a winter gift…

omiswoodencabinet-1in clearing out my parents attic earlier this year we came upon this great old wooden cabinet with a glass door measuring 19″ … 48.26cm tall x 11″ … 27.94cm wide at the widest…

any story that went with it is now lost…

was it a clock cabinet perhaps from my father’s boyhood home in Nebraska…

maybe something he planned to repair…

I had to rescue it…

just because…

there has been a lot of quiet time recently to sit and ponder what I might do with it…

white trees that I dyed in some old loose black tea were a beginning element along with shredded book text…

using Martha Stewart’s Fringe Scissors was good and challenging exercise for my hands…

I tucked in a weathered clock face that my dear friend Lennie Stimpson picked up at The Cottage for me along with an old fan that wants to shatter every time you look at…

back in the day I collected unpainted German pewter ornaments

magpiesnest-christmaspast-6

I resisted the newer painted versions for the longest while…

I will show you my first painted ornament in a future post

(read in a whisper…it’s a swan)…

back to my altered cabinet…

to reflect the ‘seasons and the passage of time’ I added the moon and stars

magpiesnest-winter1

the recycled “A Winter Gift” sign made me think of the many winter birthdays in our family…

the real beauty of this cabinet is that the things I added are temporarily attached…

a reminder of the impermanence of things…

it can be changed with the seasons…

“Lately, the world felt fragile, like a blown egg, as if it might shatter beneath a careless touch.” ~Kim Edwards, “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter”


40 responses to “a winter gift…

  1. Patty; I am overwhelmed, here, with emotion looking at this cabinet you rescued and how beautifully you did it. What meaning behind this – the possibilities, the dreams, the thoughts of what was. Absolutely amazing! I love this! xxoo

    Like

  2. Ooooooh, Patty, what a great work and soooooo beautiful . I love it so much.

    Have a lovely weekend, dear Patty

    Like

  3. Oh Patty, this piece is exquisite and the tale of it’s becoming is too. I love the pieces being impermanently fixed and your reasons why. Love the Kim Edwards quotation too. Beautiful Patty, just beautiful! pen x

    Like

  4. Just beautiful Patty, I love what you did with it! The style of the little cabinet reminds me of tramp art and from what I understand itinerant folk artists traveled from town to town and sold their creations door to door to make a little cash. Maybe one of your ancestors bought this little cabinet from one of these artists to help him out! Lucky you to own this amazing piece of history!
    Tina xo

    Like

  5. This is beautiful, and so filled with memories for you.

    Another wondrous post.

    x

    Like

  6. Your alterations are exquisite and give the cabinet a wonderful magical touch!

    Like

  7. You have given new life to something that had little to no purpose. What a wonderful treasure!

    Like

  8. This is a lovely work of art! I love what you did! The trees and metal santa are wonderful! Enjoy your holiday. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  9. Patty!!! I LOVE this cabinet. It is such a treasure. And what you have done with it is beautiful…. you did great justice to this piece. It is wonderful that you can change it with the seasons of time and with the seasons of your heart. Your parents would love it. I look forward to future sightings.

    Like

  10. An amazing piece and I love that you can change it up 🙂 Maybe when looking back at old photos….would you see it somewhere?
    I love looking at the background of old photos. Unfortunately these days, many photos are cropped and up close, you miss a lot 🙂

    Like

  11. This came out beautifully! I can see it dressed for different seasons so it can stay out year round.

    Like

  12. How lovely and how meaningful. I don’t think I would be changing it because, to me, it looks timeless.

    Like

  13. This is one great post, and such wonders you have added . It is so good and I “second” all the previous comments , especially Nigel’s comment. I couldn’t have put it into words any better! It is a beautiful tribute to things known and unknown from the past and now ….. the story continues.

    Like

  14. A beautiful cabinet even without “the story” has such meaning. You certainly have a way with words Patty.

    Like

  15. Gorgeous, Patty! My cabinet does not have all the memories attached as I recently picked it up at a Thrift Store, but I too altered it. My winter scene includes an altered dictionary tree, sheet music and a vintage doily. I’d love to send you a picture 🙂
    Nita

    Like

  16. Your creation is unique and magnificent, dear Patty. So beautiful!

    Have a lovely weekend my friend.
    Hugs
    MARTINA

    Like

  17. This is so beautiful and I love how you decorated it-it suits the piece so well! I have many things from grand and great grandparents and I treasure every bit.
    PS I’m now a folllower now that I figured it out-takes me awhile 🙂

    Like

  18. absolutely beautiful work, Pattti!!!
    and a very meaningful one too…
    happy holidays to you and yours!!!

    Like

  19. oh Patty its just beautiful, , i love that you can change it as needed too….its a shame the story has been lost but i guess you can spend many happy hours imagining…..

    Like

  20. oh this is gorgeous….so beautiful and I love reading the story about it.
    Have a good weekend………..take care………..CYNNIE

    Like

  21. I love it! The clock base is beautiful all on it’s own to start with…the you addition of such great pieces and thoughts just make it. I love that it can be such a transitional piece, what fun. I see a great future for you and this “timeless” piece. You go Patty, follow your heart :). Hugs.

    Like

  22. Oh Sweetie what a wonderful project.
    Absolutely unique and beautiful. Love the details.

    Have a wonderful weekend my dear friend. xoxo

    Like

  23. Wow, your altered art is breathtaking, the winter gift looks fantastic.

    Like

  24. how beautiful and poignant…i think this might my most favorite thing ever…xoxo dear one…

    Like

  25. Oh dear Patty…. your altered cabinet takes my breath away… so very beautiful… I love the trees… the moon and stars… all of it… it has such a magic feel to it… what a stunning piece…
    Wishing you a joy filled Christmas and New Year :))

    love Jenny x

    Like

  26. Patty! This is beautiful! You certainly gave the old cabinet new life. Even though you don’t know the old story of you…you’ve started a new story to pass along.

    Like

  27. I’m at my friend Scott;s and had to stop by and wish you a very merry Christmas.. I love the impermanence of this,

    Like

  28. Patty, what a wonderful cabinet to play with! I think one of the best things is that you have made it reusable over and over with the seasons and special occasions. I got some of those fringe scissors of MS also. They are certainly a lot harder for me to operate than I thought they would be.

    Like

  29. Hi Patty. Your clock cabinet is wonderful !! I love how you have brought it to life. Sorry to hear your hands have been giving you problems, and yes, I agree, never take anything for granted. I too have been AWOL and not been able to catch up with everyone and every thing in blog land. There has just been too much going on these last couple of months, some good, some not so good. I am hoping things will settle down after Christmas. I wish you a safe and joyous one my friend. xx

    Like

  30. STUNNING! Somerset worthy! I absolutely LOVE this! And I think you are right– it’s a clock cabinet. How fortunate that it was never thrown out, but was kept until the day you would find it and transform it. 🙂 What a treasure!

    Like

  31. inanoctopusgarden

    What a stunning piece…it offered me a moment to sit quielty and enjoy the scene you created – a needed moment as I feel we are rushing through the holiday. I love the trees and santa with the smiling face above seeming to have some magical wisdom.
    love it!

    Like

  32. Just stopping by to wish you a Merry Christmas! May 2012 bring many blessings! xoxo

    Like

  33. ingenious!! thanks for the ecard and wishing you a very merry christmas and a great new year.hugs.Px

    Like

  34. Wow – what you did with this is such a multi-dimensional tribute and reminder for all of us on impermanence, enjoying each moment and being true to ourselves. I hope it is preserved for centuries to come!
    xox
    t

    Like

  35. A wonderful transformation and find, so interesting! I love that it can be changed for the seasons!

    Like

  36. THe cabinet is as beautiful as the thoughts you have working on it/seeing it/decorating it. Enjoy the holidayseason dear one! I haven’t been commenting much but I’m still here and ‘following’ from a distance…. sending good thoughts, light and happiness your way

    Like

  37. Oh this is awesome! I like the fact that you made it changeable! Can’t wait to see what you do for Spring!

    Like

  38. This is so precious!! You have a Magical little world inside that old clock! How fun it will be to fill it with new treasures whenever your whim dictates 🙂

    Like

  39. Patty, this may be one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. You know it had a story even if you don’t know what it was, which makes it more special. Now it has a story all its own.

    Been a poor visitor and blogger lately, but catching up and sending you greetings of holiday cheer!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

