ten thousand crystals tea

our traveling tea cup made a return visit to one of our favorite places…

the gardens at Dumbarton Oaks are filled with beauty and wonder…

Pan points the way to the Lovers’ Lane Pool…

we came across a duck sitting silently and still at the right edge of the water…

the roses are already fantastic and they’ve just begun to bloom…

their fragrance wafted on the breeze before you even saw them…

*the videos were filmed by Mr Magpie along with assorted photographs*

last year we visited the gardens on Mother’s Day…

this year a week earlier was nice and peaceful in comparison…

while a bit overcast…

 we were totally enchanted and wowed by a new art installation by artists Andy Cao and Xavier Perrot called “Cloud Terrace

it transformed the reflecting pool at the Arbor Terrace into a wonderland…

the ethereal “clouds” are handmade with plain old chicken wire and 10,000 Swarovski crystals

we could only imagine the rainbows of dancing Light on a sunny day…

as if we hadn’t already planned a return visit…

won’t you join us over at Kimmie’s Art in Red Wagons for more Tea on Tuesday

footnote: we managed to get our traveling tea cup/saucer in eight different photos here…you’d have to click the pics to catch them all 🙂


39 responses to “ten thousand crystals tea

  1. You are truly on a magical journey. I just came in on the end of the stone angels- which are now my screen saver! I do not get to travel much, though ii has always been my dream, Thank you for including me in this very precious trip. Puckfouse

    Like

  2. That art installation, those gardens are amazing . Like a piece of heaven on heart!

    Like

  3. purplelotusart

    WOW!! Patty thanks for sharing so much beauty in this post…..happy happy Tuesday dear friend….

    Like

  4. This was amazing and your traveling teacup went overboard, I just had to go back and count them again. Fantastic place to visit, very magical.

    Like

  5. The gardens are so beautiful but the crystals are just beyond words, it must look breathtaking when they catch the sunlight.

    Like

  6. Such a beautiful place, and I love the art work it is very effective. I bet it just sparkles on a bright sunny day.

    Like

  7. The Cloud Terrace is just dreamy. Thank you for sharing and good luck tomorrow!

    Like

  8. This must be one special place. I love the formal rose garden and the peonies, since mine have already bloomed and died. Gorgeous. BTW, I only found seven tea cups, but really liked how you used the saucer for size comparison. I’m off to see if I can find that eighth cup (grin).

    Like

  9. The roses are beautiful and I would never think of doing such for the cloud display. Thanks for sharing such beauty.

    Like

  10. You live in such a great location…. so much to visit close by! I LOVE the cloud terrace! Is that tulle? It’s gorgeous. I wonder if Frank will let me do that on my patio? rofl Love the glimpse of you in there……

    Like

  11. What a wonderful place to visit! I’m in aawe and oooh over that cloud…

    Like

  12. Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog, especially about your surgery, which I’m hoping goes quite smoothly. I can’t wait till you are well again. As for my counting skills, I counted the saucer as number 7, so I must be missing one along the way!

    Like

  13. STUNNING. 10,000 Crystals, flowers, and you & Mr Magpie. Sounds like the perfect day. Oh, Patty, these photos TRULY are gorgeous and you live in such a wonderful place on earth. THANK you for sharing your corner of the world (we had snow yesterday).
    Warm crystal hugs…………Jan

    Like

  14. Gorgeous photos!! The crystal cloud is amazing! I’m going to have to come back later to watch the videos. I’m off to knitting!!

    Like

  15. how I love traveling with you. 🙂
    every time your photos reflect your amazing sensitivity. you have a true Artist’s eye for beauty.

    the crystals today…breathtaking!!!

    Like

  16. Oh Patty , that Cloud Terrace is stunning- so absolutely fantastic with all those Swarovski crystals dangling in the light !The roses are beautiful, and the garden must be a very special,and wonderful place to visit.I have to wait with the videos as it is dinnertime here now! So I will return.
    Thankyou for a lovely tour, dear.
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Like

  17. Oh Wow Patty , you get to visit the most amazing places , the cloud terrace is out of this world and those gardens are simply a dream, thank you for sharing this wonderful trip x

    Like

  18. What a beautiful, beautiful garden! I love your teacup photo with the statue, the mosaic of roses and oh-those glorious clouds especially!! I could just imagine the beauty and light….

    Like

  19. oh em gee – you had me at the roses and then! wow!! what a magical piece of art!!! makes my head spin with ideas!!! LOVE this place, no wonder you wanted to return….it is indeed, magical…ps. i saw you peeking over the wall….the happiest of mother’s days to you, dear patty….xo

    Like

  20. You do visit the most beautiful places Patty. The cloud installation is breathtaking.

    Like

  21. what a beautiful place, I agree you must go back to see that installation in the sun, I love swarovski crystals~

    Like

  22. I made it back to see the videos. Love the birds. Sounds like my yard many days.
    I found all 8 pictures. Had to go back and recount a couple times. 🙂

    Like

  23. Thanks . . . this brings back many fond memories of times spent at Dumbarton Oaks. The clouds must be spectacular to see in person. xoxox

    Like

  24. wow – just wow! what an amazing place! I am going to have to save one of the “cloud” pictures – how fun that would be to recreate in the garden!
    xoxo
    kimmie

    Like

  25. Oh my – my first thought when I saw that those crystals were Swarovski is how much that must have cost! Those things are expensive. The installation is spectacular and hope you will get to see it when the sun in shining.

    Like

  26. stempelchaotin

    OMG what a magical place.
    Thanks so much that you take us on this place Sweetie. Wonderful fairyland. Have a gorgeous day. xoxo

    Like

  27. Oh my Patty, if I had to stand under any cloud then it would be that one, stunning, inspired! I’m with Kim, it would be fab to create in my own garden!! Mx

    Like

  28. Sweet Patty, they are gorgeous, both the rose bush, and those branch hutches ,oh my ,what a fantastic palce to take a walk- you are so lucky, to be able to, dear friend.
    Wish you a beautiful wednesday, with hugs and love-
    Dorthe

    Like

  29. Oh wow, what a magical place to visit and take fabulous pics!!
    Jan x

    Like

  30. inanoctopusgarden

    You do take time to do the most amazing day trips – that garden is beautiful unto itself but the cloud installation is amazing! I would love to see it, going to check and see how long that is there. Thanks once more for the inspiration!

    Like

  31. What a beautiful place. So unique. The cloud terrace is so special. All I can say is WOW!

    Like

  32. What a gem this garden is Patty!
    Your photos are wonderful – those crystals are something else – I’m sure they were inspiration for YOU – do I see a crystal creation looming over your desk?!?

    Your travelling teacup must be the most travelled in this world!!!
    Wishing you a happy Friday!
    love
    Shand oxo

    Like

  33. What a magical rainbow like post with such artful photos and prisim gorgeous brilliance! The incredible roses and gardens and crytal cloud bursts of sheer beauty are all works that are dreamlike. Wonderful videos filled with fountain trails of water and birds chirping are the extra gifts in your post! Thanks so much. xo

    Like

  34. Such gorgeous photos!!! The gardens are so beautiful. I can imagine the sunlight hitting the crystals on Cloud Terrace. It must be magnificent! Thank you for sharing this magical place. Have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  35. Such wonderful photos, Patty! The Swarovski cloud is very impressive! What a lovely place!
    Have a nice weekend my friend.
    Hugs
    MARTINA

    Like

  36. Beautiful trip, dear girl! Indeed it is all magical! Thank you for sending me the online article and newsletter. It was v good and new to me. No, I am not sick of reading such things. I read every “grief” thing I can get my hands on.
    Thinking of you w/love,
    Suz

    Like

  37. Lovely photos:)

    Like

  38. Oh these clouds are awesome!!! Are those crystals?! That would be so cool on a sunny day! Beautiful photos as always! Happy Belated Mother’s Day!

    Like

  39. Pingback: Spring has Sprung Tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

