guerilla knitting…

my first in person encounter with guerilla knitting

also called yarn bombing or graffiti knitting…

was on a trip last October to Santa Rosa, California …

I was totally charmed by the lamp posts and bike racks covered in knit goodness…

last month there was an article in the Washington Post about a knit in at Jimmy Valentine’s Lonely Hearts Club in NE Washington DC…

they called it a “yarn bombing with heart”…

101 hearts…

it was fun to see in person…

something I enjoy again and again in the blogosphere…

especially in the special mixed media corner that I get to visit and enjoy so often…

is CONNECTION

if you haven’t already…

you will want to see what Hermine in The Netherlands did to the downspout of her home…what a great conversation starter and wouldn’t that be fabulous to see in person too…

she also makes THE most incredible felted wool purses…amazing hearts and more…

even though I am not a knitter…I still drool over yarn and needles and appreciate the magic and creativity of it all…

making things is powerful medicine the world over…

footnote: and another great connection with Jill Zaheer of Jazworks you’ll want to check out too…notice the date this was done…Love it!

28 responses to “guerilla knitting…

  1. How cool is this???? WOW! I so wish I could knit; I’ve tried and tried and just don’t seem to have the magic touch. Thanks for the website link to Hermine’s site – I am going there, right now, to check it out. Have a lovely day! We are getting a much needed soaker rain today 🙂 xxoo

    Like

  2. Some serious knitting going on there ~ thanks for sharing and introducing me to a new terminology and craft. I can knit a scarf but nothing like these knitters. lovely photos as always ~ Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  3. Yes, this is really awesome, I love this approach. They do the same for gardening. Guerilla gardening is big in Germany especially Berlin 🙂 Have a great knitting day, Petra. x

    Like

  4. Perfect! A brand new phrase and two very lovely examples from different parts of the world. Love what you do for this blogging community!

    Like

  5. andrea gilsdorf

    Really?? Wow Maggi this is an awesome post,wish i had one of those downspouts. What a creative idea. I love the rest of the knitting pictures to.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Andrea

    Like

  6. Patty, I have heard of this but to see pictures is something else again! I love the connection, and I am really enjoying the international connection, which I thank you for. If I ever want an interesting “blog hop,” I go right to your list and find wonderful blogs around the world.
    Thanks for this fun post and I am going right out to knit myself a downspot…haha. I would if I could!!!
    Big hugs, sweetie,
    Suz

    Like

  7. very fun… love the hearts especially … xoxo

    Like

  8. Wow, fantastic photos, Patty! I used to crochet…makes me want to find my hooks and see what I remember. But I’d love to go see the shop with the hearts! What an amazing place! I think I have to head out there. I sure hope August is cooler…but August is August and this is D.C. and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that leaves the 100s and 90s behind! Anyway, it was fun seeing these photos, many thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. hello dear patty~ i love yarn bombing!!! my friend tana even found a knitted tree in paris last month! maybe i will try that out at the bay somewhere…
    i’ve had fun catching up with your recent posts…the smooshed tin – the rusted fabrics *sigh* – the birdies in the birdbath!! (they don’t need to do that up here…
    i’ll be heading out to the bay in a few days so wanted to say hello & see you in october! i’ll be missing your beautiful inspirations every morning…
    have a fabulous late summer!

    Like

  10. love all those happy colors, the heart display is ‘tha bomb’. So cool to see this in real.
    Hermine’s knitting is wonderful, as is all her other work. She’s an amzing artist 🙂

    Like

  11. How fun. I like your last line about “making things”, it certainly is.

    Like

  12. The lamp posts look awesome but I really really love the hearts, how cool is that. Oh and if you ever decide to visit The Netherlands you are more then welcome to see it in person :o)

    Like

  13. Very amazing! I’m still trying to learn to knit…crochet just works better for me.

    Like

  14. Thanks so much for showcasing this guerilla art project. A couple of years ago, Seth and I participated in Grrl + Dog’s Global Guerilla Knit Project by decorating a tree in NYC with knitted yarn. I too added hearts- must be something about connecting with hearts. It was so much fun and amazingly exciting!! Great shots!

    Like

  15. Oh so cool! I was just telling my hubby about guerilla knitting! We saw some in West Chester, I think.

    Like

  16. I love this colourful art. I do wonder how it lasts in the weather though. But I can imagine walking past one IRL and it really cheering my day 🙂

    Like

  17. LOL – I love these knitted thingees and believe it or not read about it in a magazine on a flight to somewhere. LOVE it. Also loved zipping over to the Neatherlands to see the downspout! xoxo

    Like

  18. I too loved this blog entry and had great fun looking at the same work in the Neatherlands too, especially that downspout , they are all works of art and the ultimate in creativity. Lennie

    Like

  19. how awesome is this stuff! love it! wish I could see some around here. thanks for sharing Patty! Happy weekend to you! xo natalea

    Like

  20. this is amazing! thank you for sharing it Patty! 🙂

    Like

  21. Wow looks fab! I’ve seen lots of piccies but yet to spot any myself!

    Like

  22. l am just knitting at the moment and thining about where l am going to put it? x lynda

    Like

  23. We just did our first yarnbombing on the local town square….now that we’re on vacation, my husband and I are going to do some in this little beach town.

    Like

  24. you lucky thing!! 2 years ago i discovered the book at london’s v&a and fell in love with it!! oh man, to see some life guerilla knitted art, i’m so jealous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it actually inspired me to crochet a string with 3 flowers around my name plate on my office door hehe have a lovely weekend! 😉

    Like

  25. Such a Lovely post my friend!! I’m no knitter either, but just like you I’ve found myself drooling over yarns and stuff more than once, lol. But I’ve so far left it at that, but who knows, maybe one wintersnight….:)
    Love and hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  26. aww how cool , love your photos Patty, ive been wanted to ‘do ‘ the sign post outside our house, off to look at hermines ….

    Like

  27. Pingback: Decorative yarn bombing meets Oktoberfest |

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

