rust tea…

our cooler less humid air is gone for now and it is getting

hazy

HOT

and humid again…

typical Virginia weather for July…

the birds seem to linger longer in the birdbaths

trying to stay cool…

all of our sunshine has been just right for a recent rust project of mine…

it has been awhile since I played with rusting paper or fabric

with thanks to

Halle and Elizabeth and Dagmar

for lots of recent rusty inspiration…

here are some of the rusty things I used…

along with an old bottle of Apple Cider Vinegar to wet my fabrics…

it already looked a little like the color of rust with sediment in it…

these crocheted flowers were very white…

I wanted to add some color to them for an upcoming Queen Bee Honeycomb swap…

once you get started…

well you know how that goes…

( I wrung out the vinegar soaked fabric and wrapped and layered the pieces with the rusty bits…popped all of that into a plastic bag left to bask in the sun for the day…a final baking soda and water rinse and your fabric is ready to go)

one thing leads to another …

and another…

and…

be sure to pop over and visit Kimmie

you never know where the group of international Tea Tuesday posters may lead you … Enjoy * Enjoy

40 responses to “rust tea…

  1. Right about now I wish I were that bird in the bird bath 🙂 It’s steamin’ up, here, and the humidity and air are like pea soup! Anyway; love your rusted project – great patterns and the color reminds me of my favorite fluid acrylic – Quinacridone Azo Gold 🙂

    Stay cool Patty! xxoo Marilyn

    Like

  2. Oh such rusty goodness. Great items you used to rusty with. Now you have me itching to go to the thrift store and find some unique shapes of metal to rust with.

    Like

  3. We’ve one little robin who comes twice a day for his ‘bath’ in our fountain. I love watching him dip into the cool water, preen, and then take another dip. Today is going to be steamy, and the prediction for tomorrow is even MORE steamy!!! Outside art projects are such a ‘cool’ idea (pun intended). Your fabrics are beautiful!!! I haven’t tried the cider vinegar technique, but I’ll add it to my repertoire. In the past I’ve used hydrogen peroxide. Try to stay cool, Patty! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  4. Drizzling here – should be a scorcher for our tea tomorrow!! Love the rust- may have to “gift” you with some farm rust 2moro!!!:>)

    Like

  5. Just beautiful and thanks for the rusting tutorial!!! I think New York weather is now going out with your weather- hot and humid. But the sun is shining so I am smiling!! Enjoy your rustic art and love those bird shots. Just super!

    Like

  6. Wow Patty, your rust results are quite spectacular. I’ve never tried this method before … I’m off now to find my muslin stash. Thank you for the inspiration my friend. pen x

    Like

  7. alteredforhim

    Ooo how awesome, I love the way you rusted these up. How long did it take to rust them?
    The pictures are beautiful, thank you for sharing. Have a great day!

    Like

  8. I’m glad that the rust and tea weren’t mixed together. 🙂 Those birdies sure are having a grand ol’ time. Since all the plants on my bedroom balcony died, I don’t have as many feathered friends visiting, and even when I put out water, it evaporates no time in this heat. :/ Have fun creating! Best wishes, Tammy

    Like

  9. That is like magic, Patty! You must tell us more. I remember reading about it on blogs awhile ago but then I was just trying to put two and two together!!! That cup and hankie are so sweet. I wonder if it was Mutti’s.
    Sending love,
    Suz

    Like

  10. nice birdie fotos in the bath…the black one…mmmmm a real beauty…
    loooook at all that rusty stuff! wow…i can see all the rusty projects coming…oh fun,fun,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,stay cool!

    Like

  11. I am growing my own small rust garden in my backyard…it is hot and humid and now I feel I will have to put out some delicate pieces of fabric out for a day of two! have a great day my lady! Peace, Mary helen

    Like

  12. I’ve never rusted !!! I think I need to rust fabric! Maybe today!!! I can’t wait to get my honeycomb swap piece from you. You set the standard high….. Happy Rust Tea Day! Love it.

    Like

  13. Patty ~
    Your bird photos are so delightful, the blackbird is striking quite a pose, what personality! I have never heard of using vinegar and sun to create a rustic piece of cloth ~ how interesting! I love to watch and listen to new ways to make things older looking. Hope your day and week are blessed.

    Like

  14. This is WHY I love you and your blog Patty! I could have been satisfied with stopping at the saturated robin photo–which made me laugh out loud. What a precious capture! Then came the rust………………………….inspiration overload! The neighbors already wonder about me with all my props I drag into the backyard and photograph. When I do this rust project I’m quite sure adult protective services will be ringing our doorbell! What a FUN post!

    Like

  15. Oops..meant to say how much I adore that cup and saucer and the buttons you’ve added to your lavender wand!

    Like

  16. Great photo of the robin in the bath, one smart birdie. Also Love that rusty star on the fabric in one shot. Niceee!

    Like

  17. Thanks so much for the tutorial, Patty! How simple….apple cider vinegar…I’m sure I have some around here somewhere! Have a happy and “cooling” day!
    xox
    Karen

    Like

  18. Beautiful rust!!! You also have some great pictures of those birds, a zoom lens?

    Like

  19. well, im glad someone is used to this weather! i’m sorry to say that more is moving your way…100 here today with heat index 115…crazy for MN – your birds look refreshed though…sweet wet robin…can’t wait to see what you do with your rusty fabrics, so cool!!!

    Like

  20. Hi Patty, you have been busy! Your rusted things look so awesome. I love the star shaped rusted bit. Can you clean those off now to do the batter and oil thing–forget what you them–and dust in icing sugar? Love the birds in your bath. I have a cat so can’t do that, she goes outside on occasion 🙂
    Thank you so much for coming to my blog 🙂

    Like

  21. Looks good, what an idea to get some rust on fabric…

    so by the way, you may send some degrees to us here, it looks as if it is autumn outside, cold, rain…. not really weather for a vacation…

    Like

  22. Love your rustiness!! the tiny flowers are gorgeous! AND it’s on the honeycomb swap, I’m with Lidna, a very high standard you’ve set, might just have to rethink mine!! Mxx

    Like

  23. love your rust fabric..just waiting to unwrap mine..just trying to be patient and wait a little longer!!!!xx

    Like

  24. OHHH!! I’m going to have to get one of those graters. You got some lovely, lovely results from your rusting. I noticed you had a lavender wand, too. And that tea cup and saucer would have gone nicely with that motel in my post yesterday. Beautiful turquoise, and such a perfect color for that time period.

    While you were rusting, I was also. And I was also playing with some plaster, which is weird because I saw a post advertising a new Plaster e-book at Seth’s today.

    Like

  25. Wow just wow! Makes me sad to have ever thrown away a rusted kitchen tool in my life! Especially a rusted grater! Beautiful results! … I love your lavender wand too. I do not have the patience to weave one myself 🙂

    Happy Tuesday dear Patty!

    Like

  26. oh happy tea day dear one, love your rusty star cloth! xox

    Like

  27. aww patty arent the colors and patterns amazing…you will have fun using them…..

    Like

  28. The fabric gets an amazing pattern and colors Patty! How clever… and thanks for the explanation. I might go on a haunt (hount?) for rusty articles now, it’s very inspiring!

    Like

  29. Love, love, love the rusted fabrics. Those stars are amazing! Will totally be trying this with my own rusty bits 🙂

    Like

  30. ooh what a lovely post with beautiful photos….I LOVE LOVE that cup!! and yes the color, teal….and your rusted fabrics are an inspiration indeed….my head is full of ideas now…with those fabrics….
    have a happy week!!

    Like

  31. I *LOVE* the rusted fabric!!!! I so want to do that now (we certainly have the heat for it!) The robin looks very cool!

    Like

  32. Hi sweet lady, sorry it’s been so long. It’s funny because I was just at Elizabeth’s blog and saw her rusting fabric, then I see it here too. Looks like a lot of fun in the sun 🙂 It is extremely hot here too, today being the most humid I have ever known, so this girl is staying inside.
    Love to see the birds in your garden, I have lot’s of birds around here but not much shade yet.

    Like

  33. Wow, your post has left me wanting to rust some fabric!!
    What a cool technique and fab results!!

    Jan x

    Like

  34. Wow Patty …this is inspiring stuff!
    You have some fabulous future supplies there…… 🙂

    Try to stay cool my friend!
    Hugs
    Linda xx

    Like

  35. Ooooh…love the rusty grungy effect!

    Like

  36. I can’t wait to see what you’ll create with the fabric…what a fabulous job you did with it! Hope you’re staying cool!

    Like

  37. Oh how awesome!! I need to get busy rusting some muslin! I even brought a few select rusty pieces with me! I’m sure my packers thought I was a nutcase! LOL!

    Like

  38. hi patty,
    finally scholl is out and i have some time to blog hop. just scrolling through your´s and as usually i find so much inspiration! rusting fabrics is on my to-do-list for years now, never found the right time for it. maybe this summer? love the journal pages you made, too (newer post). will try to visit your blog more often.

    Like

  39. ok, scholl is school of course;)

    Like

  40. What fabulous rust! I love the circle pattern from the grater and the star pattern.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

