching the robins build their next here and chasing everyone else away.. they are so funny..
    have a lovely day..
    xx

    Like

  29. Kathy Kristinnson

    Beautiful journal pages.. love the little boy with the nest.. so sorry and sad about your Robins.. have been watching the robins build their next here and chasing everyone else away.. they are so funny..
    have a lovely day..
    xx

    Like

  30. Lovely, Patty…I’ve come to realize that sometimes we just need to “breathe” and not worry about rushing to finish a project. I don’t know what your journal looked like in the earlier stages, but it is just lovely now.

    So sad for the robin family…sometimes I have a hard time dealing with the reality of nature. Your pictures are simply amazing!
    xox
    Karen

    Like

  31. So sad to see the empty nest but you have captured the cycles of life so well in these photos. Love the journal and the page spreads too.

    Like

  32. Love your altered journal! I’m getting rid of some of the old books I had planned on using for altered books but never got around to. I will definitely have to keep a couple though and get in gear and work on one!

    Like

  33. Oh, Patty, makes me want to cry. How lucky you were to get these lovely photos so quickly.

    This reminds me of when some purple finches built a nest on my wreath. There were five babies, never saw the eggs, just the building and feeding as they set their little beaks into the air for mom to feed them. I, too, went away for the weekend and there was a terrible windstorm and it all fell down. I hope mine were a bit bigger than yours — I like to think of them as having been able tofly away.

    Like

  34. Absolutely brilliant and the photo’s are fantastic.

    Wendy -x-

    Like

  35. Hi Patty! Love your journal!
    Have a nice weekend!
    Hugs
    Oxana

    Like

  36. love your journal pages and the flower arrangement at the top is so beautiful and peaceful

    Like

  37. OH…you mentioning a snake just gave me the hebee-gebee’s. I have major issues with snakes. One of the reasons I won’t be leaving MN permanently…my part of the state we only have garden snakes…which is way more than I want to see or even think about living in my yard. bbbaawwhhwhh…shiver shiver.

    Like

  38. Patty…I love your journal pages!!:))
    xox

    Like

  39. trishmlopez

    what sweet photos. i’m with marlynn – disney world calls | love, trish

    Like

  40. so lovely! your artwork and mother nature’s too. sorry about the outcome though i know it’s all in that circle of life thing … (we have squirrels here to cause such havoc). i’ve seen many robin eggs over the years but i’m always surprised by the beautiful blue colour. thank you for sharing this.

    p.s. you mention snakes and i got chills remembering your other post about stepping on one! *shudder*

    Like

  41. Pingback: nesting … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

