“what do U see”: When I Grow Up

my first creation for our local “what do U see” swap was Linda Yeatman’s soft wood piece using ingredients from her packet below:

I got busy staining the wood front and back with watered down paints...

layering them again and again…stamping along the edges…

it is always a thrill when you stumble across the perfect piece for a project…I just happened to have the metal bit I attached at the bottom close at hand…

it had broken off an agate dish when we were packing up my Mom’s things…it was waiting for a new home…

I was happy to layer the rusty wide mouth cap I had with Linda’s bingo piece and thought the patina I added to the shiny copper worked out well for the look I was after on the back too…

as a last touch I colored the back of the metal you see sticking out left and right at the bottom with a Krylon pen…didn’t get to snap a photo of it after that…

 I was happy with the pieces I used from Linda’s supply…

that was for June and here it is July already…I am busy on the second round for our local “what do U see” swap which will be revealed soon…

“A grownup is a child with layers on.” ~ Woody Harrelson

24 responses to ““what do U see”: When I Grow Up

  1. you’ve done justice to all these found materials, Patty!!! awesome!! and the patina did work well…I love your quote…and I must reflect on it too…Happy weekend!

    Like

  2. Oh; your golden touches Patty! Beautiful! Don’t you just love working on wood? I love it; something about it – therapeutic. I love what you did here – beautiful! Have a lovely weekend; hope you’re keeping cool. xxoo

    Like

  3. Well…that is one beautiful piece, Patty! And I love the back just as much…. if there was a word on the back it could be a front! hee hee! This is sooooo wonderful!

    Like

  4. i just Love the textures in your creations patty. i’ve said it before and i’m sure i’ll say it again! 😛

    Like

  5. You did a fantastic job with those items Patty.
    …and the sweet things that you have added 🙂
    fab little details, love his little jig-saw piece crown! 🙂
    Jan x

    Like

  6. It always amazes me what you can do with the items you get, you’re very clever and creative 🙂

    Like

  7. You worked your usual magic with this patty! I love the coppery colors you ended up with …. Beautiful job …. I know your friend will cherish this!!

    Like

  8. Lovely, Patty. You can see in every of your project the artista’s eye!

    Like

  9. The things you can create with a few odds and sods. Amazing ;0)

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  10. I would have found this a difficult challenge as I’m not drawn to wood.
    I really love soft and feminine, but you’ve got me thinking……
    The art you created from the pieces you were given – is absolutely gorgeous.
    I LOVE IT!!!!

    Like

  11. stunning piece! amazing what you create from an odd assortment!

    Like

  12. So many interesting layers and textures in this piece, Patty. Once again, you’ve turned bits and bobs into a treasure! Hope you have an awesome weekend! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  13. Such a precious and beautiful little artpiece you made Patty! I love the way you photographed it too (on a big leaf?!)

    Like

  14. You always amaze me with what you put together from a bit of this and that. Nicely done and it is quite stunning all finished.

    Like

  15. Kathy Kristinnson

    Beautiful.. love what you did with this piece.. fun to use all the bits you got.. have a loverly weekend..
    xx

    Like

  16. alteredforhim

    This is beautiful, the textures and layers of embellishments is very nice!

    Like

  17. Nice work Patty 🙂

    Like

  18. Outstanding! Love all the layers.

    Like

  19. Seeing a bunch of disparate images and pieces made me shake my head in wonderment. Only you could come up with something this gorgeous and decorated on both sides, too. LOVE THIS!!

    Like

  20. You made magic – again!!!!

    Like

  21. Patty, you never seek to amaze me. I see so many things that are lovely, but somehow you can pull so many varied and unrelated images into something so synergistic that tells the best stories. You have my greatest admiration!

    Like

  22. oww Patty, your collage piece is stunning, it all works so well together

    Like

  23. HOW did I miss this!! love it to bits Patty, the metal feathers(?) are divine, love the way you coloured them. Fab! mx

    Like

  24. great piece as allllllllways!!!
    happy Sunday to you! xo

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

