*Son* Tea

as our twenty-three year old magpie said:

“if I only had a time machine”…

he could turn back time and have the tibia and fibula of his left leg unbroken …

OUCH …

now he’s made of titanium…

here’s wishing you and yours a safe and happy Tea on Tuesday

we are on the road again…

this time to check on our boy OXO

34 responses to “*Son* Tea

  1. Oh Dear, when did this happen? I am also drinking from an identical Cherry Blossom Mug this morning.

    Like

  2. Did this happen recently? Sending positive thoughts for you and yours. xxoo

    Like

  3. Oh, Patty! I thought I was reading my own words here. Last August my then 22-yo son (who has worked for Vail reorts for the past two years) in Colorado had this identical injury/surgery from longboarding down a mountain highway. I went out, packed him up, and moved him home for recovery. He went back the day after Christmas and found a ‘safe’ job servicing hot tubs. Now 23, and six-months later, last week he decided to drive 9 hours to Jackson Hole WY to snowboard and ended up breaking his other leg. It’s called a tibial plateau break just under the knee…this time he was given titanium plate. We’ll be moving him home for good this time. Sigh, I’m just happy they are both going to be okay. Will, add your son to my prayers.
    ~Susan

    Like

  4. Was he snow boarding? Simple or complex fractures? To be mother of boys can be a challenge! This too will pass, dear Patty.

    Like

  5. OH NO! Go check on that boy. It’s terrible and most times painful when we learn we aren’t invincible. Hugs to you and yours.

    Like

  6. ouch is right!! sending healing waves his way!!! and safe travels to you too, dear patty!

    Like

  7. A client of mine broke her arm when she fell off her horse last week and said, “if you haven’t broken something at one time or other, it just means you don’t ride”. I guess that is true for any sport. We’ve had many a broken ankle due to skateboarding around here. Hope all is well and the injury heals quietly and quickly. He’ll be at it again in no time. You have to love the passion!
    Peace~
    Dawn

    Like

  8. Oh dear. Wishing your dear son a speedy recovery. Travis is my injury prone boy-I spent many hours of his teenage years at orthopedic doctor’s offices. Now it’s mostly knife cuts and burns that take him to emergency rooms. It’s hard not to get hurt when you are living life to the fullest.

    Like

  9. Oh dear Patty, always something…. I wish him a speedy recovery Mxx

    Like

  10. Sorry to hear about the mishap but glad it is not any worse. Be safe on your travels and may your son be healed soon.

    Like

  11. Oh no…let us know how he is…..
    Love the VW key on your ring…we have one too! :c)
    Hugs to your son…and healing wishes….

    Like

  12. Ohhhh dear, young Magpie!! Bet that HURTS. So sorry for your pain.

    Like

  13. OUCH is right…omg!!! Did this happen on this jump …before or after!!!!
    Boys will be boys …I guess when you travel through airports you leave him at home:):)

    Like

  14. Sigh, I bet he does wish he could turn back time. Good wishes for fast recovery his way.
    Drop by for tea, when you get time!!!

    Like

  15. wow, now that’s extreme! I wish I was so brave to do snowboarding (or we had snow to, for that matter :U). does he have trouble going through airport security?

    I think that, if I had a time machine, I wouldn’t find much use for it. I believe that everything I’ve gone through, even the major mistakes, have shaped me into who I am today. So I’m grateful even for the accidents 🙂

    Like

  16. safe travels, dear friend, and I know your presence will speed up the healing process for ds!!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  17. When we lived in the ski areas of CO for many years, it was always interesting to see how many young people were walking around town with some sort of leg or arm brace/cast on themselves. But always smiling and ready to tell a tale of how they broke whatever it was! It’s some sort of right of passage!!! And pride….can’t do those tricks without breaking something!
    Speedy recovery Colin. I’m sure you’ll have a story to tell, too!

    Like

  18. Kids will be kids. Don’t you remember when you thought you were invincible? At least it was fixable. Hope he’s getting lots of TLC .

    Like

  19. Oh bless…I bet that hurt! I’m sure you’ll make the most of your visit and look after him though Patty. He’ll be glad to see you ….. 😉
    XX

    Like

  20. I too have titanium but in my spine..to hold my spine in place. The uncool thing is they don’t set of the bleeper in airport…shame!hax hope your son is ok now?x

    Like

  21. What a fabulous photo of your boy ! Well, lucky bones can be mended…how clever is ‘man/woman’ that they can invent titanium and can make new bones out of them ! Not very much fun for him at the time tho. I guess when you can have that much fun flying off the snow there has to be a down side, you know the ying and the yang. I have been so loving your ‘angel’ photos Patti. I have down loaded 2 which may appear, if that’s ok, in one of my LO pages.I’m off today too, not on the road but in the air ( not a fan of flying ) to check out my girl. Safe traveling and happy Tea Tuesday to you. xx

    Like

  22. I am SO sorry to read this. Yes, it is time to check on your “baby” magpie. They may grow up, but they never outgrow their need for their parents when the going gets too rough. My best wishes for him.

    Like

  23. yikes!!! lucky for him, he’s so young and will mend FAST!! … and he has mom and dad on the way! poor guy though, it looks like snowboard season is over 😦

    safe and happy tea tuesday! xoxo

    Like

  24. Looks like he was having fun 🙂 he’ll be glad to see you both. Hugs to you all 🙂

    Like

  25. Oh, Patty…Ouch!!…. wishing magpie Junior a speedy recovery ….Jan x

    Like

  26. OMG . . . I’m so sorry to hear of his accident. I hope he heals well and quickly. Hugs to you all.

    Like

  27. Oh no! Saying a prayer for a speedy recovery for your son! I hope your trip will be pleasant despite the circumstances.

    Like

  28. OMG hope he will recover soon xox

    Like

  29. Gosh that sounds very painful indeed. So you now have a bionic son of sorts ;0) Hope he recovers well blessing to him and enjoy your time together if you see him ;0) Love Dawn xx

    Like

  30. Good wishes and prayers for your sweet son!!!

    Like

  31. So sorry to hear your son got hurt patty. Hpe he recovers soon.

    Like

  32. Oh no. Those are big bones to break! You must have been freaked when you heard. Hope they mend quickly!

    Like

  33. Susan Reaney

    Oh dear! Oh dear! What a bad thing. Was this recent? Ugh! I am so sorry for you.
    Overwhelmed here. Many, many things to do. I am so glad my sil has stayed on with me. She has been so much help! Now I have a better idea of what things were like with Mutti!
    Sending you love,
    Suz

    Like

  34. Oh no! I am so sorry to read this, Patty! “boys”…. let him know he’s now used up all his “allowables” and is forbidden to have anymore! here’s sending some healing prayers for his rapid and successful recovery.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo