“Fears and tears”

Pat of Artfully Ooglebloops made me do it …

I joined the Sketchbook Project 2012 World Tour back in the fall of last year…

for a while there with me out of commission for almost two months and trying to make it through the holidays I did wonder if I would be ready for the 31 January mailing deadline…

I chose the “Fears and Tears” theme from the list of available themes without too much thought…

the first thing I knew I wanted to do was glue pages together and collage the remaining pages with lots of old torn text…

thanks to Margaret

for the vintage French page with men in their hammocks which reminded me of butterfly cocoons…

when I saw the F.E.A.R. quote above on Kathy Maximo‘s Facebook page I knew it needed to go into my book…

I have always thought of fear as the opposite of Love…

it just so happens that my centerfold pages have the one real sketch I did of my Secret girl…

dare I say that she looks a bit better in person…

the page is bent open a bit giving her an odd angle…

thanks to Nathalie for that vintage rubber Secret stamp and to Michelle Lum Ho for the perfect ’13’ stamp too…

I am a total novice at drawing and sketching …

Pat assured me it was OK and that ‘anything goes‘ for this project …

sketched or not …

she participated last year and does draw beautifully…

she had her book digitalized which is a great idea since the books become part of the Brooklyn Art Library and are not returned to the artists…

I am happy with how my pages came together even with hardly any sketching…

finding the right words was a great starting point…

I did sketch in the left hand side of the red lips (big whoop *ggg*)…

it was a partial image to begin with…

I stitched a tea bag on the left filling it with tiny paper stars and a Lunaria seed pod that I wrote ‘Love’ on…

my favorite German gold flimmerstern made the perfect burst behind a postage stamp…

the LOVE stamp on the back cover was the one we used to mail our wedding invitations back in 1981…

I enjoyed this creative process and marveled at how random words and phrases and meanings appeared through the gesso and paint without me consciously focusing on that happening…

thank you Pat for encouraging me to take part …

I said my goodbyes and my book is on its way …

what an amazing project the Brooklyn Art Library is in the midst of…

massive and most impressive …

“What will survive of us is Love” ~ Philip Larkin

51 responses to ““Fears and tears”

  1. Patty! Well; this was a feast for my eyes, this morning, for sure! My jaw dropped each and every time I viewed your art in this book! What a wonderful project and it’s quite a commitment and I’m so happy you joined in. I love your sketches and I truly am drawn to each and every page! Kudos to you! xxoo

    Like

  2. THESE pages are ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! Patty…..and I am sure they will reach out to many…..

    Like

  3. Oh dear Patty… your gorgeous book is AMAZING !!! So love your sketches… each page has so much depth and meaning… and your LOVE stamp is beautiful… as is your quote :)) Simply Stunning…

    Hugs
    Jenny x

    Like

  4. what a fabulous book Patty!!!

    Like

  5. absolutely Fabulous !!!! Magnifique création, travail très personnel, merci pour le partage.
    oxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
    MAPY

    Like

  6. What a wonderful start to 2012!

    YOU DONE GOOD!

    Like

  7. yay! you did awesome! they’re very lucky to be receiving your book 🙂

    Like

  8. WOW Patty…This is so creative, a real work of art! All your pages are amazing…Love all the details. …and I agree The Brooklyn Art Library are sooooo lucky to get their hands on this beauty!!
    Jan x

    Like

  9. Patty, I am in awe of your pages and totally envious of all that you have done and accomplished. What a magnificent project to have completed! The colors, your composition of your collages/sketch pages are just wonderful. Love it all, including those butterflies, your love stamp and tea bag! What an amazing collection of works all in one sketchbook!! hugs

    Like

  10. What an awesome book it is!!

    Like

  11. Wow, this book is gorgeous, dear Patty.

    Have a lovely weekend

    Like

  12. great art will never die…

    Like

  13. This is Terrific, Loved every page, starting with … the F.E.A.R. quote and on and on ….. Fantastic. I’ll be having more than one look-see …. I never seem to see it all the First or Second time around.

    Like

  14. What an incredible book! And an incredible project! I love your secret girl! I am going back to look some more…… you always inspire me, Patty.

    Like

  15. Have to say…. I’ve always loved that definition of FEAR as well! So true!

    Like

  16. I forgot! I also Loved the postage stamp from your wedding invites in 1981! That is a WOWSER! I’ll find more, the book will be a treasure for all who see it!

    Like

  17. TEARS COME FROM THE SOUL…..that’s my favorite page spread, followed by FEAR COMES FROM UNCERTAINTY. Oh, dear, I do love them all thought!
    Your Journal speaks from YOUR HEART, dear Patty. Your creation is just beautiful and thoughtful and caring. Like you. Congratulations on completeing it even with all the obsticles you had….it was meant to be.

    Hugs dear one,
    Jan

    Like

  18. Your book is fantastically well done–especially the sketch of the gir! Bravo!

    Like

  19. Hi Patty! Hope you are feeling all well again! This is a beautiful sketchbook and I love the colour scheme that you have used 🙂 Take care, my friend!

    Like

  20. That’s a fantastic effort… such beautiful pages.

    Like

  21. Wow!! This Is amazing! I love how you said that “Pat” made you do it. I’ve been coaxing several others who gave off hand comments that the postcard challenge sounded awesome to join in as well. I’m like the “bad kid” in an after school special. 🙂 Only it’s a good thing!!

    Like

  22. Once again, you have surpassed yourself. I can but shake my head in awe.

    Like

  23. im blown away patty, there is so much depth in them….your pages are just beautiful and im so glad you found the energy and inclination to get started…. sometimes you have to start…….something im grappling with 🙂

    Like

  24. You are going to knock the socks off of that challenge. The degree of your skill, your color, your elegance brings such power to the page. I join others who can only shake their heads in awe.

    Like

  25. Amazement!!! You go girl!!! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  26. There is so much to look at…they are all amazing!
    Kate

    Like

  27. Wow oh wow! I think your book is completely wonderful! Each and every page is so fascinating with so much to look at! I love it all!
    It would have been a wrench for me to let it go!
    Hugs,
    Terri

    Like

  28. I agree with Terri – how could you let this go? I certainly wouldn’t be able to send it on. I like ‘release your tears, let your feelings flow’ – how true that is!

    Like

  29. WOW!!!!!!!!!
    Each and every page is a masterpiece Patty – you soooo rock as an artist.

    I can see it has special meaning for you too as you’ve put your heart and soul into it!!!!!!
    I hope you have it on display in a prominent place!

    hugs
    Shane xx

    Like

  30. Wat a gorgeous book, love the colour use;o)

    Like

  31. These pages are absolutely gorgeous, Patty!
    Stunning design!
    Have a nice sunday my dear.
    Hugs
    MARTINA

    Like

  32. Jo Anne Bland

    What a wonderful you started my day. You amaze me.

    Like

  33. Somehow it never occurred to me that the “SKETCHBOOK” project involved sketching. Somehow, that very concept alluded me. I’ve seen quite a few of these, and many of them focused on collage, rather than sketching. However, I really, really like what you did, even though the sketching was sketchy (grin). I think after all you have been through this past year, it was the perfect theme, and the ideal book. Very lovely, and very well done.

    Like

  34. Rebecca Buchanan

    I have been getting your mailings for a long time now. But the last 4 or so Yahoo cannot seem to display them on my e-mail, all I get is an empty page. Has anyone else had this kind of trouble with Yahoo?
    Becky

    Like

  35. Patty….every page is amazing…stunnig book!!:))

    xox
    Guriana:))

    Like

  36. Your book is such a work of heart …. does the book ever return to you? knowing you, it wouldn’t matter so long as you knew someone was comforted by the reading of it for many years to come. I’m glad you were able to push through your heartaches and get it down on paper – a beautiful beautiful work of heart.

    Like

  37. My sweet Patty,

    O M G !!!!!!! Whta can I say ???
    Your journal is brilliant. So many fabulous pages. Wow wow wow wow wow wow wow !!!! xoxo

    Like

  38. Patty, what a stunning book, this has to be one of your finest!! I love the detail on your pages, the colours and the collage elements, so totally you. I’m so pleased you finsihed it, what a treasure! Mx

    Like

  39. This is incredible Patty & what a super project to be part of. I love your secret girl.
    Thank you for visiting – I don’t make much these days but still like to see what every one else makes !

    Like

  40. OMG – what a wonderful treasure this is. surely hard to let it go… i also like that definition of “f.e.a.r.”, must bookmark this.

    Like

  41. Fran Podlesney

    Beautiful work Patty! How you find the time truly amazes me. Maybe I should just let everything go and just sit and create!

    Like

  42. your pages are just stunning…
    I’ve been looking at them the last few days and I’m charmed. inspired. encouraged to be braver with my art.
    thank you for inspiration.

    Like

  43. GORGEOUS PAGES, my friend!!!!!
    Hugs from Norway!

    Like

  44. your pages are wonderful!
    do you ever notice that a certain word or phrase tends to present itself at times? you know, like you read it in a book, then you hear a bit about it on the radio, then a friend brings it up? that word for me lately has been “fear” but not in the negative way — in the sense of letting it go, becoming free. and here it is again. thanks for sharing!

    Like

  45. BRAVO !! Beautiful !

    Like

  46. very nice project !! but damage that your book will not come back for you ….

    Like

  47. What an amazing project Patty….wow!!! A real beauty! Have a fun getaway….take care,,,,

    Like

  48. Oh PAtty ! so nice pages for the skechbook project !!!!!! Congratulations to join this gorgeous project ! Wonderfull world ! Hope I can join next year !
    XO

    Like

  49. Congratulations on finishing your sketchbook!!! I’ve been torn between sketching and doing collage, I may do some collage in this one… we’ll see. They’re getting ready to start the one for 2013, are you going to do it again?

    Like

  50. This is an incredible book. Just STUNNING! What an inspiration you are!

    Like

  51. Today I received this notice from The Sketchbook Project: Hello!
    We just wanted to let you know that Amigrilly just viewed your sketchbook (#S62283) at Brooklyn Art Library in Brooklyn, NY!
    Your book has been viewed 10 times so far.
    Sincerely,
    The Sketchbook Project

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

