Royal Tea…

my tea today is in honor of Queen Elizabeth II and her Diamond Jubilee

(“Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II arrives at Chelsea harbour to embark to join the Thames Diamond Jubilee Pageant on the River Thames in London on June 3, 2012.” ~ ABC News)

 celebrating her 60 years on the throne devoted to country and duty…

(NBC news photo captured on television)

impossible not to catch jubilee fever even from across the pond…

my friend Lennie and I split a package of these regal napkins (big decision on red background or blue)

 I treated myself to some Chocolate McVitie’s Digestive Biscuits…

and picked a tiny posy of white Yucca blossoms, Blue Gentian Salvia, one red Don Juan rose and some fresh mint from the garden…

World Market tempted me with their Diamond Jubilee mug with printed logo on both sides…

do you suppose Elizabeth Alexandra Mary

(nicknamedLillibet)

ever drinks her tea from a MUG…

the framed photo above with angels beckoning into the gates of Buckingham Palace was taken on my last visit to London with my Mom and sister back in 1997…

my Earl Grey tea tasted quite good in my new mug on this delightful day with time to marvel at a full life spent in the limelight…

(Google image)

a very comfortable and regal life of service and pageantry and family and so much more…

* God Save the Queen *

won’t you join us over at Kimmie’s Art in Red Wagons all are most welcome

30 responses to “Royal Tea…

  1. Love your use of the napkins Patty, and we too are enjoying each minute of the pageantry for Queen Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee along with my share of the napkins…. celebrating a life well lived.

    Like

  2. oh what a lovely way to celebrate , great effort patty 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, to be Queen…what a life to live. I doubt very seriously she takes her tea in a mug or one with her “mug” on it 🙂 (humor). Very fitting occasion for today’s tea! Such a beautiful arrangement of pieces-flowers are exquisite. Have a great tea!

    Like

  4. Fun! I’m watching the final day. She looks great and so happy doesn’t she? xoxo

    Like

  5. Artistic use of the napkins – a beautiful celebration! xxoo

    Like

  6. OOooh, royal inspired tea 😀

    I don’t really get the monarchy thing. It’s even odd for me when the spanish monarchy comes to visit my country (it’s like “dude, you lost 200 years ago, get over it”). But Queen Elizabeth and I share a thing, we both love Corgis 🙂 So yay for her!

    Like

  7. Lovely tribute, Patty! I remember watching her coronation even though I didn’t quite understand why it was taking so long and my TV shows weren’t on!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  8. ah! tea with the queen, now I can say I have done it all!! delightful and digestives too! xoxo

    Like

  9. God Save The Queen, I remember when we sang that in school–too bad they still didn’t do that 🙂 I love the gorgeous photo of her in white!
    Every inch a Queen! I also love your Tea setting. I doubt that she takes her tea in a mug, but I’ll bet there are days she wraps her hands around a lovely cuppa!
    Happy Tea Tuesday 🙂

    Like

  10. That was a trivia question yesterday at Curves. How many years was the Diamond Juliblee celebrating. I missed it. Oh well. Thanks for the lesson. Happy T day!

    Like

  11. I “was there” saw some on TV yesterday and today, what a totally wild lot of people -Must have been fantastic being there for real!
    Well sweet Patty, I also doupt she is drinking from mugs,-but whom knows, maybe when out with the doggies, or riding !!
    Love your tea setting today, your flower arrangement is BEAUTIFUL – and the mug and golden plates looks so royal.
    Hope you enjoyed the tea 🙂
    HUGS Dorthe

    Like

  12. I watched the jubilee concert yesterday evening – yes, it’s on television here too (they broadcast all the festivities). I felt for Tom Jones – and no, in case you are wondering – I didn’t throw anything to him 😉

    Like

  13. You did Britain, and Queen Elizabeth, proud. I rather like Earl Grey tea too.

    Like

  14. Huzzah Queen Elizabeth! Sounds like you had one heck of a party!
    And Patty….you did all of us with English heritage quite proud, too. Such a lovely setting with flowers, food, and a friend to share in the day.
    Veddy Veddy Nice!

    Like

  15. Great post Patty, love the shot of the mug, the golden saucer and the serviette! Enjoy your day! Mx

    Like

  16. happy Tea day and a very fitting tea celebration it is!!!! Love the napkins… xx

    Like

  17. Oh My Goodness! Those napkins are something else! What a fabulous post!
    I would be very surpised to learn that HRH drank tea from a mug. I suspect it is from a cup only and the handle held between her thumb and one finger only. 🙂

    Like

  18. how fun to celebrate like that … we had a little celebration for Queen Margrethe of Denmark’s Jubilee last year. My husband is Danish, so it was a nice excuse to have a Danish meal and enjoy the televised festivities (via YouTube).
    And such a coincidence – we were in London in 1997 also. It was July and I was uncomfortably pregnant with my first child. It was actually just a stopover for a couple of days on our way to Copenhagen to visit family. So much fun!!!

    Like

  19. Well, not only am I late visiting, you put my tea post to shame! What a great tribute you have provided today. Wish I had a World Market (and a Trader Joe’s) in my neck of the woods. Very impressive, especially the photo of the TV shot with the napkins (or serviettes) hanging like banners (or buntings as the British would call them).

    Like

  20. Great tribute! No, I don’t think she drinks out of a mug. I would not like being queen. I’m far too selfish.

    Like

  21. stempelchaotin

    Wow sweetie what a great honor for the queen.
    Wonderful little tea party. Thanks for sharing us. xoxo

    Like

  22. Dot Ferrero

    McVitie’s Digestive Biscuits are our favorite…have to buy them in C’ville since Martin’s here in Culpeper no longer carries them.

    Like

  23. Thanks for sharing your amazing photos in Queens honor. It’s an incredible unique woman and life!
    I’m so glad my PC is repaired and I can visit all my favorite blogs.
    Wish you a happy day,
    xox Anja

    Like

  24. Great post Patty, ive had a fabulous weekend celebrating the Jubilee weekend , and we too had the same chocolate digestives hehehe.
    I had the family at mine for lunch and tea on sunday and again on tuesday and we watch the festivities on the tv together it was brilliant.
    We were very proud to be british and heres hoping Queen Elizabeth has many more years to reign yet. Have a lovely week, and thanks for sharing this , Jaqi x

    Like

  25. Looking once more this morning at your post for Queen Elizabeth and I must say that I just Love that framed photo of the gates at Buckingham Palace.

    Like

  26. Love it – pinkies up !
    Cheers ~ Lisa 🙂

    Like

  27. what a wonderful way to celebrate! I have to admit – I was envious of all the doings going on in the UK! I have an antique toffee tin from when my Mom was young with the Queen (coronation).

    Like

  28. marmeladegypsy

    I didn’t get to see the flotilla but stayed home on Tuesday to watch the procession — and I was drinking tea in my Elizabeth mug I bought in London a few weeks before. Although, today I may skip over to World Market — just to see if they have anything left! I love England, the whole royal thing and boy — do they know how to throw a party!

    Like

  29. Pattie, did you notice the refection of you on your detail photo of the “Angel doors” photo? Nice refection of how much a part of your art you are. Well done! (o:

    Like

  30. Pingback: English rose tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

