Heart Journal 2012 … a new challenge blog

there is a brilliant new monthly challenge with some fabulous inspiration from the talented Thealie and Lilibule that you will not want to miss here

*footnote: as the Heart Journal Challenge is a French blog you can click on the Google Translation feature at the top of their blog*

I have always had a fondness for hearts so this challenge really speaks to me…

the January challenge calls for using some masking tape and wire in your heart…

I chose wire mesh …

it’s been some time now since I’ve participated in a challenge…

I started by tearing pieces of masking tape and sticking them onto the heart…

with lots of layers of paint…

copper mesh tears like fabric and when heated with a heat tool it gets a nice patina to it…

the tag is cut from a piece of cardstock that I played with some time ago using a doily and thick gesso and more sloshes of paint as my friend Margaret likes to say…

I may want to do more finishing on the backs of my hearts…but for now I am happy to have made something…

to find out the particulars of the January challenge you can visit here

“In a full heart there is room for everything, and in an empty heart there is room for nothing.” ~Antonio Porchia

74 responses to “Heart Journal 2012 … a new challenge blog

  1. A wonderful heart so full of inspiration … thanks you also for pointing to this challenge. It looks tempting!

    Like

  2. I love making hearts – have made a series of pins I call heartworks – this is seriously tempting!

    Like

  3. Looks like a fun challenge! I love your interpretation. The be is my favorite part. I am having a love affair with bees at the moment. I think it is my new “thing” for the year. I’ve been drawing them and “pinning” them on Pinterest. The back is as interesting as the front. As a matter of fact, I thought it was a double sided projects! ha
    ~Dawn

    Like

  4. That´s AWESOME dear Patty!

    Like

  5. What a lovely challenge, Patty. It reminds me to put “heart” into each month of the year. I love how you’ve executed the colors to compliment the mesh. I look forward to following your progress!

    Like

  6. Its wonderfull you heart love it

    Like

  7. Wahouu, It’s beautiful, i love… NatetCoton

    Like

  8. What a beautiful heart!

    Like

  9. Simply amazing, Patty. I would love to be a fly on your art room wall as you create. What a learning experience that would be! Beautiful work.

    Like

  10. Ditto to Faye’s comment. Love the wire mesh after heat gun.

    Like

  11. This heart is beautiful, of the very beautiful work. Best regards

    Like

  12. Gorgeous heart, Patty . Very inspiring.

    I saw the tuto on the site and I found it so brilliant!

    Like

  13. There you go again……….making beautiful art!
    Hearts. Nothing better.
    Wire mesh? Wonderful.

    I ‘heart’ your heart. And you.

    Like

  14. Love that copper mesh. Your heart turned out beautifully.

    Like

  15. What a great idea. Just been over to look at the blog. I love what you have created.

    Like

  16. Sooooo wundervoll, dear Patty

    Like

  17. Patty gorgeous, and what a great step by step!! it will help if some “non french” ladies would like to come with us!! it would be fantastic!! love your colors and wire mesh looks a wonderful medium!! thank you see you next month!!

    Like

  18. Love your heart and great to use the wire mesh. Never used it before I will have to try it.

    Like

  19. very beautiful heart, and very beautiful blog !!!

    Like

  20. Your heart is very beautiful !! like the mixture of textures, fabric and painting !

    Like

  21. Even the backside is pretty….

    Like

  22. You know I love hearts and yours turned out absolutely gorgeous, love the colours and all the bits you have used.

    Like

  23. Patty this is such a wonderful piece-beautiful and grungy at the same time! The challenge sounds fun (I love hearts too) but I have already signed up for two this year for the first time and don’t want to overcommit and then give up.

    Like

  24. Superbe réalisation,

    Like

  25. Your heart is SO unique. I have never used copper mesh, so I was enthralled reading about it. I may just have to join this challenge. Did I read correctly that it is only once a month.? I can handle that!

    Like

  26. Gorgeous. And using copper mesh is a great idea. Your heart is very special.

    Like

  27. c’est très joli comme réalisation de coeur 🙂

    Like

  28. so so so beautiful Patty! and I am so glad you made something too 🙂

    Like

  29. Oh; Patty! Your heart book is amazing – I’d love to touch it! The textures and your composition – just wonderful. I, too, have never used the copper mesh and you have inspired me once again! Thank you! xxoo

    Like

  30. oh Patty this is going to be amazing, i love the colors and textures you have created…off to check out the links…

    Like

  31. Merci de ton passage à mon tour de découvrir ton superbe coeur très très beau
    à bientot nate

    Like

  32. I’ve never used copper mesh so I found it interesting to see what you did with it. I wonder what would happen if you tried putting a little piece in some vinegar….would it develop a patina too?

    Like

  33. Beautiful Patty.. very tempting this heart journey…lol
    Kath
    xx

    Like

  34. Sweetie what can I say ??
    Nothing, I´ve missed the right words in english 😉
    Wow I love it. So gorgeous heart and the details…..Absolutely perfect. Love it, Love it, Love it…..xoxo

    Like

  35. Hello Pat,

    Your heart is very original in its design, a really big congratulations on your achievement, I like it a lot and it promises a very nice “heartJournal”.
    Thank you avpir also explained how you did it, I am very happy that you participate with us.
    Kisses and all soon.

    Like

  36. Magnifique et tellement original, bravo, j’adoreeeee.
    MAPY

    Like

  37. Hi Patty,
    your heart is so amazing, love all the little beautiful details. Thanks for sharing the description.
    Hugs Anja

    Like

  38. What a gorgeous heart ! I love it ! Bye, val

    Like

  39. Sounds like a fun tutorial! I really love how you explain your posts, Patty. For those of us who aren’t always familiar with a technique or material, the step by step helps me think I MIGHT, just MIGHT be able to do something similar. Not design-wise, but technique-wise. Thanks!

    Like

  40. Wow ! your heart is awesome ! I love it !

    Like

  41. magnifique !!!!!participation bravo…

    Like

  42. What a fun challenge!! I’m a little tempted to join myself!! Your heart is beautiful! And your artwork is pretty nice as well. *grin*

    Like

  43. OMG, how beautiful your heart turned out! i´m in AWE!! love these colors, love everything about it! i think i must go and check out this challenge…

    Like

  44. Hi Patty! What a beautiful heart you made! Looks like a fun challenge, thanks for the link 🙂 Take care, my friend.

    Like

  45. Fantastic colorful pieces.

    Like

  46. very original!!I love it!!bizz

    Like

  47. That bee is amazing – but the entire process fascinates me and your outcome is a beautiful work of mixed media art. Looks like a great challenge!

    Like

  48. Love, love love this!!! Beautiful Patty.
    Kate

    Like

  49. love the step by step and thanks for stopping by my blog, MJ

    Like

  50. Merci pour ton passage sur mon blog. J’aime beaucoup le tien , très raffiné!

    Like

  51. That is a heart full and it is Lovely! Lucky gals too, who will receive one.

    Like

  52. very lovely … this heart

    Like

  53. Very beautiful heart ! i love it !
    And thank you for your message !

    Like

  54. oh vraiment très beau ^^

    Like

  55. beautiful ….love love love
    merci pour ton passage
    bises

    Like

  56. Very beautiful !

    Like

  57. Ton coeur est magnifique !!!

    Like

  58. Wow, very special and nice. Thank you for the description of the process. I love the phrase too!

    Like

  59. beautiful heart

    Like

  60. magnifique ton coeur, original, très belle texture, j’adore love love mamypassion

    Like

  61. I really like your take on the heart and what you did with the wire mesh and rivets. Am tempted to investigate wire mesh now. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  62. so, so, beautiful !!!!

    Like

  63. Verry nice, bravo.

    Like

  64. Very nice and original and I love the complementary colors.

    Like

  65. J’aime beaucoup l’idée de la petite poche avec le tag dedans, un très joli coeur.

    Like

  66. Very original heart !
    Thank you for sharing the method..;
    Mirevan from Chambéry

    Like

  67. beautiful heart !!!thank you very much ! kiss
    merci d’etre venue sur mon blog , ce week end je vais prendre du temps pour regarder tes creations !!!bises mady

    Like

  68. Magnifique ! Quelle jolie réalisation !
    Very beautiful !!!!

    Like

  69. Art helps me breathe too. Your heart is amazing, it is out of the ordinary. I love it. See you soon with the next heart.
    Nat

    Like

  70. Thanks for your message on my blog. Your heart is very special, great work !

    Like

  71. Pingback: February Heart Journal 2012 | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  72. Interprétation très personnelle et originale, ton coeur est magnifique J’adore la pettie abeille et l’idée de la poche en tissu.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

