she’s a lady…

with a falcon…

what a lovely surprise while digging around on my art table to have the lovely Duchesse de Bourgogne Belgian beer label peek out at me…

she didn’t come off the bottle easily as I recall with lots of soaking and picking…

Mr Magpie is ever patient with those sorts of things …

for the record I would never sell this collage or use it for anything other than personal use…sometimes I find images on packaging irresistible…

I made this just for me feeling a little Autumnal with shades of Edgar Allan Poe in the September air…

a random piece of copy paper was my canvas

Love it when everything comes together effortlessly with no question of what to add next…

our youngest son reminds me that is called FLOW

I even had the large unmounted ART stamp from Ma Vinci’s Reliquary handy …

it fit so well at the bottom of my collage which measures approximately 6.5 x 7.5 inches (16,51 x 19,05 cm)…

the scrap paper I used was so flimsy even after slathering paint and gesso and more onto it I had to glue it onto some light cardboard to stabilize it…

I often make things because I feel moved to with little thought to the outcome…

no sketches…

just play and layering…

this lady speaks to me…

“No one could suspect the intricate mysteries of her heart.” ~Kim Edwards, The Memory Keepers Daughter

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

time AGAIN to thank my sweet and very talented blog friend Estivalia of 365 Drawings for making it possible to add another widget to my sidebar…

it is ALL thanks to her that I have any widgets at all!!!

I am doing a bit of clearing out and came across some magazines …

LOTS of art magazines…

one was in a special envelope so I had to stop and take a look…

back in Nov/Dec 2006 I had a couple of my ATCs published in an ATC Gallery from an Inky ATC Antics article by MaryJo McGraw in Altered Arts Magazine

that was about ten months before I started blogging…

I thought I would add it to my little lineup on my sidebar…

many many thanks once again dear Estivalia you ROCK!!! OXO


41 responses to “she’s a lady…

  1. Your Lady is very beautiful Patty and so well complimented by the background that you created for her. Its a wonderful piece. Long may your art flow from your fingertips! pen x

    Like

  2. What a brilliant work, dear Patty! Fantastic colours and great design.

    Have a nice sunday my friend.
    Hugs
    MARTINA

    Like

  3. Patty; I have many favorites of yours but this is right up at the top! I find it stunning, very moving and just love the luscious colors. The image is beautiful – just breathtaking truly!

    xxoo Marilyn

    Like

  4. This is stunning… and I can’t believe it started life as a wine bottle label (and I am such a wine expert that I actually buy wine because the label appeals to me… I don’t drink so the actual taste doesn’t come into it) LOL
    Love all the texture and colour of your little lady.

    Like

  5. WOW!!!!! GORGEOUS! I love it, Patty!
    So beautiful stamp “ART”… Where come this one from?
    Hugs
    Oxana

    Like

  6. Beautiful, you flowed very well 🙂

    I think things that are made ‘just because’ are the ones that come out best because you have no pre-conceived idea of where you’re going.

    x

    Like

  7. Beautiful collage! I’m sure the label designers wouldn’t be too mad if they saw how their label became a little piece of art 🙂

    I love seeing “action” shots of your desk while you’re working… it looks as messy as my own ;p

    Like

  8. What a fabulous piece!!! It is marvelous! What a beer label for sure and love your color choices! Have a super Sunday dear.

    Like

  9. this collage is over-the-top incredible! You’re right for never parting with it! the colors and layering and well, every bit, are amazing! hope you are enjoying your Sunday, xo

    Like

  10. I agree, how wonderful when random things come together to make something beautiful. Love your lady and all the details you added. Very delightful and inspiring too! Sweet blessings, Katie

    Like

  11. Absolutely gorgeous, so warm and vibrant.

    Like

  12. What a terrific piece, Patty! This label is wonderful, and now it has a new life thanks in part to you DH’s patience! You have created a beautiful piece of art with all of your layers and detail…I am drooling on my computer…cheers!

    Like

  13. I’ll be back in a moment or six to talk about the lovely piece of art, but I just wanted to congratulate you BELATEDLY for being published in Altered Arts Magazine. I may even have that issue. Changed my e-mail address, too (thanks).

    Like

  14. She is a beauty! and appreciate your thoughtful mention of not selling art that includes copyrighted images…you are a truly professional artist.

    Like

  15. The colors and composition of this piece are stunning. So glad Mr. M was able to patiently remove the label. I recently read somewhere how to remove a label from a wine bottle. Since I’m not a drinker, I have no idea if beer and wine labels are adhered the same, but I suspect they would be. The person with the tip suggested to fill the bottle with HOT, hot water and walk away for a short period of time. According to her, soaking the bottle in a sink full of water does no good. It all apparently works from the inside of the bottle. Now again, I have NO idea if this works or not, but thought I would pass that info on to you. Guess I could test it the next time I empty a jar of jam or olives (doesn’t THAT sound like a combination!).

    Like

  16. Wow, Patty, this is a very beautiful creation, love it.

    Like

  17. what a stunning piece! I love the colors, the layers, the depth.
    truly amazing….

    Like

  18. It’s lovely when creative ‘play’ produces a little gem like this. I have fun following your links too… thanks.

    Like

  19. When I saw your blog title, I had Tom Jones singing in my head. You know the song, right? But YOUR lady is way more beautiful and classy! I wouldn’t sell that either…it’s a ‘keeper’ for sure. Hmmmm, mayhaps I should head to the local liquor store and see what fun labels they are offering on beer? You sparked something there, lady.
    Warm Autmnal hugs…..

    Like

  20. lovely collage dear Patty!!…the background is stunning!!:))
    and thanks for information about Citra Solv…i will need to buy…:))
    xox
    Guriana:)

    Like

  21. love this collage…..also love Citra Solution. I had to send away for it because l have never seen it in UK but it was worth it.I had ordered one bottle and they sent me 2 by mistake and told me to keep it as a present from them! I thuink you are very lucky to have such a beautiful beer bottle label in your country….calling out to be used in your workxxlynda

    Like

  22. Beautiful piece….wow, that is a cool label. I love the colors and how you put it together. Thanks for visiting me today and leaving your kind comment. Please come again.

    Like

  23. This is gorgeous Patty! Love all your layers!

    Like

  24. I love her, Patty. She speaks to me, too, but totally without words.
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  25. O M G !!!
    Sweetie what a fantastic page.
    Great mediums. Stunning work.

    Like

  26. the best things come out when you go with the flow… this is one perfect example for that! is is just overall gorgeous… i totally love it!!

    Like

  27. O, what a beautiful piece! The colors just jump off the paper!

    Like

  28. Wow, Patty, I’m missing words, that’s a wonderful page.

    Like

  29. How lovely and serendipitous…

    Like

  30. What a wonderful creation and how I Love that falcon on her graceful hand. Kuddos to Jimmy and Colin was so right… Don’t you Love it when things in your life “Flow”!

    Like

  31. Wonderful wonderful piece Patty, all works so well together (such a special Flow it must have been).
    Chapeau!

    Like

  32. This is so beautiful! And a larger piece from you than normal, right? Perhaps it needs to be on a wall somewhere? Happy Monday…. happy Labor Day!

    Like

  33. Spectacular collage Patty. It looks like a very valuable, ancient artifact. Love it!

    Like

  34. Hi Patty, somehow I’ve misplaced your email address so I have to
    send this along. I’m just wondering what that filmie stuff with the holes
    is next to the Golden acrylic paint (black in color) ? I am heavy into
    mixed media now and would love to locate some of that (film/tape) to make texture and stencil marks on my work. I just finished a 3 day workshop in mixed media up in Delaware at the Rehoboth Art League and had a blast, entered one of my works in a juried show and it got picked . I love reading your blog and admire your work so much. It seems you have a natural ability to just pop out collages, a true gift. I wish I had more time
    for art. Thanks for the information. Gail Wynn

    Like

  35. This piece is just gorgeous. I love all the colors you used – very Edgar Allen Poe-like : ) And the Art stamped at the bottom sets it off perfectly. This is my first visit to your blog and I must say I am impressed!

    Like

  36. Patty
    wowsers! this is amazing and sooo gorgeous! you ROCK!!! Hope you had a wonderful Labor Day!

    Like

  37. Patty! This is gorgeous!! WOW! I’m ever amazed at how you can make an image appear as if it has no outer edges…it simply IS part of the whole.

    Like

  38. Fantastic piece Patty. I thank you for the inspiration. I need to create a collage soon…I can feel it:)
    Hugs Hanne

    Like

  39. She’s gorgeous! Yes, I’m like that too — sometimes something just speaks to you and play with it you do!

    Like

  40. This is truly amazing. Love the vibrant colors and all the collage elements. Very inspiring.

    Like

  41. just a stunning piece , i like that you never waste anything 🙂

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

