By Hand…

finally I created a little collage which began with the cardboard from our son’s shoe box…

he was nice enough to run it by me before he put it in the recycling..

I decided to tear the box into pieces rather than adding it to my box collection

other than making some backgrounds and thinking about art I have not been producing all that much lately…

part of my excuse was having our living room carpet replaced which is still causing a good bit of upheaval since the room had to be emptied…

and traveling as wonderful as it is always throws off my balance a bit taking me awhile to settle back in a grove…

had to remind myself to “just do it” and get busy…

magpiesnest-by-hand

here is my postcard sized collage on peeled painted and gessoed cardboard with scrap papers…

a bit of golden tissue…old lace curtain…some shorthand book text and a little rubber stamping…

with a piece of Franky’s Old San Juan bling as a finishing touch…

the lovely girl was patiently waiting on a pile of papers up in my art cave…

with thanks to Elizabeth of Last Door Down the Hall for always sharing so many wonderful images!

AND

the lovely and talented Cynnie is having a really generous and special giveaway that you won’t want to miss here

~* HAPPY MARCH *~




32 responses to “By Hand…

  1. Lovely work Patty… great to see some of the SJ bling there

    Like

  2. Hello, quelle bonne idée de déchirer une boite de chaussures pour faire une telle merveille.
    De la récup, rien que de la récup, j’adore.
    Bizzzz
    MAPY

    Like

  3. I love how you layer everything so perfectly. You know just what to put and where to put it. And the SJ bling is the perfect addition. Like you, I have been THINKING about art, but not making any. And I don’t have a new carpet or vacation excuse to blame it on, either.

    Like

  4. Patty; don’t you just love creating on cardboard. I absolutely love this collage that you created; it’s gorgeous with its layering, colors and the bling is perfect! xxoo

    Like

  5. It is so satisfying to recycle lovely boxes. I just love ‘free’ cardboard. Also your work is so beatiful and textural…just love looking at it!
    xx

    Like

  6. so pretty Patty, happy march to you too! : ) I hope it gets warmer where you live, as the warmth of summer starts to leave us (we’ll be gladly sending you over some sunshine, it’s been crazy hot over there, phew!)

    Like

  7. Sooo beautiful, dear Patty

    Like

  8. Love that you used some of your newly acquired bling!!! I love cardboard! Beautiful little ATC!!! Happy March! How can it be March alreadyyyyyyy?

    Like

  9. what can I say besides- awesome as always Patty!
    xo

    Like

  10. This is amazingly beautiful, Patty! I love the stamping, colors, image, composition… Everything about it is lovely!
    Kate

    Like

  11. Perfect “trash to art”. I’m glad you’re getting back in the groove!

    Like

  12. First of all, it is lovely! And I’m so glad you are finding your muse again — it takes time — especially when things are out of order! And, three cheers on having a good son with a good eye who knows his mum well!

    Like

  13. she is just deliciously done in patty blues….love her! especially love the bit of lace curtain & OSJ bling….perfect!

    Like

  14. ooooh what an artistic girl can do with a Birkie box my dear…lovely indeed.
    and geeee thanks for the little plug, I appreciate it:) that def. gets you five brownie points for today:)

    Like

  15. Dear Patty, it is so beautiful, such fantastic colours,those blue tones, and the crowened “prinsess” looking so beautiful, with the bits of golden tissue ,and bling. I know about it taking time to get into swing again, after having been away, even for some short period-
    And dear Patty,thankyou so much for your beautiful comment on my post,thankyou.
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Like

  16. This is beautiful in its composition, the colours wonderful – the blue reminds me of the sky in the photos you generously shared with us ..

    Like

  17. Definitely a nice start to March to see this!

    Like

  18. Wonderful how you combined all details, love all pieces and the color composition, a really fantastic creation.
    Have a nice weekend,
    xox Anja

    Like

  19. I LOVE peeled cardboard !!!!! And don’t you love it when something comes together with things you have within reach? Beautiful piece Patty. Very sweet girl image. 🙂

    Like

  20. O M G !!!!!!
    Patty you´ve made a wonderful piece of art.
    Absolutely stunning and harmony. Love them.

    Have a lovely weekend my dear friend. xoxo

    Like

  21. I have made any recycled art for a while, but I have some cardboard waiting for the urge to strike 🙂

    Sometimes the best work is when you “Just do it” 🙂

    x

    Like

  22. Beautiful, Patty. Love the gorgeous painted backgrounds.

    Like

  23. you have such a way with textures and layering them … I am quite awed that you can create at all with an upheaval in your midst. We had some re-carpeting last year and it was like moving! argh! but you will love it when it’s done 🙂

    Like

  24. Just beautiful Patty, and I Love the touches of blue everywhere.

    Like

  25. Absolutely gorgeous dear Patty… beautiful collage… and the image is so sweet… happy March to you also… although I am still finding it hard to believe it is here already…

    Hugs
    Jenny x

    Like

  26. great image and love the texture. ;0) Dawn xx

    Like

  27. Beautiful collage, Patty! Gorgeous texture and image!
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

    Hugs,
    Gaby

    Like

  28. Gorgoeus collage, great colours and images. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  29. beautiful wok Patty, love it that you used the old box and you’re so right, just get on and do it even if you don’t really know what you’re doing, it’ll happen anyway! Mx

    Like

  30. Oh this is so pretty Patty! You’ve been getting a lot more art done than I have! Love your photos of the statues! So beautiful!

    Like

  31. So beautiful! Love the bit of PR bling. The perfect accessory to top it off.

    Like

  32. Beautiful! I’ve been playing more with torn cardboard as a base and am really enjoying it-I even use the corrugated center as a stencil-fun!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

