where did the time go…

the last two months of 2011 really slipped away from me…

as I am now finally feeling much much better I didn’t want to miss the chance to share a lovely Queen Bee 5 holiday swap with you…

here are the special handmade creations that I received from around the globe…

Linda’s bee skep shaker…

Margaret’s altered matchbox…

Nathalie’s china doll leg pin cushion…

and Carole’s  snowman…

each one a real delight…

below are the wool and lavender hanging sachets I made…

luckily I got these finished and in the mail early …

magpiesnestqb5ornieswap

each white wool bird ‘feather’ was cut out and stitched on one by one…

I enjoy making the wire and bead bird nests so much that I am always happy when I think of a new way to use them…

magpiesnestqb5ornieswap-1

one of the things I did get to do this holiday season was bleach and dye bottle brush trees …

so while I had my jar of dye handy I threw in some silk ribbon and odds and ends of white linen and doilies…

magpiesnestwrappedornies

thanks to generous Leiann Quesnel and Fran Podlesney in our local altered arts group for sharing their die cut machines and to Susan Godby and all the gals for their inspiration and support…

I baked my first batch of cookies yesterday…

in a ‘normal’ Christmas season I would have baked many different kinds…

sometimes things don’t turn out quite like we plan…

“Be content with what you have, rejoice in the way things are.  When you realize there is nothing lacking, the whole world belongs to you.” ~Lao Tzu

35 responses to “where did the time go…

  1. Lovely gifts 🙂 and your little sachets are gorgous I love how you made the wings on the dove (bird)! Very pretty colours from your dyeing 🙂
    I’m still not caught up from all the wonderful Christmas festivities, but getting there 🙂

    Like

  2. So beautiful little things, dear Patty

    Like

  3. what darling swap art! Your sachets are beautiful-the birds remind me of peace doves-really lovely Patty.

    Like

  4. Wonderful creations and great treasures! So much talent… Nothing goes the way I plan any more–I do better when I don’t feel pressured. I still have a fruitcake and sugar cookies to make….

    Like

  5. I love my little bird sachet! You always make the best stuff! I didn’t know you used a die cutter!!! How wonderful are those!!! I’m glad you are feeling better….cookies in January are a treat!

    Like

  6. So glad you are feeling better…stay well!

    Like

  7. …oh, and did you change your banner? It’s nice…

    Like

  8. lovely swaps Patti …. your little bird sachets are precious and I’m sure they smell heavenly … your bleached and dyed trees look fabulous! I don’t think I mentioned it when you posted them earlier … I will have to experiment with that 🙂

    p.s. cookies are good at any time of the year … especially when those you love are least expecting them …

    Like

  9. o so lovely! your creations are just magical!! lucky ladies!

    Like

  10. Lots of lovely goodies to behold here dear Patty, as ever. You really are the quote queen – i love your quotes. They have an uncanny knack of seeming to speak directly to me wherever I am in my life! Thank you. Best news to hear that you are feeling better. I am so happy that your hands have been restored to you and, their gifts, to us. pen xxx

    Like

  11. Charming, charming, charming! I bought you a swan ornament and then saw that someone else had sent you the same one. Oh, well. I may have to paint it pink and send it off for Valentines Day. Or pastel for Easter…
    Or red, white and blue…
    Love you,
    Suz

    Like

  12. These are all fabulous Patty! Oh; how I adore those little birdies! Thanks for sharing with us! xxoo

    Like

  13. Oh, nice gifts from your friends! So eclectic! And your little wool birdies are divine.

    Cookies? I used to make dozens of them, too. But not anymore. I’d eat them ALL given the chance!

    Warm 2012 hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  14. what a delightful and interesting swap and i love yours with the hit of blue….
    the little leg pin cushion is rather captivating too !

    gald you are feeling better Patty xo

    Like

  15. Such deliciousness…. both made and received dear Patty… gorgeous pics and I love your quote…

    take care
    Jenny x

    Like

  16. Lots of nice things, the dolls leg, is adorable….sooooo cute.

    Like

  17. I feel like I’ve been away from everyone for so long! I’m trying to catch up but also realizing that I can’t so will try to let it go. I hope your hands are better! and Happy New Year to you Patty!

    Like

  18. meep! i love the birdie sachets!

    Like

  19. Just lovely gift swaps Patty! Don’t you just love opening the packages and see what wondrous surprises there are? So glad you’re feeling better! Love your lavender sachets! Just beautiful. happy happy new year to you!! Hope the year is filled with unending creativity, joy and smiles! Jilly

    Like

  20. All lovely, each and every one!

    Like

  21. What lovely gifts! I have really missed seeing your art pages. I hope to see more soon! Have a wonderful New Year!

    Like

  22. Wonderful gifts from friend and your art is magic.
    Amazing design sweetie. Love them all. xoxo

    Like

  23. Thanks for sharing these beautiful little things, love your photos.
    I also wish you a happy new year full with blessings, good health and creativity,
    hugs Anja

    Like

  24. The Gifts you have received are really delightful. I love your lavender sachets each one stitched with love, those bead eggs with nests are such a wonderful touch. xx

    Like

  25. Beautiful goodies! So glad to hear you are feeling better!!

    Like

  26. Magnificent gifts, dear Patty! Love them all!
    Hugs and Love
    MARTINA ♥●•٠·˙

    Like

  27. Happy new Year Patty!
    Hugs Alexandra

    Like

  28. What great swap treasures, those you made and those that you received. Such creativity among all of you and I Loved having a peak at all of them.

    Like

  29. Those gifts are absolutely delightful – aren’t swaps fun?! And the sachets you made are amazing and beautiful. What detail! Happy New Year to you and yours!
    Blessings,
    Tricia

    Like

  30. Loving all these wonderful ornies! What a beautiful collection.
    I hope you had a Happy New Year and looking forward to 2012!

    Like

  31. I love the ornaments you received, Patty. Your sachets are absolutely lovely! Sorry to hear you were under the weather…there’s lots of crud going around. I have had something out here in OK…got sick in time for New Year’s Eve! Better now, I think. Maybe, one of these days, I’ll be lucky enough to swap with you! Take care and feel wonderful!!!

    Like

  32. Thank you for sharing all these lovely and inspring gifts. Your lavender sachets are truly delightful with these beautiful wintery colours.

    Like

  33. Your sachet ornaments were so sweet and gorgeous at the same time – loved them! Glad to see you back in action and smiling! Wishing you a healthy & creative new year!!
    (love the Lao Tzu quote too)

    Like

  34. It was so much fun reading your previous posts and catching up on your blog entries. It was fun to see all the lovely gifts you received and those birds sachets were adorable and looked very, very time consuming.

    I wish you the very best in 2012. Thanks for stopping by when I was offline. It meant a lot to me, even though I couldn’t reciprocate. And I want to wish you a happy belated New Year, too. Here’s to good art, good tea, and continued good friendship.

    Like

  35. I just love it when you have fabric on your blog!! (especially when it’s your own hand dyed fabric) heehee x

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

