make time to play…

there is fun buzz in the blogosphere about the index card a day project (ICAD)…along with SO much creativity…

 Dianne and Terri are a couple of artists that greatly inspired me with their index cards…

while I do not plan to participate in the challenge daily necessarily…

I do enjoy a good challenge and having a chance to play…

at first I could only find the larger size of index card in my stash and ended up with a postcard size creation…

a sweet surprise package from my dear bloggie friend Suz provided the perfect crepe paper ruffle…

I just knew I needed to use that in something special using one of my favorite vintage postcard ladies as a TAP transfer on fabric…

a little stitching…some vintage velvet ribbon…lace bits and more and it was complete…

I save all of the papers that protect my table top from glue … rubber stamping ink and paint … they make perfect backgrounds …

some 3 x 5″ cards did surface in a recent studio cleanup so I got busy…no matter that they were pink to start out with…

a new tin of Cavallini animal stickers made a nice focal point for my first couple of cards…

I do see more index cards in my future…it is a perfect way to use up scraps and what you have handy on your work table without a huge time commitment…

“You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.” ~Plato



29 responses to “make time to play…

  1. Oh Patty! I love your index card art here! That ruffle is fabulous! Your TAP transfer on fabric is lovely with the whole composition. Your 3 x 5 cards are fantastic – love the colors and those stickers are awesome. Looks like you’re having an artful weekend! That makes me smile! xxoo Marilyn

    Like

  2. yes, I am seeing more and more taking part in this index card jamboree…it looks like fun and you sure whipped up some beauties!!! They look marvelous!!

    Like

  3. Oh how cool! Love your creation! I need to go play, I’ve been unpacking all day. 😦

    Like

  4. Just my size…I like them!!!!

    Like

  5. Love the postcards, love the reminder to play (we all need more of that) and love how your blog and you always inspire me to create more. Blessings dear Patty!

    Like

  6. oh patty, they are all gorgoues, its great to be able to play and use up all those scrappy bits …..

    Like

  7. FABULOUS ARTWORK .. SOOOOOOOOO INSPIRING .. hugz x

    Like

  8. beautiful hanging! and i love the “resteverwertung”, yummy skinnies you created!

    Like

  9. What an amazing hanging, so beautiful, perfect!
    Have a wonderful sunday, dear Patty!

    Like

  10. Holy cow. I’m so far behind visiting. I can’t believe how much I’ve missed. I am like you with the ICADs. I might be able to make one, but that is where I would probably quit. They are wonderful, just like yours, and I see this as a great escape , especially now that you have found those bright pink 3 X 5 cards. Kudos for using scraps along with some lovely new bits, too. I’m glad you turned this one into a wall hanging. It shows how resourceful you are. Lovely, and SO you!

    Like

  11. Wonderful pieces! Love how you used the “table saver” paper as background. I do that too. It’s really fun to see what comes out of nothing.

    Like

  12. I love the incorporation of fabric and textures! Your work is always brilliant! I gotta get some of that TAP!

    Like

  13. Love the cards. My desk already had some water damage so I don’t cover it. I just figured when it got too bad I’d sand it and refinish it… but I might have to cover it with paper ti use later. Love the idea… Thanks!

    Like

  14. As usual, love your creation and the image you used is one of my favorites – because of you. Love it and can’t wait to see more cards in your future. Hugs!

    Like

  15. These are great. I did 3 x 5 cards years ago before ATCs….. I refuse to go back! Do not tempt me, woman!

    Like

  16. So inspirational!

    Like

  17. Love your amazing creation with all the lovely details. You allways ispire me with your beautiful art works.
    Have a nice week, dear Patty,
    hugs Anja

    Like

  18. loving these cards Patty! and the index card thing sounds great…kind of like atcs, kind of like art journaling..I like it!
    enjoy your day my friend..xoxo nat

    Like

  19. alteredforhim

    These are beautiful! I love each one and I can see how much you enjoy art as they such creativity and imagination. Very nice.

    Have a great day!

    Like

  20. I love it when you show us what to do with the stuff that some of us (gulp) have stashed away, the little animal stickers are fab and I really must do a few more TAP projects, just beautiful! Mx

    Like

  21. how cool that you save your protective scraps for background. i’m always left in awe of your talent for pulling things together the way you do. icad huh? this sounds very contagious!

    Like

  22. What a great idea, Patty! I knew we were all in need of a new shape to do our collages!!! I am glad you got to use the lace. It looks really pretty in there!!
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  23. Patty the lace and ruffle card is drop dead gorgeous!!!
    I LOVE pretty so this really appeals to me.
    I’m going over to have a wee look at some more.
    Shane :))

    Like

  24. what fun & an inspired way to use up the paper that lies beneath ! Thank you for popping over. Very little crafting going on here …

    Like

  25. these are so sweet Patty! I love what you did with the vintage image and ruffle…soooo lovely. I hope you are staying cool this week!

    Like

  26. I’m so flattered to hear that I’ve inspired YOU, Miss Patty!!! Holy Cow! Your transfer piece is stunning, and I love the way you’ve used your workpaper for backgrounds. It’s a great way to recycle. These little cards are like popcorn — you just can’t do one!!! Enjoy!!! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  27. Beautiful collage composition on your tap transfer image! Adore the details, as always. The clipped corners on the image, the knots on the velvet, the cigar labels!!! {how perfect!} The marrying of the lace with the crepe paper…you’re such a romantic girl!

    Like

  28. We can always rely on you for wonderful inspirational artwork Patty. You make me want to get all my stuff out and have a play 😉

    Like

  29. Pingback: …I am just like me | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

