LaWendula’s Paper Swaps…Art Really Does Help Heal

*a LONGish post with lots all wrapped into one*

LaWendula recently hosted another fun paper swap

she has been connecting the mixed media blog community for quite awhile now with her imaginative and fun swap ideas…

this one was quick and easy…

just fill a standard size envelope with bits of paper and mail to your partner…

 my swap partner Frances…

who does not have a blog for me to send you to…

sent me some really lovely bits from the UK … so much goodness in one envie … thank you again dear Frances!!!

LaWendula (LW) and I swapped some vintage papers and did I ever get inspired when her big envelope arrived…

she included one of her really special handmade books (4.5 inches square) ready to alter … I could not wait to get busy…

as some of you know my sweet German Mother/Mutti died suddenly in February of this year…

she lived just an hour away so we got lots of one on one time together…

I sure do miss her and have not been able to find words to express my broken heart overflowing with feelings…

using lots of bits from LaWendula’s latest gifts (more than I can really show you in photos) and a few bits I had on hand…

here is what came of some of it…

with a couple of pages still left to decorate…

I will show you LaWendula’s BEFORE book pages and my AFTER altered pages below…

her  pages looked so nice I hardly wanted to cover them up…

I was not immediately aware that it would even be a book about my Mutti…

a bit of German curtain netting (I have some of my Mother’s tattered lace curtains) under the word Liebe = Love …

a piece of torn map …

a glowing candle surrounded by Edelweiss … a flower that has myriad meanings in our family …

LaWendula’s tag was lovely on both sides…felted wool on this side…I glued on the cardboard seashell from her goodies…

I like the way LW stamped page numbers on her gessoed magazine pages…as it happened the number 3 fit perfectly in the torn yellow paper I glued to the right edge…

my Mom’s name was Josephine…her family called her “Fini”

I amazed myself at the meaning in these pages…

it wasn’t until the second day when Mr Magpie was looking at my little book again that we realized why out of 12 little calendar pages that LW sent in a strip … I must have picked apples for this page…

my Mutti made THE best apple strudel always with me in mind…the ends were my favorite with a little more dough folded there…

such beautiful pages LaWendula made … you can see why it was hard to cover them…

I dove in anyway…a woman possessed on and off all day Friday…

these pages really did come together intuitively…

I noticed that sometimes I like creating with a little noise in the background…most often television…funny as I used to not be much of a TV person…

LW’s sturdy dressmaker form called to me but I did not spend any time thinking about why and added some stamped text to it …

my mother was an excellent seamstress and creator of stuffed animals and dolls and more…

the only thing I added to pages 4 and 5 from my stash were pieces of Tim Holtz tissue tape...

in looking for a tissue tape link to embed for you above…I came upon Tim’s blog post with some amazing ideas for this tape…

Love that …

maybe you will need some afterall

Estivalia … let me know 😉

playing with LaWendula’s pages was very healing…plenty of tears fell with some smiles from sweet memories too…

I actually surprised myself in that I was able to “go there” as the grief from my Mutti’s loss is pretty fresh…there are days I cannot believe she is really gone…

the little flowered flap on the left is a copy of my Mother’s fabric autograph book from the early 1940’s onward…

LaWendula included some super German library cards...I thought it very fitting that they focused on *Play* one of my favorite things (Spiel Spiele Spielen)…

so glad I took photos of each of LaWendula’s beautiful pages “before” I got busy…see the perfect brown “frame” on the left…

isn’t that German postage stamp on the top left precious…it says “With Good Wishes”

my Mutti passed along her wanderlust to me and my little sister …

our boys called her “Omi” a German fond term for Grandma

years before my Mother passed away we had a conversation where she told me she had lived a good life … little did I know just how comforting those words would be … I will continue to feel very close to my sweet Mutti …you can check out some of LaWendula’s precious handmade books here

for not having words … I certainly managed to tell quite a lot…

there is so much more to tell about my dear sweet Mutti …

she was definitely one of a kind…

I added a little paint to the back page but could not duplicate LW’s beautiful colors on the other side of her sewn tag…

I wrote “Love is the answer” and glued on the black and white strip of shiny fabric from my art table…

if you actually read all of this post…well you are amazing … the word count (WordPress provides that in Draft mode) was pretty high …

vielen vielen danke liebe LaWendula … you touched my heart again and again … you always ROCK!

 

36 responses to “LaWendula’s Paper Swaps…Art Really Does Help Heal

  1. I certainly read the lot… a beautiful, and moving, story of your connection to your beloved Mutti. The process must’ve been painful, and joyous at the same time. A wonderful celebration of a life well lived.

    Like

  2. I love this Post Patty. What a wonderful story and your art and words reflect the bond with your Mutti. Beautiful post – so meaningful and filled with emotion xxoo

    Like

  3. well Patty what can I say….I can´t…..it was all so beautiful reading and seeing what you created…..love to you and your sweet Mutti……………

    Like

  4. Oh patty, what a great post!! I love your description of working “intuitively.” sometimes it is really like that …. Especially when your heart is so connected to what you are creating! Your Mutti would be very proud and honored to see your book …. I’m sure she was watching you work 🙂

    Like

  5. you all are so sweet and supportive … BIG hugs all around!!!
    Many many thanks
    oxo

    Like

  6. i think arting is the best healer around…your pages & post were sweet and very touching…i am happy that you have this outlet for all the love and missing…xoxoxo jean

    Like

  7. Wow Patty! What a wonderful keepsake you’ve created… It’s lovely and such a heartfelt tribute… I’m sure it is helping in your grieving process…

    Like

  8. So wonderful, Patty and I am so happy that this German stuff (some things are from other countries, because they are from other swaps) I sent has helped to create this unique gem of a memory book!
    Thanks for your kind words and you really inspire me to sell my litle notebooks on Etsy.
    Another blogfriend of mine has made a memory book for a friend with it and had the same fun.
    I am sure, Mutti will smile now down on you from your angel home in the clouds…xox

    Like

  9. Yes, dear. I read EVERY word. It was a fascinating and very interesting read. Of course, the art was fabulous, too. What an amazing and awesome tribute to your Mutti. I felt both pain and joy, sadness and happiness in this post. I had a lump in my throat as I read how you worked your way through the tears into the light. Beautiful words, beautiful art.

    Like

  10. Lovely ~ every single part of it!

    Like

  11. What a lovely book you created Patty, and lots of little things reminding you of your mum. I am guessing you will have a lot of fun with all that papery goodness 🙂 x

    Like

  12. You asked about the Stampington magazine I got the technique from on my blog post today. I didn’t reference it, since I was actually using the instructions from the article. The magazine is Somerset Studio, July/August, 2011, pgs 14-17, “It’s My Party Dress” by Sue Pelletier. Sorry I had to look it up since I didn’t keep the article open like I maybe should have!

    Like

  13. Oh Patty es tut mir so leid wegen deiner Mama.
    Deine Sachen sind wunderschön geworden.
    Big hugs
    Alexandra

    Like

  14. Oh sweetie what a lovely post from you.
    The book is amazing. Deine Mutti wouldt very proud of you, when she can see your art work. I´m really sure she do that.
    Wonderful memory.

    Have a lovely sunday my dear friend. xoxo

    Like

  15. Lovely book and great way to handle pain,fantastic way.
    I`m sure your mum would love it!
    xx

    Like

  16. Thanks for sharing your Memory of Mutti Book…please bring it Tuesday.

    Like

  17. Patty, this is a wonderful post and a fantastic project, it looks so beautiful.

    Like

  18. You also touched my heart with this absolutely Lovely work of art and memory-filled inspiration. I did indeed read every word, I think; however, there was a lot to see and take-in so I need to go back and read it again.

    Like

  19. This is such a wonderful “Liebeserklärung” to your mother! Think, she is very proud looking down from her cloud. 😉
    Many greeting from Imke!

    Like

  20. Such a blessing to be close to your mutti! What a beautiful tribute and work of art! Now evertime you want to think of her you have a amazing rememberance. Every page is beautiful! Thank you for sharing something so personal. As always, you have inspired.
    Kate

    Like

  21. Your posts are never long, this one is so special and heartfelt. You did honor to your dear Mutti and to LW’s journal.
    xo Dymphie

    Like

  22. How beautiful is that!! And I know it was great therapy for you to do this…. how wonderfully it turned out! And what a great canvas you had to work in. I’m so glad you shared it with us… your Mutti was so special!!!

    Like

  23. That was and is a beautiful sentiment. You made me tear up too. Great blog. Bet you felt a lot better afterwards…Blessings for a good day, Marguerite

    Like

  24. somehow I can’t find the right words. but are they really necessary here?
    I just wanted to let you know I was moved to tears.
    thank you so much for sharing with us.

    Like

  25. Dear Patty…..your connection with your sweet Mutti is something which will always be there…I am soo touched by your story….

    Like

  26. Dearest Patty….what a beautiful tribute to your Mom and the wonderful relationship that you enjoyed. As usual, you put together such great things and it is marvelous that your friends around the world were a part of that. Thanks for sharing. And no it wasn’t too long a post…each word is special.

    Like

  27. Oh, Patti, absolutely stunning in so many ways. I went thru a similar “healing” session when I did a scapebook using many photos of my mother. I have a photo of her the day before she died with her sister, my aunt, just smiling up a storm in the nursing home. Anway, after I was done – the scrapbook took me all week of a vacation, and after all the tears, and smiles, and laughter, I felt more at peace with her passing. I love what you received and how you honored the art received with the new art you made. The healing will still take place and the grief will slowly fade a little. As you know, you always hold your loved ones in a special place in your heart and soul. Hugs

    Like

  28. for sure art has such an healing aspect! i LOVE your post, it is so touching…
    and if you ever need some ephemera as old german book pages etc, please let me know… i will send you as much as you´d like to have…

    Like

  29. Oh, Sweet Patty,
    I read every word myself. My heart always hurts when you write about Mutti. I know it is yet so soon for you,,,and it also makes me long for my own Mom, I love the thought of you and LW doing something together and the magic that came forth. My goodness, girl, it is all quite magic. You are both so creative in your art work. I enjoy and respect you both. I am a believer in the healing power of art, more and more. That is nothing that helps me heal…slow work but well worth it,
    Wishing you healing…
    and sending you a big, big hug,
    Suz

    Like

  30. OMG, what a warm and beautiful post…Gorgeous altered book and a beautiful tribute to your beloved Mutti.
    Art is truly a great healer, and your wonderful artwork and blog post has truly touched me today .
    hugs!
    Jan x

    Like

  31. Your art and your blog words are just beautiful – and I agree that doing this kind of art – and using intuition – is so healing and honouring too. Thank you so much for sharing your art and words too.

    Like

  32. Pingback: Truth … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  33. Pingback: Kindness is the greatest wisdom… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  34. Pingback: Rosemary for Remembrance… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  35. Pingback: Timeless | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

