Thanksgiving tea…

we had our heads in the clouds for Thanksgiving this year…

lucky to live less than a couple hours drive from Shenandoah National Park and beautiful Skyline Drive here in Virginia…

when our boys were young we went up each year at Thanksgiving…

but for many years after that we crossed the Potomac River and headed to Omi’s house for what was usually a small but much anticipated gathering…

my Mutti was definitely the heart of every celebration…

with her passing this February we felt at odds and decided during the summer to make reservations to stay in a cabin and have our buffet style Thanksgiving meal at the lodge…

the rolling hills and valley vistas welcomed us…

the trees full of character worn and weathered with time…

it is the 75th anniversary of the Shenadoah National Park

the deer hardly flinch when you pass them on the drive (speed limit 35 mph) it is not uncommon to see cars pulled over snapping photos…

and if you’re really lucky you may spot a black bear or two…

Mother Nature set a perfect tea table for our traveling tea cup…

it just so happens that the cup and saucer are from the set my Mom always used at Thanksgiving…

blessed with lovely weather we took several Thanksgiving day hikes…

here’s wishing you a really lovely T Tuesday

“All walking is discovery.  On foot we take the time to see things whole.” ~Hal Borland

*footnote*

somehow I managed to post my T Tuesday post on Monday…no idea how that happened…I’ll blame it on my excitement to spend the day with my BFF Carol who was visiting from Florida…it’s been awhile since we’ve been face to face…thank you for a wonderful time sweet Carol OXO

31 responses to “Thanksgiving tea…

  1. Patty; I couldn’t think of a better way to spend Thanksgiving. I keep going back to look at your photos – beautiful, tranquil, and in touch with nature. I am so happy you and yours had that opportunity. A very memorable Thanksgiving for sure! xxoo Marilyn

    Like

  2. Great photos of such a lovely area!

    Like

  3. A beautiful setting! I love the mountains….. I think I need a trip!

    Like

  4. I’m still trying to catch up on my favorite blogs….but I’m so “thankful” that they’re waiting for me! This was such a lovely post, dear Patty, and the pictures are exquisite!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  5. What beautiful images Pattyxxxhope your Thanksgiving tea was wonderfulxxxlynda

    Like

  6. Wonderful photos to remind us that we are fortunate to be living so close to such a wonder-filled parkway. Your post brought back great memories of days gone by when our children were growing up and again as we travelled the parkway taking them back and forth to college. Thanks for the memories.

    Like

  7. Hi Patty Such beautiful photos! Looks like a wonderful Thanksgiving Day.

    Like

  8. The wonder of nature….never get tired or bored with it 🙂 I could easily get lost in it. So beautiful and we, too, have the same kind of country all around us. I am so Thankful 🙂 tfs

    Like

  9. Your photos are a benediction and blessing…I’m just astonished. Their beauty, this is a real Thanksgiving in every way, Patty! Thank you, thank you for sharing!! Bless you, Patty!

    Like

  10. The USA is such a big country with very diverse and beautiful scenery, but these photos show Virginia must be near the top of the list. Maybe I’ll visit one day… I hope.

    Like

  11. Somehow I know that Mutti was pleased with your Thanksgving.

    Lovely areas of the country, great HEART rocks and tree stumps, and a bear? Oh, my!

    Like

  12. Lovely, Patty.
    Nature does help us heal, I think. I am so glad you were able to have a very special Thanksgiving Tea with your sweet husband. It looks so lovely! You live in a beautiful area!
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  13. well well well … always a delight to stop by, you have such a fabulous eye for shots. the heart trunk is just amazing, did you bring it home? 😉

    Like

  14. What a place. So peaceful and beautiful.

    Like

  15. I’m very late for Thanksgiving and quite early for Tuesday Tea. But I so enjoyed your Thanksgiving memories. I suspect your holiday buffet was superb and no cleanup involved. I truly enjoyed the scenery and the always enviable photographs.

    Like

  16. A beautiful place indeed for a truly memorable gathering….Happy Tuesday dear friend!!!

    Like

  17. it is always a good thing to change things up when we come up to holidays without loved ones, physically i mean … of course, your heart tree is wonderful and so is your Cherry Pie, in Sew!! love being in the same issue with you dear Patty! xoxox

    Like

  18. what a sweet little cabin for a get away. talk about a room with a view! i can’t tell if you live in a particularly beautiful place, or if you just present it beautifully. i think it must be a bit of both. i could *feel* the quiet in your photos. i hope you enjoyed your time.

    Like

  19. Such a beautiful place. So glad you were able to enjoy your Thanksgiving in a new special way.

    Like

  20. It looks like a very beautiful and fitting place to celebrate your thanks … It was so wise of you to plan in advance … I hope and pray for more of this kind of peace as you navigate the next several weeks of holidays and their memories.

    ((((hugs))))

    Like

  21. That is a lot of good nature to be Thankful for! Happy tea Tuesday to you!
    Peace~
    Dawn

    Like

  22. I just KNEW that “traveling teacup” was bound to make an appearance in this beautiful environment, Patty! And of course, memories of your beloved Mutti colored your day, as did mine of my Dad. So happy to hear that you had a beautiful Thanksgiving! Many blessings! ♥ Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  23. Beautiful photos, Patty. The Skyline Drive is something everyone should visit at least once in their lives. I loved the scenery, the animals, and the lovely heart-shaped rocks (?). Our TG was strange in that dh and I went out to Ruth’s Chris and actually spoke to no one all day except the wait staff at the restaurant. The offspring did get in touch on Friday!

    Like

  24. So very beautiful, Patty. I’ve been a bit blog-absent, but my blog friends haven’t been far from my mind, and I’ve thought of you often, knowing that this was your first Thanksgiving without your Mutti. What a splendid idea to surround yourself with beauty, to let someone else do the cooking and simply to be. I hope you found restoration and peace. Hugs to you.

    Like

  25. Very beautiful photos. We had the good fortune of visiting in that area and driving the Skyline last summer. It is very lovely out there!

    Like

  26. WOW! A beautiful post and pics …as always Patty 🙂
    Jan x

    Like

  27. Lovely photos! I hope your Thanksgiving was a good one despite your Mutti not being there…

    Like

  28. Wonderful memories, fantastic post with awesome pictures dear Patty 🙂 I’m so happy to hear your first thankgsgiving without your dearest Mutti was a beautiful one. It must have been wonderful and sad at the same time, to feel her presence yet miss having her there. My thoughts are with you dear friend.
    Blessings and hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  29. Hi Patty! Hope all is well? Love your pictures, such a beautiful place. You really have an eye for hearts 😉

    Like

  30. OMGosh – you got to see a bear – I have yet to see one here. Beautiful spot – love the cabin and all the hearts you found!!!!! I may have to visit there…….send me that link again please?

    Like

  31. Hi Patty! Has it really been that long since I stopped by?!!! Your photography is gorgeous as always!!!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

